August 19th-22nd 2011 :: Theme: Escape
[ Summary | Compo Top 50 | Jam Top 50 | Top 25 Categories | View All (599) ]

Back to Browse Entries

Don't ESCape

by Urfoex - 48 Hour Competition Entry

This is a short game made entirely in Blender and using the Blender Game Engine.
Currently you need Blender to play this game. (You can get it from http://www.blender.org/ or http://graphicall.org/blender It should be possible to create a standalone version. I will try.).

Open the file in Blender and you are good to go.

Press 'P' to start the game-mode.
Use the arrow-keys to rotate the platform. That will move the ball.
And you need to keep track of your mouse-arrow sometimes ... Be prepared ;-)

You can always ESCape ;-)

------------------------------------------
Edit 1:

Grab an easy downloadable version here:
http://code.google.com/p/manuel-bellersen/downloads/detail?name=Dont_ESCape.blend

Maybe the online-version works for someone: http://urfoex.blogspot.com/2011/08/ld21-entry-dont-escape.html

------------------------------------------

Edit 2:

I added a binary for Linux 64Bit:
http://manuel-bellersen.googlecode.com/files/Dont_ESCape.7z
It *should* work...

------------------------------------------

Edit 3:

Just added 2 binaries for Windows, one for
32Bit ( http://code.google.com/p/manuel-bellersen/downloads/detail?name=Dont-ESCape-32Bit.exe&can=2&q= )
and another for
64Bit ( http://code.google.com/p/manuel-bellersen/downloads/detail?name=Dont-ESCape-64Bit.exe&can=2&q= ).

Have Fun!

------------------------------------------

Edit 4:

I've written a little Post-blabla:
https://plus.google.com/116768004614082942458/posts/SMSc1gZFYky

And if you need help on how to play level one you can find a little play-hint in comment #6.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#270Innovation2.67
#364Humor1.40
#418Coolness0%
#420Graphics1.89
#441Theme2.11
#454Fun1.67
#482Overall1.67
#519Community1.14

Comments

Urfoex says ...
Aug 22, 2011 @ 3:34am

Direkt download link: http://code.google.com/p/manuel-bellersen/downloads/detail?name=Dont_ESCape.blend

It might also work online: http://urfoex.blogspot.com/2011/08/ld21-entry-dont-escape.html

------------------------------------------

My First competition.
My First LD.
My First time using Blender & BGE for a game.

Now time to sleep ...

bitbof says ...
Aug 22, 2011 @ 9:01pm

I like that to you need to know how to control this game to get to the help screen :P Level 2 is pretty rage inducing.

jplur says ...
Aug 23, 2011 @ 2:40am

Unique mechanic, next time have someone package a windows exe for you

Urfoex says ...
Aug 23, 2011 @ 9:36am

As you wish ;-)
I've put up 2 Windows-binaries. One for 32Bit and one for 64Bit.
Have Fun! :D

TyrusPeace says ...
Aug 24, 2011 @ 2:00am

The first level was pretty frustrating for me. Moving my mouse out of the green box would immediately restart it for me so I left it there, but then the second I moved the ball I'd flash back, as well? I guessed that I was supposed to stay out of the green with the ball, but I don't feel like I figure out what was going on.

Perhaps more instruction for the player? I didn't want to just give up on your work here but I got frustrated and stuck almost immediately.

Urfoex says ...
Aug 24, 2011 @ 9:54am

I'm sorry :)

I hoped that it would be easier to figure out.

/----------------------------\
|- How to play on level one -|
\----------------------------/
In "To Level 1" you just need to move the mouse-cursor over the green square to go to level 1. (It is the same on "To Level 2".) I did this to control where the mouse-cursor is placed in the actual level. So in the first level the mouse-cursor is on the ball. If it escapes the ball you need to restart the level. In order to finish this level you need to roll the ball through the ESCAPE-arc and the mouse-cursor needs to stay on the ball. The colors on the ground are just for fun and that it doesn't look thaaaaaaaat boring :) (And a bit to show where to go. But it doesn't effect the actual gameplay.)
And you have just about 10 seconds to complete this task.

I hope that helps.

Thanks for playing!
And good luck!

Rudy says ...
Aug 26, 2011 @ 8:20am

Innovative, but a bit too frustrating.

summaky says ...
Aug 27, 2011 @ 2:13pm

Can't play it properly because the controls are awful to use in a laptop with a trackpad only...

Urfoex says ...
Aug 27, 2011 @ 8:44pm

I bet it on my laptop with track-pad as right-hander having hands crossed. But sure I had developed it with mouse and keyboard and didn't test it before on a laptop. My bad.

I maybe could script some "use own keys" or just add e.g. "WASD" (or are any other preferred ?) to the key-mapping if you like.(?)

ExciteMike says ...
Sep 1, 2011 @ 7:35pm

Oh man, I just can't keep the mouse on the ball. That's definitely a unique idea, but I'm so bad at it I can't really even play.

marudziik says ...
Sep 8, 2011 @ 8:54pm

A quite innovative idea, but frustrating to the point where it's unplayable, at least for me. If the ground rotated around the ball instead of the center of the screen, this could be fixed (when the ball moves off the center, every rotation also moves the ball on the screen - that makes keeping the mouse cursor over the ball so hard, especially since rotation is quite fast) and make the game much more interesting.

Petzi says ...
Sep 12, 2011 @ 12:19pm

The idea's there, but it feels pretty unplayable. The help said to "use the mouse to move the cursor"... The game doesn't really teach the player, and the first level immediately haves you not only control the ball, but somehow guess that you have to keep the cursor on top of the ball. And before that, you have to guess how to start the damn level, even (nothing tells you to put the cursor on the green square). It has some potential, but it would need a lot of work.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]