August 19th-22nd 2011 :: Theme: Escape
[ Summary | Compo Top 50 | Jam Top 50 | Top 25 Categories | View All (599) ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Collapse

by RedWater\wzl - 48 Hour Competition Entry

You are trapped in an instable dimension. If you don't hurry, it will collapse and you will be lost in the vast nothingness.



Controls:
Mouse + Escape key



If it's too hard, you're just not good enough >:)

Thanks for playing :)



For those experiencing crash on startup: If you're interested to help find out whats wrong, please give me a notice on twitter (@redwatergames) or irc://irc.afternet.org/ludumdare , i'll be there as wzl or redwater\wzl. thanks, its most appreciated :D

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#12Audio4.00
#46Graphics3.87
#87Coolness6%
#115Community3.09
#183Overall3.07
#207Fun2.80
#288Innovation2.60
#364Humor1.40
#365Theme2.47

Comments

Sanguine says ...
Aug 22, 2011 @ 3:54pm

I couldn't get past the level with the green bumpers, which kind of ruined it for me. I really liked the graphics of the game though!

redwater says ...
Aug 22, 2011 @ 10:26pm

sad to hear :( yeah the game is quite difficult at times. sometimes skill is involved, the bumpers have a bit more luck involved i guess. i had no time to balance the levels, bear with me :)

Jorjon says ...
Aug 23, 2011 @ 4:54am

I got the same problem, I couldn't pass the green bumpers. The effect of level construction and deconstruction was awesome, and also was the music.

maxx says ...
Aug 23, 2011 @ 5:14am

Great graphics, but the green bumpers level is impossible.
The music was gret. Again, good animations there and great game though

redwater says ...
Aug 23, 2011 @ 7:43am

maybe try watching the gameplay video for some pointers, it took me some tries there, but its definately possible :)

good to know that the balancing is WAY off though

alexlarioza says ...
Aug 23, 2011 @ 7:26pm

I couldn't get this game to work. I downloaded the one linked here and the one on your blog but I get two popup boxes. The first is blank and the second says "error". Then the game just sits on a purple screen. =[

Hangedman says ...
Aug 23, 2011 @ 7:55pm

Graphics were functional but simple, but did the job nicely. Levels were a bit too narrow and frustrating at times, but I could see where you were going with it. Some more polish and it could be promising.

Jhelle says ...
Aug 23, 2011 @ 8:18pm

Couldnt get the game working but heard the epic music so you get stars for that.

thristhart says ...
Aug 24, 2011 @ 2:18pm

This game's challenge is "here are some walls. don't touch them. also, your controls suck. good luck"
I frustrated myself endlessly on the last level before having to give up. I suggest: Press left mouse to freeze the ball's movement. Maybe put that on a cooldown, I dunno.

RedWater\wzl says ...
Aug 24, 2011 @ 3:05pm

Yeah you made a good point there :)

i keep tweaking the controls in the future, add more mobility features and stuff... thanks for the input :)

syrup says ...
Aug 25, 2011 @ 3:23am

very hard

jfroco says ...
Aug 25, 2011 @ 3:58am

Didn't work in Win7 64... just heard the music :(

RedWater\wzl says ...
Aug 25, 2011 @ 7:49am

damn, jfroco, i hoped i fixed that. still work todo then :(

Rudy says ...
Aug 25, 2011 @ 10:27am

Great work, love the graphical style. The difficulty is a bit on the hard side with a sprinkle of luck. The green walls are introduced in massive amounts and make the first encounter with them frustrating. Great work on contrast. The timer bar could be more obvious though, I didn't even notice it until level 3. Controls are decent, but the ball follows the difference from centre and its impossible to tell where it is. It also moves even if i try to centre and stop it. An indicator of which way the mouse is exerting force on the ball would help somewhat.

RedWater\wzl says ...
Aug 25, 2011 @ 11:20am

Thanks for the input rudy. one of the problems with that is, that is is adding a constant amount (the normalized direction vector) to the player sphere. i'm going to fix this in a later version

Aug 27, 2011 @ 8:40am

This is fun, but ridiculously hard.

dev_zero says ...
Sep 4, 2011 @ 12:59am

Wasn't able to finish because of how chaotic the controls felt. Nice idea though.

tcstyle says ...
Sep 5, 2011 @ 6:44pm

Meh. .NET Framework error. "Requested GraphicsMode not available. SetPixelFormat error: 87."
On Win7 64, C2D E7600, AMD HD5670, Native screen res: 1920x1200

Yoni says ...
Sep 5, 2011 @ 9:40pm

Incredible graphics and sound!
Really hard to control, I had to skip level3 - I cheated and copied level0 over it :) and still couldn't pass a further along level with yellow walls.
Maybe if the time for each level was 3-4 times longer, it would have been possible to pass without an uber-precision mouse (and hand).

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]