August 19th-22nd 2011 :: Theme: Escape
[ Summary | Compo Top 50 | Jam Top 50 | Top 25 Categories | View All (599) ]

Back to Browse Entries

Action Time : Escape from the dangerous explosive complex

by TurboDindon - Jam Entry

Here's our first Ludum Dare entry : "Action Time".

It's a platformer/shooter focused on cool features like rewinding and replay and shooting bad guys (plus awesome stuff like WALLJUMPS, SNOWBOARD, BASE JUMP AND SHOOTING BAD GUYS !).

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

You play as "Roberto TNT", an action movie star on the set of his latest blockbuster : "Action Time".

Try to record the BEST ACTION SEQUENCE EVAR !!!1!

If you are not satisfied with your last moves you can rewind at any time by pressing the right mouse button to record it again. When the sequence is over you can sit back and enjoy watching your last play-through.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

TurboDindon Team - turbodindon@gmail.com
- art by Raz - razorx59@hotmail.com
- other stuff by Bigj - jeromefait@yahoo.fr and blemish - baptiste.martin@gmail.com

Art : Photoshop
Dev : Gamemaker + GMPhysics
Level design : Visio

PS: Sorry for the remaining bugs and the short level, time was running out...

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

* Update > Here's a youtube video if you can't run the game (linux, mac etc.) : http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ziJHIFve09A

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Overall(Jam)4.18
Fun(Jam)4.12
Graphics(Jam)4.67
#4Humor(Jam)3.40
#24Innovation(Jam)3.06
#30Audio(Jam)2.89
#52Theme(Jam)2.59
#68Coolness7%
#204Community2.69

Comments

Spaceoff says ...
Aug 23, 2011 @ 3:16am

Very nicely made, superb graphics quality, good sound effects, smooth movement and a decent shooting system. The health and rewind mechanics don't feel right at all though, but its still fun to play.... until you beat it, which is unfortunate given how short it is.

hamster_mk_4 says ...
Aug 23, 2011 @ 5:12am

This is a very sexy game. I am surprised you had time to make three different game modes.

tgijsola says ...
Aug 23, 2011 @ 5:48am

Holy crap, this game has like all of my favorite mechanics, PLUS JETPACKS AND SNOWBOARDS. Incredible.

Hempuli says ...
Aug 23, 2011 @ 10:30am

Looks amazing! However, I couldn't really play because most of the graphics were bugged, including the main character being completely invisible. Also the bomb timer was unreadable. For another thing, please, *please* allow WSAD movement for a game with mouse aiming!

TurboDindon says ...
Aug 23, 2011 @ 1:45pm

Thanks for all your comments ! Glad to hear you liked our game :D

As you said the game is too short and a bit b0rked sometimes, we've probably spent too much time on developing gameplays and integrating art rather than fully tweaking it (weird collisions, not enough feedbacks on hits and rewind).

This is our very first LD so we'll try to fix this in our future entries (longer game experience, more reusability of similar gameplays, less different gameplays but more polished...)

tgisola : hehe cool :D Our next one will probably feature HANG GLIDING, DINOSAURS and AWESOME EXPLOSIONS!!!!

Hempuli : ouch, it might come from the surfaces in gamemaker (or probably our crappy lack of coding skills, yeah well...). Maybe you could try with updated video drivers ? It fixed the issues on some computers. And for WASD movements we've planned to use it (as the "controls" screen says) but we just ran out of time and panicked, frustrating as it can be done very quickly :| I'll upload a new post-LD version later, with wasd and various bug fixes if you're interested :)

Cheers

mes says ...
Aug 23, 2011 @ 2:06pm

awesome! it is a bit rough around the edges but it's fun, charming, and so much game play variety. can't believe there's snowboarding, sonic springs, skydiving battle, time rewind, and a miniboss all in one LD game!!

LegacyCrono says ...
Aug 23, 2011 @ 4:35pm

Heh, using the arrow keys and touchpad was terribly frustrating... The game is amazing though, I can't praise the artwork enough. There was some bugs, but they didn't really affect the experience. Sad that it didn't had music!
Still, you guys really did a splendid job here, congrats.

Jhelle says ...
Aug 23, 2011 @ 8:38pm

The graphics are oozing with polish and quality. Gameplay wise I would love this to be more polished, longer and I would like some music! Anyway it seems there is nothing more awesome and manly then shooting jetpacking thugs in the face while doing a backflip on a snowboard. Good job guys!

agersant says ...
Aug 23, 2011 @ 8:45pm

FANTASTIC art, great execution. The level design is really badass. Snowboard backflips ? check. Jetpacks ? check. Rocket Launchers ? check.

It's very spectacular. I wish players were more encouraged to use the rewind feature to build stylish sequences, but it's already great in this form.

agersant says ...
Aug 23, 2011 @ 8:47pm

*EDIT :An epic music with wobbly guitar would have been a nice addition too.

quickfingers says ...
Aug 23, 2011 @ 10:50pm

Great! It was so fun, loved the snowboard sections, feel badass picking off enemies one handed while riding down the slopes :D

jonnopon3000 says ...
Aug 24, 2011 @ 3:31pm

I like the concept, but the framerate was simply too low for my machine. WASD also didn't work. The graphics were awesome and the mechanics felt good for how much I could play.
Overall, a great entry!

Rudy says ...
Aug 24, 2011 @ 7:19pm

Solid concept and fun game. Nice art; snowflakes are a bit distracting though. The wall-jump mechanic may need a little work.

N0_Named_Guy says ...
Aug 24, 2011 @ 9:42pm

Could play a bit, and I rated what I could see and hear (graphics, audio, humor and community). Ran it on wine with some surface offset issues. Seems like a fun game! Keep developing it! Loved the graphics.

Folis says ...
Aug 25, 2011 @ 10:22am

Nice game, sadly it's very short, but I like it! And the scene-play feature didn't work for me :(

Aug 25, 2011 @ 12:13pm

This. Is. Awesome.

I love. The characters, the idea, the setting, movement is nice, shooting guys is fun. And suddenly he's on a snowboard. Makes perfect Sense. Brilliant.

Also, this is quite impressive for Game Maker.

I like this so much I'm even going to give you some contructive criticism!

- This needs Music. Badly. try this guy, he offers some nice free-to-use tracks http://incompetech.com/
- The wall-climbing-mechanic isn't entirely intuitive. I thought I can wall-jump onto the catwalk (which is background apparently), but wall-climbing to an area outside of the screen is a) not good game-design and b) a very advanced move, nothing for the first room.
- Enemy AI spazzes out sometimes (i.e. they walk in place)
- Pickups are boring
- After you die and respawn with 1 health you usually die again, as you are one-shotted
- Boss-fight is alright, but the missiles suck. They don't explode, they can't be shut down, they down swirl around. Right now they are just a slow bullet.
- The death-text is hard to read and doesn't make sense. Fix it.

Seriously, this is a neat game.

Make more of it!

-Matthew

summaky says ...
Aug 26, 2011 @ 8:31pm

I echo other's comments and say that this is simply amazing!

dogbomb says ...
Aug 28, 2011 @ 1:44pm

Great game. I echo the thoughts already mentioned. I'd like the rewind feature to feel a bit more "earthy". Sometimes the walljumping wasn't so clear (wall-to-wall or climbing up same wall?) especially with the snowdrift effect covering the view so much.

It's definitely on it's way to going somewhere though, so I'd keep up with development.

tcstyle says ...
Aug 31, 2011 @ 7:21pm

Great graphics. But the controls and the enemies' bullets behaviour should be much improved.
Also it seems like the player is invincible with his unlimited rewinds.

vitae says ...
Sep 4, 2011 @ 3:15am

Couldn't play. After extracting, MSVCR71 not found. Windows 7 x64

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]