August 19th-22nd 2011 :: Theme: Escape
[ Summary | Compo Top 50 | Jam Top 50 | Top 25 Categories | View All (599) ]

Back to Browse Entries

Dystopian Future Underground City

by j_peeba - 48 Hour Competition Entry

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#12Audio4.00
#29Graphics4.08
#124Theme3.38
#143Humor2.27
#158Overall3.15
#217Fun2.77
#345Innovation2.38
#418Coolness0%
#486Community1.40

Comments

Nizan says ...
Aug 22, 2011 @ 10:54pm

Great graphics and audio, and the backstory-thingy made me chuckle: but I totally couldn't get a hang of the controls and get passed the first couple of levels :/ Perhaps a bit more of an easier start for people with 'suxxor skillz' like me - perhaps when I'm a bit more awake I'll try to persevere.

Soggyclog says ...
Aug 23, 2011 @ 5:44am

Really fun! I found the controls were hard but not necessarily in a bad way. I think if the environments were a little more open then it would be less frustrating to be constantly crashing due to momentum. The backstory is funny and the music awesome. The graphics are really nice too. Good job!

lilserf says ...
Aug 24, 2011 @ 3:57am

Fantastic graphics but the gameplay was incredibly frustrating. The slow turn radius of the ship plus the presence of gravity combine to make it really frustrating, in my opinion.

It also took quite a while for me to even tell exactly when I was colliding with stuff, because it's a weird "soft" collision that just steals some health, instead of the more common hard collision.

This makes every collision guaranteed to hurt a LOT, since you don't bounce off but continue to penetrate the building and hurt your ship more.

Aug 24, 2011 @ 4:29pm

Nice work! I liek the graphics and the soundtrack.

The gameplay, however, is enragingly hard. On touch kills me in this clustered level, and the flying space-police-cars can just go through stuff?

DrPetter says ...
Aug 28, 2011 @ 9:40am

Why are the cops flying in cars?? Oh well, I want to like the game, but there seems to be a bug that basically doubles gravity or heavily reduces my thrust once a level has been restarted - if I die once or complete a level, it's almost impossible to gain altitude afterwards. The second level seems almost impossible due to this. Apart from that, the game looks and sounds great. Movement is pretty good as well, assuming this is a bug and not some very evil feature.

ippa says ...
Aug 31, 2011 @ 4:29pm

Nice gfx and awesome music, I got annoyed when the police-sounds disturbed it :P.

At first I thought the controls was hard, but I mastered them after just a couple of minutes. I expected low inhertia .. even though I time after time noticed it was very high :).

The flying police trucks (hmm) had it easier then our hero, they could just pass through buildings.

Reached level 5 before it got to hard for me. Nice game!

summaky says ...
Sep 10, 2011 @ 6:18pm

The graphics and the music are awesome. That I die so easily is not. I couldn't go past the second level.

Edsploration says ...
Sep 11, 2011 @ 10:46pm

Awesome game! I have a little dislike against the controls simply because they're almost the same as one of my most hated games from my childhood. However the drag you have helps with cornering, so it's not that bad.

The great music and smooth graphics really drew me in. Something else I enjoy in games with quick restarts--high difficulty! Your game is indeed quite hard at parts, but that just makes it require more concentration. I had a lot of trouble with levels 5 and 9 my first time through. While writing this I played through the game a second time and found it a lot easier (but still fun and challenging to replay).

I will note that I couldn't beat level 9 by getting the key. I instead chose to kamakaze straight through the lock from the start!

I would suggest you smooth out the difficulty with more easy levels though... wide open swinging turns are very fun! Back-and-forth parts are really hard the first time through when you don't know the best path to avoid the cops piling up behind you.

But yeah, great game. Really enjoyed it!

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]