Now:
October Challenge 2014
Ends in:

Coming Soon:
Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

PST: 6 PM
*EST: 9 PM
UTC: 02:00

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.

Ludum Dare 31:
Ludum Deals
???
 
Recent:
MiniLD #XX

Ludum Dare 21

August 19th-22nd 2011 :: Theme: Escape
[ Summary | Compo Top 50 | Jam Top 50 | Top 25 Categories | View All (599) ]

Back to Browse Entries

Urth - Andrew - 48 Hour Competition Entry

#############################
#Read this bit:
#
#If on CHROME and the web version fails to load repeatedly,
#close all browser windows and restart it,
#if you can't do that use a compiled version.
#It's a chrome thing apparently.
#
#There's an issue on the compiled linux verion caused by
#https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+source/sun-java6/+bug/457144
#so there might not be sounds
######################

A game about running away, a planet running away actually. First I tried to think what I'd like to escape from: cities came to mind, then I thought that's too much of a cliche since the whole world wants the same. Suddently: BINGO!

The game features a story mode and a free run mode (with leaderboards).

The story progresses through increasingly difficult levels as the player guides Urth to his uncertain future. As a genre Story mode is a combination of puzzle and abstract platforming.

Escape mode features a large area populated by planets and stars, reflexes and timing are everything in this mode, as players try do distance themselves from the central star. As far as genres go escape mode is a cross between maze and reaction games. Players may also chose to add their scores to a leader board.

Coding was done in processing, sounds with a mandolin and audacity. The leader board wasn't in the original plan, but I had spare time as the bulk of the code was done in day one, while day two brought more levels, artwork, menus and everything else.

Contains many fast moving shapes, consider short pauses between levels if subject to vertigo!

View Andrew's journal. | View all entries by Andrew

Ratings

Coolness27%
#4Innovation4.33
#53Overall3.58
#66Fun3.33
#119Community3.07
#137Theme3.35
#137Audio2.76
#137Humor2.34
#267Graphics2.65

Comments

Staggy says ...
Aug 22, 2011 @ 4:23pm

My favorite so far!

Aug 22, 2011 @ 4:47pm

A very simple but intuitive game mechanic. Played a good enough amount of it until I reached the escape mode, that was too much for me to handle Haha.

ben1066 says ...
Aug 22, 2011 @ 5:15pm

Makes me feel sick but other than that its a great game! I'd love to see a more polished version after ld.

angrygeometry says ...
Aug 22, 2011 @ 7:42pm

this game flipping rules.

keenblaze says ...
Aug 22, 2011 @ 8:42pm

very clever idea!

TaslemGuy says ...
Aug 22, 2011 @ 9:45pm

Awesome game, though extremely difficult.

MadrMan says ...
Aug 23, 2011 @ 1:52pm

I love the gameplay! I haven't been able to escape from escape mode (assuming thats even possible..) but i completed the story mode.

Kharza says ...
Aug 23, 2011 @ 11:27pm

Really clever!

KevinWorkman says ...
Aug 24, 2011 @ 2:51am

Awesome! It took me a few minutes to figure out what I was supposed to be doing, but once I caught on it was really addicting!

jonnopon3000 says ...
Aug 24, 2011 @ 1:05pm

I absolutely loved this game; had a lot of fun. It's very innovative and I'm sure I've never seen anything like it!

Rudy says ...
Aug 24, 2011 @ 7:43pm

lol "Urth". Very nice idea. Graphics could do a little better though. Music loop gets repetitive.

Mjiig says ...
Aug 24, 2011 @ 8:19pm

Absolutely fantastic, one of my favourites!

Gjarble says ...
Aug 24, 2011 @ 10:37pm

You said in your journal that you were getting addicted to your own game- after playing it, I can see why! The design is absolutely brilliant. My only complaint is how the leaderboard pops up after every level in story mode if you have entered a name, but that's a minor quibble. I've only played a few games so far, but this is easily my favorite of those.
(p.s.: I'm gunning for the top of that leaderboard).

wally2069 says ...
Aug 24, 2011 @ 11:42pm

You do have a very solid and unique mechanic for your entry. The goal was kinda confusing at first. You may consider adding an in game tutorial after the competition.

Good work.

Cosmologicon says ...
Aug 25, 2011 @ 4:07am

Really brilliant game mechanic! It's very simple and yet there are lots of different goals that you give in the different levels. The story was also quite nice. I liked how you tied Urth's existential struggle into the goal for each level. The various modifiers on the planets felt a bit superfluous: I didn't use them very much, and I feel like the gameplay would have been about the same without them.

My record in escape mode is 3047!

d_m says ...
Aug 25, 2011 @ 2:33pm

Very fun mechanic. It did make me a bit dizzy but that's ok. The hand-painted text was kind of hard to read, no big deal though. I found the game to be challenging but fun. Sadly the sounds did not work for me under Linux, I got a bunch of JavaSound Minim Errors.

I wonder how the game would play if the planet moved but the viewscreen showed the whole level? It would probably lessen the vertigo a bit and make it easier to click on planets (right now it's hard because you have to predict both where the planet will be in its orbit and also where that will translate to in your updated viewscreen). If you're taking this idea further might be something to try.

Anyway, great idea and good execution!

wbobeirne says ...
Aug 26, 2011 @ 3:11pm

Awesome concept with some rough edges. Clicking on planets close together was usually a coin toss, and there were a few graphical glitches. But the goals were varied, and different planet types kept it fresh. Great use of the theme.

foobaz says ...
Aug 26, 2011 @ 10:57pm

Great game, great mechanic. Much too addictive. I also wish the high score window wouldn't pop up every time (or maybe if it only submitted when I beat my previous best score).

summaky says ...
Aug 27, 2011 @ 1:39pm

Very clever.

tcstyle says ...
Aug 27, 2011 @ 8:19pm

Wow. Great physics puzzler of the advanced type.
Better graphics and the ability to zoom out would make this a perfect game.

Pierrec says ...
Aug 31, 2011 @ 10:52am

The funniest and most innovative game I've played so far (and I've played quite a lot). The escape mode is awesome

Jedi says ...
Aug 31, 2011 @ 1:06pm

It's addictive. Love the mandolin performance.

marudziik says ...
Sep 5, 2011 @ 1:36am

Very addictive. I like the game very much and my only gripe is that I cannot see further. I understand that this is a conscious decision, to prevent me from easily getting to bigger distances, but I'd like to SEE further, even with no possibility to click things far away from me (this can be controlled with some distance limitation). Game is fun, but - when there are many planets, moons, and stars - seems a little random, especially when something hits me with high velocity (there isn't any way to prevent it). Maybe some bullet-time mechanics, or just slower speed of the game?
Anyway, that's an awesome entry!

MacTuitui says ...
Sep 6, 2011 @ 1:46pm

I went up to > 5500 (huge amount of luck) and then I realized I did not put my name in the box.... My favorite game so far. Just the right amount of everything for a game made in 48h. Very very nice.

It's on my phone right now and I need to finish some work for tomorrow... Not sure I'll manage to...

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]