About | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post
Construction1990’s Internet Montage? No!
Please excuse the site weirdness. Mike is fixing and making things.
Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014!

  • ??? Begins: in 9 days, 15 hours, 4 minutes, 43 seconds
  • October Ends: in 10 days, 15 hours, 16 minutes, 43 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 45 days, 16 hours, 4 minutes, 43 seconds
  • (FYI: Clock might be off) | Ludum Dare 31: Real World Gatherings (Now Open!)

    [ October Challenge 2014 | Resources | Submit/Edit | View All ]


    Ludum Dare 21

    August 19th-22nd 2011 :: Theme: Escape
    [ Summary | Compo Top 50 | Jam Top 50 | Top 25 Categories | View All (599) ]

    Back to Browse Entries

    EscApe - marudziik - 48 Hour Competition Entry

    Esc Ape is a game where you need to help your fellow monkeys escape, using a primitive flying machine. Avoid crashing into obstacles and eeevil birds (they eat monkeys, really!). Try not to drop monkeys too far from the ground. Watch your energy, carried monkeys' energies and the timer!
    And remember: slower is better.

    Controls:
    arrows - movement (adjusts acceleration)
    Z - catch a nearby monkey
    X - release one caught monkey

    Not many levels, because I have no more time. You can build more using Ogmo Editor (see source). Coded in FlashPunk.

    This was my first LD, yo!

    ----
    code - FlashPunk
    graphics - GraphicsGale/ Paint .NET
    audio - bfxr/ Audacity
    levels - Ogmo Editor

    See my journal for a post mortem and many more!

    Game promo video:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bLype7kWoGM
    ----

    View marudziik's journal. | View all entries by marudziik

    Ratings

    Coolness45%
    #11Community3.96
    #49Humor3.11
    #74Fun3.30
    #88Overall3.38
    #102Graphics3.41
    #120Innovation3.34
    #145Theme3.32
    #153Audio2.68

    Comments

    Danik says ...
    Aug 22, 2011 @ 11:02pm

    Looks quite polished. I like the flying monkey animation and the lemmings reference with the exit.
    The controls felt a little wonky, too bouncy and slippery. Still very nice and complete feeling game.

    Klare says ...
    Aug 23, 2011 @ 12:33am

    No ending? :( I get to a point where it's the same level over and over again. Still, it was fun! I wish the monkeys wouldn't die from falling when I drop them over the hut. Other than that, solid game :p

    marudziik says ...
    Aug 23, 2011 @ 12:50am

    Thanks for the feedback!

    @Danik
    Mechanics-wise (controls, and the idea in general) I tried to emulate a game I used to play a lot when I was a kid - "Ugh!" - but I didn't have more time to spend on balancing. Controls take some getting used to, but game should be totally beatable... (see below)

    @Klare
    ...but, unfortunately, I didn't have time nor strength to add a proper ending, so the last (10th) level loops. :) Wanted to add more levels first. But it's really nice to see someone got that far! Congrats!

    mes says ...
    Aug 23, 2011 @ 8:38am

    best monkey flying machine ever

    localcoder says ...
    Aug 23, 2011 @ 11:43am

    The monkey-copter is hilarious. The death animation is also spectacular - it reminds me of the death sequences in Doom.

    For someone who "cannot draw" you've made some very entertaining sprites :)

    kato9 says ...
    Aug 23, 2011 @ 2:24pm

    Very solid game. The controls felt a little wonky to me too, but I still enjoyed it overall. nice job.

    johnfn says ...
    Aug 24, 2011 @ 5:31am

    Nice polished little game. Really nice graphics. My only problem was that the controls were so slidey that it ended up being kind of frustrating. Still, nice work.

    marudziik says ...
    Aug 24, 2011 @ 10:20am

    Again, thank you all for playing and for your comments!
    Here's a full playthrough video if you want to see all the levels, but have problems with beating the game: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WCgw09ZlRhY
    :)

    ointment says ...
    Aug 25, 2011 @ 9:36am

    Lovely, getting an arcade/Lemmings vibe from this. Quite challenging too, but not unfair.

    And congratulations on your bronze coolness medal.

    Aug 25, 2011 @ 9:40am

    Nice idea. The Flying-controls are also quite fun.

    Rudy says ...
    Aug 25, 2011 @ 9:43am

    Nice game, cute graphics! The controls are too bouncy and it gets hard quick. Navigating 3 block spaces gets frustrating, didn't have the patience to finish.

    AndyBrown says ...
    Aug 25, 2011 @ 10:19am

    Fun game! I agree that the controls felt too sensitive to me too, but I got used to it after a little while. Nice gameplay mechanics and physics though, I could see this being a very successful game with some more polish.

    d_m says ...
    Aug 25, 2011 @ 3:09pm

    Good job! The graphics and animation are nice, and the story is fun. Honestly, I find the game really hard to play due to the bouncy controls. Also, it took me awhile to figure out that 0 energy killed me (in addition to 0 health), especially since I often run out of energy bouncing around. But very well done, especially for your first LD game!

    jwfrosty says ...
    Aug 25, 2011 @ 6:40pm

    Really impressive - especially considering it's your first graphical game, first time with AS3 and flashpunk, and first time with Ogmo! Great stuff! I'd agree with others tha tthe controls are a little twitchy - makes it very hard to get around the level without knocking your health down, but otherwise it's great :) I recognised the big Ugh! influence! I used to love that game.

    http://www.mobygames.com/game/amiga/ugh/screenshots/gameShotId,74128/

    Winterblood says ...
    Aug 25, 2011 @ 11:55pm

    Controls definitely oversensitive, it would have still been challenging with more forgiving maneuverability. That said, it's a great and pretty well-balanced game that I really enjoyed. Good work!

    Shigor says ...
    Aug 26, 2011 @ 2:17am

    Normally I'd say "nah, just a clone of Ugh", but after playing several dozens of often very generic platformers I applaud :) Apart from more levels (but the number you have is IMO more then acceptable for the 48 hours) and some more audio I think it just needs a TINY tweaking in controls - flying monkey is probably drunk monkey dipped in some grease (although how the grease would work in the air is beyond me).
    Very good entry.

    marudziik says ...
    Aug 26, 2011 @ 8:15am

    A drunk flying monkey? Man, I wish I had thought about that earlier! :D
    Btw. There are drag mechanics in the game, it's just that the drag coefficient is too small and this isn't visible. My bad!

    And again, thank you all very much for the feedback!

    Sos says ...
    Aug 26, 2011 @ 4:30pm

    It reminds me of an old DOS game called Ughh! Good job!

    siebharinn says ...
    Aug 27, 2011 @ 9:57pm

    Interesting idea. Failure audio, which I heard a lot of, was painful. Nice entry!

    Jerm says ...
    Aug 28, 2011 @ 1:41am

    Fun game, but I couldn't get past level 6. Also, it took me a while to figure out why my energy was going down.

    dogbomb says ...
    Aug 28, 2011 @ 5:16pm

    Neat first entry - some good work for 48 hours. I wasn't too keen on the fog effect at first, but it works in hindsight. More games should have monkeys in makeshift bamboo helicopters!

    wonderwhy-er says ...
    Aug 29, 2011 @ 10:35am

    Can't say that it is very fun or innovative but pretty good game for 48 hours, both graphics, levels, sounds, all feels finished :) Good job :)

    Mjiig says ...
    Aug 30, 2011 @ 7:03pm

    Quite a fun game, but it froze on me part way through...

    tcstyle says ...
    Aug 31, 2011 @ 7:48pm

    Very oldschool gaming experience, which is great. But the controls are quite tricky.

    kirbytails7 says ...
    Sep 2, 2011 @ 3:08am

    =D I love the monkeys disintegrating when they run out of HP (I mean that in a good way...). Very nice!

    Chaoslab says ...
    Sep 4, 2011 @ 9:34pm

    I enjoyed it. Nicework. :-)

    You must sign in to comment.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]