August 19th-22nd 2011 :: Theme: Escape
[ Summary | Compo Top 50 | Jam Top 50 | Top 25 Categories | View All (599) ]

Back to Browse Entries

Captive

by cakemonitor - 48 Hour Competition Entry

Captive


Captive is a game created in Blitz3D (www.blitzbasic.com) for the competition Ludum Dare 21.

It was created by Martin Cooke on behalf of Drytree Studios. I worked solo, created all my assets in 48 hours, and have included source.

Enjoy :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#131Fun3.06
#271Audio2.00
#290Overall2.75
#292Theme2.81
#331Graphics2.38
#389Humor1.33
#418Coolness0%
#453Innovation1.81
#457Community1.56

Comments

Frimkron says ...
Aug 22, 2011 @ 9:22pm

I did it! I've always liked this kind of game. Was the original called Boulder Dash? A solid implementation and nice sounds :)

offwhitefox says ...
Aug 22, 2011 @ 10:33pm

Nice job :) It's a little difficult to predict how rocks are going to fall when you move and that can end up causing some silly mistakes that just end up getting frustrating though :/

siebharinn says ...
Aug 23, 2011 @ 3:08am

Ack! Got to the door, and it wouldn't open.

d_m says ...
Aug 23, 2011 @ 4:06am

The game has good feel, and I like boulder dash type games. A digging sound effect would have been nice, as would some music. I though the opening level was maybe a little bit too hard also (I feel like the original didn't have impassable walls besides boulders). Overall the game is definitely playable! :)

Aug 23, 2011 @ 4:59am

Same with offwhitefox. Hard to predict where and how the rock will fall so I resort to trial and error. A really neat game though. I like puzzles like these.

Monastery says ...
Aug 23, 2011 @ 3:10pm

I kinda miss the 'usual' beginner levels, where you learn about all the physics, like how rocks move etc... and I miss a "reset" key - always ESC and restarting after getting stuck aint fun.

johnfn says ...
Aug 25, 2011 @ 5:21am

Nice little game - I like puzzles. My only problem: the rocks seemed to fall in totally random or irrational ways. I could not intuit their manner of falling at all. That made for some frustrating gameplay.

Shigor says ...
Aug 27, 2011 @ 3:23pm

Functional boulder dash clone. If I wasn't so accustomed to Supaplex and it's controls, still by far the best game of this genre, I'd enjoy it much more, this way I was getting constantly killed by boulders.

Jedi says ...
Aug 28, 2011 @ 11:48am

Good entry. It could have used: music / more sound variety, levels with ramping difficulty, reset key.
After I realized boulders can stay on my head until I move and (round) boulders will roll off one another if they can, I was able to beat it with some diligence :). It's a "fair" game once you know the mechanics, so the puzzles were very rewarding. Still, this would've been a better experience for all if there were some easy levels.

mrdoddsi says ...
Sep 4, 2011 @ 3:57pm

bull crap!

Leech says ...
Sep 13, 2011 @ 12:58am

A bit frustrating and boring

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]