August 19th-22nd 2011 :: Theme: Escape
[ Summary | Compo Top 50 | Jam Top 50 | Top 25 Categories | View All (599) ]

Back to Browse Entries

Hell Fortress Escape

by hulahulahest - 48 Hour Competition Entry

A (hopefully) challenging retro-style platformer. When fortune frees you from a dire predicament, you must make the most of the moment to escape the warlock's clutches -- and his fortress of hell.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#15Graphics4.19
#32Overall3.73
#51Fun3.46
#171Theme3.24
#224Community2.61
#269Innovation2.68
#311Coolness1%
#332Humor1.53
#371Audio1.00

Comments

Sanguine says ...
Aug 22, 2011 @ 4:39pm

You succeeded in making this game really hard. I love the artwork!

Hempuli says ...
Aug 22, 2011 @ 6:01pm

Really sweet! My only problem is that several tiles resemble a tad too much ones from La-Mulana.

tgijsola says ...
Aug 22, 2011 @ 7:19pm

Best game I've played so far. Wonderfully realized world, great level layout, good difficulty level, and excellent artwork and style. Haven't finished it yet but I absolutely intend to come back and beat it.

One thing, is there really no audio or is that just on my end?

vandriver says ...
Aug 22, 2011 @ 7:39pm

i love these kinds of games and the art style is awesome. there are some just annoying mechanics, though. there are a couple of room where if you walk into them you will likely just immediately die from having held the 'walk forward' key. and more frustrating was that grabbing a rope was pressing up instead of holding up.

Mstrp2ez says ...
Aug 22, 2011 @ 7:44pm

Great game! Good difficulty level, with a good level design and with sweet, sweet graphics makes for an overall pleasant experience. To bad you dont have any sound at all(?)

Bleck says ...
Aug 22, 2011 @ 11:22pm

Hard. So hard.

vitae says ...
Aug 23, 2011 @ 3:59am

Difficult, fun, but difficult

cornedor says ...
Aug 23, 2011 @ 6:58am

Pff hard

arielsan says ...
Aug 23, 2011 @ 8:52pm

Really love the graphics, it would be great to have audio too.

There is no feedback the talisman hits the enemies.

Some times it double jumps when I touch only once.

It was a bit hard, mainly because checkpoints are far away from each other, that sucked a bit.

Good work and good luck with the game.

Jhelle says ...
Aug 23, 2011 @ 9:02pm

I thought I was into hard platformers but this is driving me mad :p. Very well build game, awesome job building this in 48 hours. Im missing sound and epic music though :(

redwater says ...
Aug 23, 2011 @ 9:26pm

epic music is definately amiss, it would ease the pain of failing all the time :D
good work!

bushmango says ...
Aug 24, 2011 @ 12:32am

If you are going to make a game that's so beautiful and has such potential, please be kind enough (especially to us reviewers) and have an easy difficulty! i.e. a lot more checkpoints or being able to try over from the same room. Frustration (due to my non-Godlike-reflexes) caused me to abandon the game when I'd rather keep playing :( Other than that, very solid! Controls were good, graphics were awesome, the Metroid style gathering of items and free-form exploration of the castle were awesome! Similar to notch's game but a lot better as it was in 2d :)

Knighty says ...
Aug 24, 2011 @ 2:24am

Great game, although very frustrating in some parts. Would've been nice to have some sound. I managed to beat it with 11/12 secret coins and 213 deaths :D

AndyBrown says ...
Aug 24, 2011 @ 11:27am

Very impressive entry! You really got a lot done with your time and did a great job prioritizing gameplay. Sadly, I didn't actually beat the game as the difficulty was just a bit too much for me to do while half asleep, bookmarked so I can play it again at a later time though!

Hempuli says ...
Aug 24, 2011 @ 4:08pm

Now if I could figure out how to get that orb/coin in the belltower...

Had great fun, completed the game a couple times and I'm now trying to get a 100% run.

Hempuli says ...
Aug 24, 2011 @ 4:09pm

Figured it out literally seconds after posting that!

none says ...
Aug 25, 2011 @ 12:43am

When you jump off the cliff right at the beginning of the game and move to the left you can get trapped in a cliff to the point where you can't kill yourself or move. Was that intentional because I find it funny to do? :D

syrup says ...
Aug 25, 2011 @ 3:36am

excellent graphics

d_m says ...
Aug 25, 2011 @ 5:32am

Great game... love the (insidious) level design, graphics, feel, etc.

If you check out my game (Red Rover) and like the music, I'd be willing to write some music for your game. That's my biggest gripe.... no sounds or music. Especially for when ghosts appear, fire shoots out, etc would be nice to have sounds. But overall great game, fun, fleshed-out, etc!

Mark Overmars says ...
Aug 25, 2011 @ 9:04pm

I am really impressed by this entry. I wouldn't say that it's hard, but it's really unclear how to progress at times.

Shigor says ...
Aug 26, 2011 @ 12:16pm

Art's perfect and level design seems to be done well, although I got frustrated too quickly on some places and hadn't finished... difficulty is a bit too high (but I might get back to it and try it again, it really seems as one of the few entries worth playing. 8 bit style audio is sorely missing :(

KevinWorkman says ...
Aug 26, 2011 @ 10:24pm

Nice work, although on your page you say you fixed a minor oversight after the competition ended. Isn't that not allowed?

K1NET1K says ...
Aug 26, 2011 @ 10:27pm

this game took me back to an era with less bits. charming graphics, and smooth gameplay.

Doft says ...
Aug 28, 2011 @ 6:08am

I really wanted to play the game. But you made it stupidly difficult. Too bad.

Orz says ...
Aug 28, 2011 @ 5:30pm

Love the graphics and level design. It would have been more fun without so many jumping puzzles, IMHO. :)

angrygeometry says ...
Aug 29, 2011 @ 1:39am

very difficult, but polished gameplay and graphics make up for it.

chamberlainpi says ...
Sep 1, 2011 @ 4:50pm

how the hell do you get passed the two moving rotary blades in room D-3 ? The gap is way too narrow to squeeze your character between the two blades (especially the vertical one).

Was anyone able to get passed it?

Marach says ...
Sep 10, 2011 @ 5:33pm

Amazing game. The difficulty is just right and very fair to the player. And the main character IS Reimu :D

Tommislav says ...
Sep 12, 2011 @ 7:06pm

Wow, this game really reminded me of some of the best platformers on my old c64 - the graphics, the controls... and the difficulty! Well done!!!

elbowroom says ...
Sep 24, 2011 @ 6:30pm

I am not sure I know what to do in room d3.. is it possible to got through that narrow area without being sliced?

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]