August 19th-22nd 2011 :: Theme: Escape
[ Summary | Compo Top 50 | Jam Top 50 | Top 25 Categories | View All (599) ]

Back to Browse Entries

Trenches

by MaskedPixel - 48 Hour Competition Entry

Can you escape through the trenches?

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#156Audio2.67
#159Fun2.94
#183Coolness3%
#198Overall3.00
#198Graphics2.94
#205Theme3.13
#256Community2.40
#286Humor1.73
#295Innovation2.56

Comments

Frib says ...
Aug 22, 2011 @ 3:39pm

Nice! The controls feel good, and it's quite difficult. I like it. I don't know if there's an ending (got through those tunnels at some point, but didn't get further).

My only criticism is that you can't go back to the main menu. You're forced to restart the game to change difficulty level. An indication of how far you are or have gotten (score, percentage traveled, whatever) would be nice to have as well.

Good job!

tgijsola says ...
Aug 22, 2011 @ 6:16pm

I agree with Frib! Great controls on a really tough little platformer. I really like the vertical wrapping feature you introduce on level 2.

MaskedPixel says ...
Aug 22, 2011 @ 7:23pm

I am glad you all liked the game :) Good looking out on the feedback too. It didn't even occur to me to make a way to get back to the menu(I just refreshed ha!).

Aug 23, 2011 @ 4:40pm

The movement was slick and felt great! It was too hard for me too get past level 2 even after a bunch of tries, but it felt like that was my problem and not the games problem, so thats alright. I would say make it more obvious that I can double jump, because it became a lot easier and more enjoyable once I realised. I know you sya so in the instructions but I just sort of forgot when I got in game.

krangGAMES says ...
Aug 24, 2011 @ 7:42pm

Not bad! Solid mechanics, simple gameplay, nice audio. The initial moment was slightly frustrating as I tried to use the arrow keys, not WASD, which didn't work and I'd immediately die. A bit more explanation on controls would benefit this game. Well done though :)

wonderwhy-er says ...
Aug 25, 2011 @ 8:09pm

Controls do feel pretty good :) Did not manage to pass first level so far, will return to it later I guess.
Hmm start BTW is too rough, I guess you should have left little bit more time at the start.

Klare says ...
Sep 1, 2011 @ 4:02am

This is incredibly addictive, and frustrating... I love it :p

Marach says ...
Sep 11, 2011 @ 10:04am

Wow, this was hard. Finished it on easy... Not patient enough for higher difficulties >_>

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]