August 19th-22nd 2011 :: Theme: Escape
[ Summary | Compo Top 50 | Jam Top 50 | Top 25 Categories | View All (599) ]

Back to Browse Entries

Vector Dash

by black_mage_andy - 48 Hour Competition Entry

YOU have stolen the new prototype VECTOR SHIP from right under the noses of the VECTROX fleet. Pilot your new ship and escape from the VECTROX mothership.

Gameplay Video:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z060OSbtYVg

Timelapse Video:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YGJxIojWCBA

Requires XNA Runtime.
Includes source & media

Comes with Full Screen & Windowed version. Windowed version runs at 720.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#21Community3.69
#102Graphics3.41
#115Coolness5%
#118Fun3.11
#120Overall3.30
#153Audio2.68
#155Humor2.23
#280Theme2.85
#319Innovation2.48

Comments

ointment says ...
Aug 22, 2011 @ 5:13pm

Not quite varied enough to stay interesting all the way.

Marach says ...
Aug 22, 2011 @ 5:16pm

A fun, well-designed, but short game. The turrets could be more accurate to add a tactics element to the gameplay.

Andrew says ...
Aug 22, 2011 @ 5:44pm

I like the way it forces me to be stealthy.

BlueShaman says ...
Aug 22, 2011 @ 9:23pm

The tweaky controls were a little annoying when combined with the ability for one small bullet to obliterate me. Although the leveling and design of the levels and turrets was good enough that it was challenging yet still possible after several very careful tries.

redwater says ...
Aug 23, 2011 @ 9:44pm

the controls make it quite difficult to navigate accurately :(

BurnZeZ says ...
Aug 23, 2011 @ 9:52pm

Good game, but as seems to be a recurring theme this LudumDare, controls were frustrating.

Shadow says ...
Aug 24, 2011 @ 4:15am

I suck at this kind of games. Got only to lv 5. I could only reach the last turret of the level a couple of times before dying. It becomes frustrating pretty fast but I really enjoyed those moments of epic win. Overall a really nice game.

tnelsond says ...
Aug 24, 2011 @ 4:38am

I never actually played the game, but I watched a video about it.

Rudy says ...
Aug 24, 2011 @ 6:51pm

The controls are very sensitive and lack strafe-shifting. Inertia is too high too. Otherwise, nice little shmup.

voxel says ...
Aug 25, 2011 @ 4:27am

Nicely balanced for an LD entry. Nice smooth controls. Liked the aesthetic, could have used some more varied sound, but most importantly I'd like to see pixel perfect collision detection added/fixed :)

Chaoslab says ...
Aug 25, 2011 @ 11:28am

Reminds me of Gravitron. :-) Nice work.

N0_Named_Guy says ...
Aug 27, 2011 @ 9:28pm

A nice game. Liked the back story. Controls were responsive, but hated them. Thate because the ship controls are Asteroid-like, and I dislike them. Graphically is good, had fun (and rage) while playing it. Audio is a little meh, but gets the job done. Overall a good game =)

Aug 28, 2011 @ 4:11pm

This game would be so rad if I had a trackball and could use it like the original classic Asteroids arcade machines had.

Asteroids - The RPG.

Well done!

Shigor says ...
Aug 29, 2011 @ 4:28pm

I gave up in sixth level after about dozen or so attempts... it was just too hard for me. Otherwise it's quite functional, art code and sounds, but simple (and also probably second most used concept after typical platformer in competition :(

Aug 29, 2011 @ 9:04pm

THe game shouldn't be judged on the fact that other people have done something similar. It is simple, but functional rather than complicated and buggy.

Six says ...
Aug 30, 2011 @ 10:09am

Fun little game, I like the clean vector look. I for one actually enjoy the asteroids like controls, though the acceleration was perhaps a little too quick. Nice that you were forgiving on the ship collision, but I think I would have preferred if it was actually to the ship shape.

Aug 30, 2011 @ 1:43pm

Yea, sorry about that. The forgiving nature of the collisions was not intentional, i just had to approximate as best I could :)

Jhelle says ...
Sep 1, 2011 @ 8:45pm

The continuum fanboy in me approves and enjoyed this game. Very smooth game play and (a bit too easy) polished levels. Good job!

DrPetter says ...
Sep 7, 2011 @ 9:53pm

Needs angular acceleration, so I can nudge in tiny increments to aim accurately. Not too sluggish though, just a fraction of a second until it rotates with full speed. I had some fun moments when I rushed a level head-on with almost too much speed but still managed to make it through by turning and "braking" or skidding around corners. Also challenging to simply avoid enemies where possible.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]