August 19th-22nd 2011 :: Theme: Escape
[ Summary | Compo Top 50 | Jam Top 50 | Top 25 Categories | View All (599) ]

Back to Browse Entries

Left Again

by AaronYip - 48 Hour Competition Entry

This is my first time doing a Dare, made with Flixel. There are 15 levels total, each adding a new enemy to the mix. I hope you guys enjoy! :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#42Humor3.19
#81Overall3.42
#85Fun3.25
#140Innovation3.22
#203Graphics2.92
#311Coolness1%
#332Theme2.65
#336Community2.00
#357Audio1.13

Comments

kavs says ...
Aug 22, 2011 @ 7:52pm

Nice! :D

I would have liked it more if the counters didn't reset when players leave the square. Twice in my game I moved a character by accident and it caused the counter to reset.

AaronYip says ...
Aug 24, 2011 @ 12:08am

Thanks for the feedback, kavs!

The resetting was intentional. Being on the timers steamed out more zombies, which loses a bit of its effect in small doses. However, I do agree with you--accidentally resetting them is frustrating. I couldn't think up a quick fix though. :(

ointment says ...
Aug 24, 2011 @ 9:42am

Good stuff. Kinda like a tower defense with moving towers, heh. There's enough variation between levels to keep things interesting, and the upgrade system is a plus. Enough challenge as well, and it doesn't end just when the fun's gotten started.

bach says ...
Aug 24, 2011 @ 9:52am

This is pretty incredible. Well done! Really enjoyed this.

AndyBrown says ...
Aug 24, 2011 @ 10:14am

fun game, I like all of the upgrade names / descriptions, and the text that the guys said was quite amusing, quite impressive for your first ludum dare =)

Rudy says ...
Aug 24, 2011 @ 11:02am

Very nice, like the humor. It's a little addictive. Doesn't involve a lot of strategy though. I would prefer less upgrade options, but bigger impact. Also lol at creeper.

AaronYip says ...
Aug 25, 2011 @ 3:12pm

Thanks for all the feedback, guys! :D

demonpants says ...
Aug 25, 2011 @ 6:06pm

I thought it was pretty fun, but I couldn't really understand where the strategy was. I simply ran people from one city to another and that was it. There's a lot here, but it needs a bit more to it.

AaronYip says ...
Aug 26, 2011 @ 3:27pm

@Rudy and demonpants,

I definitely agree, the strategy aspect is lacking. I was hoping that kiting/upgrade choices were going to be more meaningful, but I was too focused on adding content and the balance suffered. In hindsight, I should have focused a lot more on tactical encounters. Thanks for the criticism, guys :)

Shigor says ...
Aug 26, 2011 @ 4:56pm

Any game which says something about radish and mothers must be good :) (at least I've got that idea from Dungeons of Dredmor). It's quite funny and enjoyable game, upgrading gives and possibility to choose party gives it that something little needed extra.... and the oneliners uttered by zombies.... This... is.... BADGER BADGER BADGER!
Very good, one of the few games so far which made me laugh and deserves stars in Humor category.

Shigor says ...
Aug 26, 2011 @ 4:57pm

Any game which says something about radish and mothers must be good :) (at least I've got that idea from Dungeons of Dredmor). It's quite funny and enjoyable game (albeit quite simple and repetetive, but upgrading gives and possibility to choose party gives it that something little needed extra.... and the oneliners uttered by zombies.... This... is.... BADGER BADGER BADGER!
Very good, one of the few games so far which made me laugh and deserves stars in Humor category.

Tommislav says ...
Aug 30, 2011 @ 9:22pm

A ha ha ha ha!!! What a lovely game. Really impressed with what you managed to create in 48 hrs. Feels well balanced and lots of humor! "Winter is coming" X-D

Cambrian_Man says ...
Sep 10, 2011 @ 5:03pm

I feel like you've got a solid core here. The tower defense/RTS thing has a lot of potential and I can see the sort of simple-but-complex system where the upgrades for certain classes influence others. I just didn't know what anything actually meant or how it would, in real game terms, actually influence anything. Still, I think it can be polished and refined into something really awesome.

AaronYip says ...
Sep 11, 2011 @ 12:28am

Cambrian_Man,

Definitely, man. In retrospect, my biggest folly was not designing towards "meaningful" choices and agency. Doing things didn't have as much impact, didn't feel as awesome as I hoped. I got caught up in the rush of my first Dare and pushed for getting the mechanics out early. After that, I found myself with a surprising amount of time left; I used the rest of my time by creating way too much content instead of really digging in to polish gameplay and design the game towards specific "fun" scenarios (like boss battles, radically different enemies, upgrades that changed units' gameplay). Next Dare, I'll be more prepared. >:D

Again, everybody, thanks for all the feedback! I'm learning a lot from this Dare because of all these comments, and I really appreciate you guys taking the time to talk about what you liked and what you felt could be better. It really means a lot to me. :)

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]