August 19th-22nd 2011 :: Theme: Escape
[ Summary | Compo Top 50 | Jam Top 50 | Top 25 Categories | View All (599) ]

Back to Browse Entries

Dragon's Bloodmoney

by neosam - 48 Hour Competition Entry

Run away and save the kingdom.

This is an early release. I hope I can update it later :)

If you like you can watch the timelaps at http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m5Kf03v1Uws.

Update: I can :). There is music in the game now. I used the ingame sounds (like jumping, checkpoint) as samples.

On Windows you can extract it and start the batch file. Other operating systems needs Love2D to run (http://www.love2d.org) at the moment.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#14Humor3.82
#23Community3.67
#124Theme3.38
#183Coolness3%
#211Audio2.36
#314Graphics2.46
#323Fun2.38
#360Overall2.54
#469Innovation1.69

Comments

Pvaiun says ...
Aug 22, 2011 @ 6:03pm

Best. Graphics. Ever.

neosam says ...
Aug 22, 2011 @ 7:53pm

I know I'm not a good artist :)

offwhitefox says ...
Aug 23, 2011 @ 2:55am

I love to see LOVE2D getting some exposure, it's where I learned lua ^^. This feels sort of unfinished to me though, like there were supposed to be enemies or some element of challenge that didn't make it through. Maybe next time :)

neosam says ...
Aug 23, 2011 @ 7:06am

I also learned lua this weekend :)

Yes I made the Enemy "class" at the beginning. The Enemy-Object walks in left or right. When it collides, it switched it's walking direction. But there was no collision detection and I had no idea what I should do if the player hit the enemy (dead, subtract time, ...).

On the other hand I had not enough time to do more stuff. It was the first time I took part on a competition and my first project on lua :).

Thanks for your feedbank!

Neosam.

MadrMan says ...
Aug 23, 2011 @ 1:15pm

I'm really really really really frustrated by the jumping. Halfway the second level there is a lot of jumping going on. I spend 10 minutes trying to get past this row of bricks, and when i finally got past them to the checkpoint and fell down, there was a checkpoint which actually set me back again. Not wanting to jump all the way AGAIN I gave up.

neosam says ...
Aug 23, 2011 @ 9:12pm

Good point!

I admin that this part can be very frustrating. If you made it once you should be able to do it faster. This is the last hard part in the game. Especially the second checkpoint is not fair...

Because I was testing the game all the time I thought the game is too easy and so I made this part. Lots of friends told me the same. Sorry, next time I will make the game easier.

Thanks for your feedback!

Neosam.

neosam says ...
Aug 23, 2011 @ 9:12pm

I made the last entry :)

James Paige says ...
Aug 25, 2011 @ 3:22am

The sidescrollering was pretty lackluster, but the story panels made me laugh with tears of joy

neosam says ...
Aug 25, 2011 @ 5:19am

Thanks :)

What do you mean if you say "sidescrollering". Do you mean the whole jump and run part?

Thanks for your feedback!
Neosam.

Aug 25, 2011 @ 5:23pm

Gotta love the introduction of Bob :-)

barigorokarl says ...
Aug 28, 2011 @ 5:48pm

Argh ... if it wasn't this controls ... I really laughted hard on the story, though ;)

Chaoslab says ...
Sep 2, 2011 @ 12:50am

Quite amusing. Looks like ya had fun making it. :-)

thristhart says ...
Sep 2, 2011 @ 4:54pm

I was highly amused by the three-year-old style intro. I wanted to be snarky and link you to the wikipedia page for "Difficulty curve", but unfortunately that page doesn't exist - much like the difficulty curve in your game. It was simple easy platforming and then suddenly, THAT PART. You know the one I mean.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]