August 19th-22nd 2011 :: Theme: Escape
[ Summary | Compo Top 50 | Jam Top 50 | Top 25 Categories | View All (599) ]

Back to Browse Entries

Persephone

by thonk - 48 Hour Competition Entry

Description:
You play as Persephone, who has been captured by Hades.
In order to ever see the day of light again, you must do the unthinkable: Escape from the underworld.

Instructions:
Use [w,a,d] to move.
Press [q] to respawn.
Later use [SPACE] to use ability.


This is my first Ludum Dare submission. Please tell me if anything is not working properly! Thanks!

PS: While playing the other LD games, I suddenly realized I did block collision in a really, really stupid and over-complicated way AND that creates a bug where you get stuck a bit in the wall.

*DO NOT use the extended version for rating
Extended Version Updates:
-Added sound
-Fixed collision problem
-Fixed slippery-ness
-Decreased explosion waiting time
-Changed acorn throwing from [SPACE] to [RIGHT CLICK]
-Changed restart from [q] to [r], but you should not need to restart
-.....etc

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#115Coolness5%
#181Graphics3.06
#188Fun2.85
#196Community2.72
#253Theme2.94
#256Overall2.85
#295Innovation2.56
#316Humor1.58
#371Audio1.00

Comments

N0_Named_Guy says ...
Aug 22, 2011 @ 10:29pm

I like this game. I noticed on how floaty her jumps her...!

Pvaiun says ...
Aug 23, 2011 @ 2:07am

Love the story and art style. With fun gameplay to boot! Good job.

heck says ...
Aug 23, 2011 @ 9:10am

Nice gameplay. Explode yourself like Splosion man or Explodemon(if I recall correctly).
I think that the girls movement is too slippery, though. And collision bug appeared quite often. I got stuck a few times.

thonk says ...
Aug 23, 2011 @ 2:32pm

Thank you for the comments. The movement is definitely too slippery for a game that requires really precise positioning. By the way, did anyone think the game was too difficult in some parts?

sfernald says ...
Aug 23, 2011 @ 11:15pm

I love that you used processing and I love mythology games. That said, I think the controls were a little floaty for my liking. I didn't really feel like I had the control of the character that I needed.

Got stuck on mountain side so couldn't finish game.

mikolalysenko says ...
Aug 23, 2011 @ 11:56pm

It was pretty neat, and I like the bomb mechanic. However I have two major complaints: 1. The controls are way to slippery. 2. Waiting for the bombs to go off is a bit tedious. It seems like it would almost work better if they just exploded immediately.

snesgaard says ...
Aug 24, 2011 @ 12:42am

Nice game. Really liked the art style and theme, however there seems to quite a few physics related problems. The platforms feels like that theres barely any friction which precise really difficult. Also when you collide below a platform it causes Persephone to get stuck. I encountered some collision detection errors with the explosions as well. Even though I was half a screen away they sometimes sent me flying anyways.

Besides that it's a very lovable bastard child of Bomba Man and Splosion Man :)

nuria says ...
Aug 24, 2011 @ 4:58pm

I liked how you managed to add dialogs without pausing the action. I missed the sound, but I know it's tough with so little time... Game mechanics are cool too, good job! :)

Zaron says ...
Aug 27, 2011 @ 10:09am

Gave up on island surrounded by lava. Wrist hurts, slippery movement twitchiness not helping, 3 AM! You win, I quit.

Not a bad concept. The controls are just too slick, though. Kinda wondering why spacebar is used instead of a mouse click for placing mouse-aimed bombs, too.

Upgrade system is nice. Level layout is more hit than miss, but there are a few points where the difficulty darn near convinced me to give up, before it... ultimately did exactly that. I might have pressed on if I wasn't so tuckered, but I played enough to know it's competent, just needs some refinement to be totally solid.

siebharinn says ...
Aug 27, 2011 @ 10:04pm

Nice job!

callidus says ...
Aug 28, 2011 @ 8:23am

nice work, enjoyed playing it

Cirrial says ...
Aug 28, 2011 @ 10:01am

Game seems to keep flickering on my machine and makes it mostly unplayable. Shame because I liked it. Art style is pretty good. Movement is a little slidey but the floaty jumps sort of make up for that. Nice power mechanic as well.

angrygeometry says ...
Aug 29, 2011 @ 4:52pm

i didn't really like the physics too much, found it hard to control explosion jumps but it was a cool little game to play through.

marudziik says ...
Sep 3, 2011 @ 3:21pm

Physics seemed a bit off (too slippery for a platformer, explosions increased speed only for a small distance, which felt awkward) and every time I slipped from a block and ended up with wall on my side, I got stuck. Other than that, these aren't major flaws. It's a fine first entry - I like the graphics and the explosion concept.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]