August 19th-22nd 2011 :: Theme: Escape
[ Summary | Compo Top 50 | Jam Top 50 | Top 25 Categories | View All (599) ]

Back to Browse Entries

City Runner

by Warrozo - 48 Hour Competition Entry

This is my first LD, and its been really fun! Met some great people and hope to be doing this again soon.

Any feedback you can give would be great! I'm sitting in IRC as Warrozo or you can twitter me, @DGoodayle!


Thank you and I hope you enjoy it!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#122Community3.00
#128Graphics3.28
#139Theme3.33
#142Fun3.00
#165Overall3.13
#198Audio2.42
#311Coolness1%
#352Innovation2.37
#389Humor1.33

Comments

danlthemanl says ...
Aug 21, 2011 @ 5:15pm

Very nice!

kato9 says ...
Aug 21, 2011 @ 6:11pm

Cool, although it's a little weird the sentry lasers don't have a little turret sprite attached to them, seemed weird to be getting shot at by nothing!

neosam says ...
Aug 21, 2011 @ 8:12pm

Cool!

Cosmologicon says ...
Aug 22, 2011 @ 11:32pm

Great! Nothing I haven't seen before, but it was still pretty fun. The graphics and sound (apart from the missing sprites) are quite well done! As is common with procedural map generation, the challenge level can be inconsistent. Sometimes I made it through the first level easily, and sometimes not.

zazery says ...
Aug 23, 2011 @ 12:21am

The spotlight effect works quite well in creating tension. I wish there was music to go along with the visual style.

siebharinn says ...
Aug 23, 2011 @ 2:47am

I got an error on startup. I'm using IE, on a computer other than mine, so I'll try again when I get home.


Webpage error details

User Agent: Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 8.0; Windows NT 5.1; Trident/4.0)
Timestamp: Tue, 23 Aug 2011 02:46:01 UTC


Message: 'root' is null or not an object
Line: 6
Char: 1252
Code: 0
URI: http://connect.facebook.net/en_US/all.js

offwhitefox says ...
Aug 23, 2011 @ 2:47am

Neat idea, though it really isn't as much fun as it could be. Also needs some audio. The levels seem really imbalanced, as the ones I got seemed to have most of the enemies on one side of the map, and next to none on the rest. After some more work, it could be really cool :)

siebharinn says ...
Aug 23, 2011 @ 3:02am

Ok, I tried it again with a non-sucky browser, and it worked.

Graphics were good. Light effect was nice. Targets were pretty small.

You seemed to have some kind of collision error. There were times when I couldn't advance down the street until I moved to other lane, even though there was nothing visible in front of me.

Nice job overall!

onefineline says ...
Aug 23, 2011 @ 3:40am

@siebharinn: there are little rectangles that block your path. I think that's what you mean. I have to agree that the enemies were SO SMALL! Geez! And I got to an exit, but it wouldn't let me go in, so I died! lol

cornedor says ...
Aug 23, 2011 @ 5:57am

Very nice game :) but those guy's shooting on my where I cant reach them. don't like that much, very frustrating.

KevinWorkman says ...
Aug 23, 2011 @ 1:00pm

Really nice! I also went with an "escape the city" type game, and about halfway through developing my game, I realized I should have gone with a maze generator instead of randomly placed buildings- great minds think alike, maybe?

rawbits says ...
Aug 24, 2011 @ 12:27am

It is frustrating that not all the foe try to catch and if so then they do it from where they can't see me.
Also turrets are shooting or not, rapid or not.
And you can get back from exit when the screen fades.

But aside from that this is a good game. Are you made Atom Zombie Smasher or played it a lot? I programmed labyrinth generating algorithms when I was 10 on my C64 and this idea hasn't popped in my mind... How simple and yet entertaining. Thanks for making it. Please get rid of the bugs and post it sometime!

Shigor says ...
Aug 24, 2011 @ 6:38am

There's several game of this type in the LD21 that I've seen, but I'd guess yours is probably slightly better then the others in the terms of gameplay.

N0_Named_Guy says ...
Aug 24, 2011 @ 8:59pm

Good game, but I really dislike the sound... Too repetitive... Can't distinguish the sound of my own bullets versus enemy fire... Shop feature is nice. Overall, a fun game. And I think the lacking sprites make the game better. =)

Aug 25, 2011 @ 6:40am

So, waht are we escaping? Zombies? Zombies with guns? And there's money, apparently.

Gameplay is solid and fun. Splashing the red dots feels quite hefty.

zdanielz says ...
Aug 25, 2011 @ 8:52pm

Fun game! mechanics were a bit repetitive after a few levels, but fun all in all and stylish! way to go.

DrPetter says ...
Aug 26, 2011 @ 1:23pm

Hmm. Not sure why I'm being paid to kill the red guys, but it does seem like a reasonably solid mechanical ground for an interesting game. With single-click shots it feels like I should also conserve ammo, but that doesn't seem to be the case. The speed of movement on the other hand would favor autofire. Could be fun with some attempt at a background story and more elements to the gameplay.

Orz says ...
Aug 28, 2011 @ 5:00pm

This is a great entry, although I prefer to see the goal and struggle to get to it, rather than have the goal concealed and stumble around.

Gornova says ...
Aug 28, 2011 @ 5:47pm

Nice game, well done !! :D

BlueShaman says ...
Aug 29, 2011 @ 3:40pm

Good overall. Mostly the difficulty was very unrealistic since those little things just clouded you, or you just sniped them outside of their range. The turrets couldn't be defeated so. A couple bugs where you could get stuck against a wall.

Winterblood says ...
Sep 11, 2011 @ 10:29pm

Nice idea, very polished. But very fiddly to shoot enemies, and my bullets didn't seem to fire directly at the cursor. Also a brief glimpse of the exit would be nice so you have half a chance of reaching it deliberately instead of by happy accident :)

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]