August 19th-22nd 2011 :: Theme: Escape
[ Summary | Compo Top 50 | Jam Top 50 | Top 25 Categories | View All (599) ]

Back to Browse Entries

FuhFuhFire!

by Radiatoryang - 48 Hour Competition Entry

FuhFuhFire! by Robert Yang (@radiatoryang)

WASD to move, SPACEBAR to jump.
MOUSE to look, LEFT-CLICK to do stuff.

>>> You're the type of guy who starts fires, just so you can save people from them and be a hero. First you'll set your Fire Bomb, then you'll rescue your Victims. Maybe your plan will go awry (it probably will) and you'll just have to ESCAPE by yourself, leaving the rest behind in their screaming agony?

- 8 different endings
- dynamic fire propagating system
- dynamic level destruction! wow!
- totally unrealistic model of firefighting
- ... and more!

Made with Unity3D, some super simple models in Maya, some sounds recorded on a Singstar USB mic + Audacity, and some simple textures in Photoshop.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#79Innovation3.55
#81Theme3.58
#96Humor2.67
#109Audio2.95
#167Graphics3.11
#193Overall3.05
#249Community2.44
#259Fun2.62
#311Coolness1%

Comments

Aug 22, 2011 @ 11:23am

Interesting idea (although you have to get behind the evil character first).

Also, you forgot to mention "hulk-like-super-jump" in the features :-)

Shigor says ...
Aug 22, 2011 @ 5:08pm

Nice screaming and the idea that you first start fire and then play hero is interesting.

tequibo says ...
Aug 22, 2011 @ 6:35pm

It's a shame I only got one ending, in other cases there was no text, just "headlines of tomorrow wallpapers.." and nothing more. But the one I got was rather funny. Screams are bloody annoying, makes you want to escape from those whiny cowards.

Bloodyaugust says ...
Aug 22, 2011 @ 10:25pm

Fun, but the audio made it INCREDIBLY annoying.

8bitmuse says ...
Aug 25, 2011 @ 7:09am

Nice!, I can see you put alot of effort into this. I think the atmosphere is great, definitely gets across the idea of claustrophobia and anxiety. My thing with voice acting is that more often than not it detracts from the game unless done well and yours was done well so good job!

My one big critique would be that everything you did could have been done on a level twice as small, by spreading it all out so much (in my opinion) the atmosphere I described above tends to dissipate a bit and isn't as effective. What that did for me, atleast, is not make it as exciting to be running around, putting out fire and getting victims to the exit; I'm sure if the gamefield was smaller it would have been much more tense (just my opinion though).

Overall though great game and innovative concept!

jonbro says ...
Aug 25, 2011 @ 12:51pm

I had difficulty with both the extinguisher, and finding the victims, but I did really enjoy the graphics and the audio. I think something like a minimap to help me find the next person would be really awesome. Great job!

summaky says ...
Aug 26, 2011 @ 7:54pm

Sometimes I had the idea to let them burning. They were too annoying...

Nice idea, though.

mikolalysenko says ...
Aug 27, 2011 @ 2:44am

Interesting concept, but I couldn't really figure out what to do with all the people. Also, am I supposed to be playing as an arsonist or a firefighter?

KevinWorkman says ...
Aug 28, 2011 @ 3:55am

Awesome idea, and really pretty, but I couldn't quite figure out what I was supposed to be doing.

Tulrath says ...
Aug 30, 2011 @ 3:10am

Very interesting idea, I liked how the fire spread. Couple of minor tweaks I think would greatly improve gameplay: 1) Audio - had to turn it off, 2) Extinguisher should be much more effective, 3) fire spreads too quickly in the middle of the building - had to run around the edges all the time, 4) I couldn't ever find the exit - some kind of HUD with a pointer to the exit would be great.

Also, you didn't really have to take on the role of a bad guy since the fire seemed to start by itself :) Would really like to see this developed more.

Rudy says ...
Sep 1, 2011 @ 7:16pm

Interesting idea and nice mood. I know from gameplay perspective I choose the best location for fire, but setting fire AND rescuing doesn't really make sense. Audio is great, but gets repetitive very quick. Needs a lot more variety. It would be great with characters models that you can empathize with, but that's just impossible for a 48h game.

hamburger says ...
Sep 6, 2011 @ 4:06am

This was entertaining. Cheers on making a game with a tone unlike everything else. :)

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]