Now:
October Challenge 2014
Ends in:
Sat, 01 Nov 2014 12:00:00 UTC

Coming Soon:
Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014
Sat, 06 Dec 2014 01:00:00 UTC

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.


Ludum Dare 31:

Ludum Deals

???

 

Recent:

MiniLD #XX


Ludum Dare 21

August 19th-22nd 2011 :: Theme: Escape
[ Summary | Compo Top 50 | Jam Top 50 | Top 25 Categories | View All (599) ]

Back to Browse Entries

/ ESCAPE \ - schonstal - Jam Entry

Programming - Josh Schonstal (me)
Graphics - Ian Brock
Music - Guerin McMurry (aka spamtron)

We've gotten a lot of positive feedback on Kongregate, so we'll be fixing some small issues. If you still want to play the official jam version, play Web (Old). To play the up-to-date version, play Web (Latest).

And if you liked the soundtrack, you can download it here: https://8bc.org/music/spamtron/Escape+OST++Gameplay/

View schonstal's journal. | View all entries by schonstal

Ratings

Audio(Jam)4.35
Fun(Jam)4.26
Overall(Jam)4.30
Theme(Jam)3.91
#5Graphics(Jam)4.44
#16Innovation(Jam)3.19
#25Humor(Jam)2.52
#97Community3.16
#183Coolness3%

Comments

Jacic says ...
Aug 23, 2011 @ 3:23am

Absolutely amazing game! It actually took me a few tries to figure out I could hold escape to alter the height of my jump. :p
Great graphics and sound too.

skelethulu says ...
Aug 23, 2011 @ 3:24am

Super polished!

vintersphrost says ...
Aug 23, 2011 @ 5:41am

woah, this is so awesome!!!! these graphics, the playability! go for gold!

Thores says ...
Aug 23, 2011 @ 7:17am

Holy crap. Graphics, controls, and music are all top notch. Very cool, man.

mes says ...
Aug 23, 2011 @ 8:47am

awesome artwork and music! and it's fun too!! excellent work gentlemen.

maxx says ...
Aug 23, 2011 @ 9:32am

Absolutely amazing! All the elements are very polished, simple but the music makes it very engaging.

Chaoslab says ...
Aug 23, 2011 @ 10:13am

That rocked! :-)

jonbro says ...
Aug 23, 2011 @ 1:19pm

Amazing graphics and sound. I like the single button too. Things seem to be a little bit unfair at a certain point though.

Spaceoff says ...
Aug 23, 2011 @ 7:32pm

Very fun game, polished, good sound and is very fun. Unfortunately my Esc key now sticks :(

BlackBulletIV says ...
Aug 23, 2011 @ 8:58pm

Wow! This is amazing! Great graphics, great gameplay, good sound, and lots of polish. Well done guys!

mpc174 says ...
Aug 24, 2011 @ 2:37am

Fantastic, the music really sold me too.

pekuja says ...
Aug 24, 2011 @ 10:08am

Wow, the music reminds me a lot of old Konami NES games. Was that a conscious influence?

Aug 24, 2011 @ 11:33am

Nice work.

wally2069 says ...
Aug 24, 2011 @ 10:36pm

My only nitpick would be that some of the collisions are off. Like jumping near the bottom part of a spike causes death even when the player doesn't hit it. It is pretty amazing otherwise and fun for a short platformer style game. The wall jumping sets this apart from other entries.

Lancer873 says ...
Aug 24, 2011 @ 10:59pm

The physics reminded me of N: The Way of the Ninja. This is a very, very good thing.

schonstal says ...
Aug 25, 2011 @ 12:04am

wally2069, it's actually weighted so that you can go 2px into the bottom, and 1px into the top of the spikes. It does feel a bit frustrating to die when you're only 3px into them still, though (since it's basically only your ear touching it), but I found that it seemed a little weird when you could go through it more than that, like collisions weren't working.

Maple says ...
Aug 25, 2011 @ 12:34am

You won.

KevinWorkman says ...
Aug 25, 2011 @ 3:32am

Is the web (old) link broken? It doesn't work for me :c

mikolalysenko says ...
Aug 25, 2011 @ 5:08am

Wow! This is amazingly polished! The only thing is that it does seem to be a bit frustrating, but the addicting music and slick presentation kept me coming back for more. It feels almost like a pachinko machine, I want to keep dumping more tries into it.

schonstal says ...
Aug 25, 2011 @ 6:00am

KevinWorkman, could you be more specific? I can't find a problem.

Nora Shishi says ...
Aug 25, 2011 @ 9:10pm

It's awesome! I love this game.

onefineline says ...
Aug 26, 2011 @ 5:22am

I hope the little jumping guy has health insurance.

Jhelle says ...
Aug 26, 2011 @ 7:26am

Very polished and fun to play, top scores on audio and graphics too. Well done gentlemen!

Shigor says ...
Aug 26, 2011 @ 8:02am

It's about the first purely "mash escape key" game which I enjoyed :) Excellent music (I'm just sucker for the old SID style music...)

marudziik says ...
Aug 26, 2011 @ 8:27am

Really nice entry, although a bit hard and unforgiving (monkey slides down quite fast so when there are spikes on both sides, sometimes it's hard to see when to jump). Music is super-awesome.

Rudy says ...
Aug 26, 2011 @ 2:39pm

Very nicely done, like the idea. Controls/sliding is well done, but can be randomly punishing on an impossible spike/jump combo. I suppose it sort of fits the theme by combining escape key pun with escaping giant laser thing. Good music/sound. Love the death animation.

Aug 26, 2011 @ 2:54pm

It was fun and very polished, tho it may be a little too hard at times.

KevinWorkman says ...
Aug 26, 2011 @ 6:25pm

It works now, must have been a hiccup on my end. Nice job!

N0_Named_Guy says ...
Aug 27, 2011 @ 12:16am

Fun game! Loved the use of escape. You sure didn't want to escape the escape theme!

Klare says ...
Aug 27, 2011 @ 9:17pm

This game is perfect in every way :o Loooove the soundtrack!

ointment says ...
Aug 27, 2011 @ 9:46pm

A simple concept, but great presentation and so much fun. Games like these are Ludum Dare's speciality.

dogbomb says ...
Aug 28, 2011 @ 5:18pm

This is awesome. So polished and everything just WORKS.

I wish I could see a little farther ahead as I ended up with a few unfair deaths by jumping into the unknown. Reminds me of "ninjump" on iOS quite a bit, but thats not a bad thing.

If this ever ports to iOS... you have yourself at least one sale.

schonstal says ...
Aug 29, 2011 @ 8:20pm

dogbomb, I take it you've only played the LD version. If you try the version on Kongregate, I've fixed most of the issues people have complained about, including the player's maximum height on the screen (you can now see ahead a little more than a full jump). After adjusting the height, I never feel like I'm unfairly killed by a random spike group (you can be reckless and have it happen still, so you should still try to be careful).

If you liked the LD version, check out the Kongregate version! I think you'll have fun with it.

johnfn says ...
Aug 30, 2011 @ 5:40am

Whoa, one of the best entries I've seen so far. Simple mechanics, but oh so addicting. Well done.

tcstyle says ...
Aug 30, 2011 @ 7:42pm

I really suck at this game, which is a pity cause the impression is great.

Make A Game says ...
Aug 31, 2011 @ 10:45am

Great game! Fast paced and fun. The sliding down and speed up mechanics aren't very obvious at first, but since dying is part of the process, the players will eventually get there. Congrats!

Andrew says ...
Sep 8, 2011 @ 1:11pm

Not entirely the most original idea, but it makes up for it in execution and aesthetics.

Zanzlanz says ...
Jun 29, 2012 @ 4:44pm

Epic game! Graphics were perfect, music was great.
But I just can't get 350 feet, I'm stuck at 334.

Alface says ...
Sep 6, 2012 @ 5:18am

I loved the game!

You have reconstructed the game for ios and android? Or you did porting flixel?
You can show me somewhere find more about this port?

I'll certainly download on my phone

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]