Now:
October Challenge 2014
Ends in:
Sat, 01 Nov 2014 00:12:00 UTC

Coming Soon:
Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014
Sat, 06 Dec 2014 01:00:00 UTC

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.


Ludum Dare 31:

Ludum Deals

???

 

Recent:

MiniLD #XX


Ludum Dare 21

August 19th-22nd 2011 :: Theme: Escape
[ Summary | Compo Top 50 | Jam Top 50 | Top 25 Categories | View All (599) ]

Back to Browse Entries

Dude Running From an Explosion - naxum - 48 Hour Competition Entry

http://jakexyz.com/ld21/

Everything is at the site. If it doesn't work on a non-Windows computer, I'll try switching up the natives!

Resources Used:

LWJGL
Slick
sfxr

View naxum's journal. | View all entries by naxum

Ratings

#230Theme3.00
#249Graphics2.71
#254Fun2.64
#271Audio2.00
#275Overall2.79
#311Coolness1%
#374Humor1.38
#415Innovation2.00

Comments

Cosine says ...
Aug 22, 2011 @ 10:25pm

Innovation: Your basic run-and jump. I liked the addition of the ability to block bullets.
Theme: While it fits the theme, there are so many games in this contest exactly like this one, and you may as well be entering for the Advancing Wall of Doom LD.
Graphics: Basic, but they work. I commend you for not using a square character.
Audio: Same as above: It works, but could be better.
Fun: Pretty frustrating to play. There were little things like disappearing platforms disappearing too quickly to actually run across, and disappearing platforms not disappearing when on a ladder, which usually ended in a swift, unfair death. I'm sure these would probably be sorted out if you had another 24 hours, or a play-testing group before release, but I'm here to judge the game you submitted.

Overall: Kinda-imaginative, kinda working, but definitely flawed. It's good as is, but tinker with different elements and I'm sure you can make a better game.

Cosine says ...
Aug 22, 2011 @ 10:29pm

I'm re-posting this to get proper spacing, so sorry for the double post. Won't happen again!


Innovation: Your basic run-and jump. I liked the addition of the ability to block bullets.

Theme: While it fits the theme, there are so many games in this contest exactly like this one, and you may as well be entering for the Advancing Wall of Doom LD.

Graphics: Basic, but they work. I commend you for not using a square character.

Audio: Same as above: It works, but could be better.

Fun: Pretty frustrating to play. There were little things like disappearing platforms disappearing too quickly to actually run across, and disappearing platforms not disappearing when on a ladder, which usually ended in a swift, unfair death. I'm sure these would probably be sorted out if you had another 24 hours, or a play-testing group before release, but I'm here to judge the game you submitted.

Overall: Kinda-imaginative, kinda working, but definitely flawed. It's good as is, but tinker with different elements and I'm sure you can make a better game.

naxum says ...
Aug 23, 2011 @ 9:19pm

I'll take that! Not too bad for my first LD critique :D

Aug 24, 2011 @ 1:13am

Fairly basic, not terribly innovative, although I must confess I'm getting sick of platformers so I may be considered biased here.

Randomly generated levels occasionally create silly inescapable scenarios.

Aug 25, 2011 @ 8:59pm

Nice and solid platformer! I also love the title. Simple. Funny. To the point.

naxum says ...
Aug 26, 2011 @ 4:57am

Thanks for the critiques guys, this was technically my first "finished" game, and the first platformer I've ever attempted, so I'm happy with mediocre. :P

summaky says ...
Aug 27, 2011 @ 5:03pm

It fells too slow to be running away :-)

Not bad.

barigorokarl says ...
Aug 29, 2011 @ 3:20pm

Nice, but hard

ratking says ...
Sep 10, 2011 @ 8:58am

I just couldn't get past one passage, where the only alley was one block high ... I got stuck (jumping didn't help) and had to die. :-(
Other than that, nice style and solid gameplay.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]