August 19th-22nd 2011 :: Theme: Escape
[ Summary | Compo Top 50 | Jam Top 50 | Top 25 Categories | View All (599) ]

Back to Browse Entries

Metal Sphere Solid

by matthias_zarzecki - 48 Hour Competition Entry

Escape the evil Cuboids with your sneaky sphere in this adventurous physics-puzzler!

You are a Sphere, taken prisoner by the evil Cuboids. Try to escape. Avoid Enemies. Avoid being seen. Be sneaky. Be stealthy. Escape!

Features:
- Asthetically interesting environment
- Atmospheric soundtrack
- Physics-based controls
- A heartwrenching story about friendship and escape!
- Highscore-system, so you keep coming back to kick more ass
- Geometry-based adversaries and allies
- Completely unrealistic glowing spheres.
- The largest amount of story I ever put in a game

Controls:
Arrow-keys - movement
WSAD - movement
M - mute sound
R - restart level

Also uploaded, in addition to web- and windows-files: A timelapse of me building it and the soundtrack.

Have Fun!

-Matthew

UPDATES

I got a review!
http://jayisgames.com/archives/2011/08/metal_sphere_solid.php

And I wrote a post-mortem. Go read.
http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2011/08/28/thoughts-on-metal-sphere-solid-a-post-mortem-if-you-will/

Another review!
http://gaming.thedigitalfix.com/content/id/283/just-browsing-ludum-dare-special.html

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#5Community4.14
#21Graphics4.16
#42Overall3.66
#54Fun3.43
#65Theme3.65
#90Audio3.11
#135Humor2.35
#182Innovation3.06

Comments

bmfs says ...
Aug 22, 2011 @ 5:41pm

Don't know if it is supposed to happen, but when I pushed the guard into the spikes it exploded and sent me out the track. Then I went around by the planet and supposedly escaped in less than a minute...

bmfs says ...
Aug 22, 2011 @ 5:41pm

Don't know if it is supposed to happen, but when I pushed the guard into the spikes it exploded and sent me out the track. Then I went around by the planet and escaped in less than a minute...

tgijsola says ...
Aug 22, 2011 @ 5:44pm

What an unexpected mashup of mechanics! Nice!

maxx says ...
Aug 23, 2011 @ 4:24am

I liked the music, but it does not loop. Things that could add: The movement is waay to smooths and it is not very clear whether you are seen or not. May be the bots could chase you if your are seen.

vintersphrost says ...
Aug 23, 2011 @ 5:37am

metal gear! where is the cardboard box? ;-)

kato9 says ...
Aug 23, 2011 @ 2:03pm

Really solid game! Good mechanics and graphics. Really enjoying the games I've played so far done in Unity.

rawbits says ...
Aug 23, 2011 @ 9:20pm

Beaten! Nice, but the originals of this type of game had better moving for the ball. Anyway it's nice. Thanks!

Winterblood says ...
Aug 23, 2011 @ 11:25pm

Really polished, but chugged a bit on my laptop, which made it a bit of a chore to finish. Dash of story really helped keep it interesting right to the end. Good job!

Andrew says ...
Aug 24, 2011 @ 8:30pm

At one point I got knocked outside the course and couldn't get back in.. had to restart it all.

wally2069 says ...
Aug 24, 2011 @ 9:20pm

Well this made me feel all nostalgic on the inside. Good mechanics borrowed and tweaked from very different games melded well into an amazing game.

jwfrosty says ...
Aug 24, 2011 @ 9:20pm

Great game! Absolutely gorgeous graphics, love the lighting. Music was nice, pity there weren't any sound effects! The controls were good but felt perhaps a little more sluggish than I'd like. I like the mashup of ball-rolling maze game and stealth action - great stuff! :)

ointment says ...
Aug 24, 2011 @ 10:08pm

The movement was too heavy for my tastes, but I guess it was fitting for an atmospheric type of game. You wouldn't really want to breeze through the environments because there's lots of eyecandy.

Your contributions to the community shouldn't be ignored either, you've written a couple of interesting blog posts and currently have the highest coolness rating on the site.

ToxicLogic says ...
Aug 25, 2011 @ 12:58am

One of the best 3D games I've seen. And the story was truly heart-wrenching! :p

Rudy says ...
Aug 25, 2011 @ 9:53am

Very nicely done. Camera angles are a little too short and narrow at times. The combination of mechanics is innovative, but the basic concept (escape maze, roll ball) isn't. The controls are surprisingly smooth. The atmosphere/visuals is indeed great, even the short story.

heck says ...
Aug 25, 2011 @ 2:17pm

Cool game! Graphics and music is nice too. No sfx yet, but it's understandable.
What I didn't like was the ball movement is too heavy. It feels less responsive, perhaps add more pushing force?
The visuals is unclear too sometimes. It's hard to see the guard's viewing frustum or to tell that the alarm had gone off. You can surely fix this given more time.
And you have rated more than 100 games, already?! Kudos to you!

K1NET1K says ...
Aug 26, 2011 @ 10:32pm

what a clean and 'solid' entry. i absolutely loved the lighting and shiny surfaces.

bach says ...
Aug 27, 2011 @ 4:53am

Great little title :) This would be perfect on a mobile device..

KavuDX says ...
Aug 27, 2011 @ 7:29pm

I got sent out of track too...

Spoonweaver says ...
Aug 28, 2011 @ 7:17pm

meh.. it's kind of lame.
If you look past the physics, there's very little game left and since the physics were most likely just a precoded affair this game has very little to offer.

tcstyle says ...
Aug 30, 2011 @ 8:14pm

Happy End.
I would have like a more zoomed out view. Aside from that, a great game.

PaulSB says ...
Sep 5, 2011 @ 12:51pm

Fantastic little game. Looks gorgeous, controls as well as I'd expect a ball to control, nice little bit of level design, cute ending. Great job!

angrygeometry says ...
Sep 6, 2011 @ 4:53pm

outstanding, considering the timeframe especially. really enjoyed it, looks slick as anything. also did you really rate all 598 games? yikes on a trike! double props!

James Paige says ...
Sep 10, 2011 @ 7:16pm

Incrediball?

Sep 10, 2011 @ 7:57pm

^^

"Incrediball" was my first choice of name. Unfortunately, there already is an incrediball-game.

Codexus says ...
Sep 11, 2011 @ 10:19am

A very well polished game. The stealth element didn't matter such much as the avoiding the obstacles but still it was a nice touch. I like it.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]