August 19th-22nd 2011 :: Theme: Escape
[ Summary | Compo Top 50 | Jam Top 50 | Top 25 Categories | View All (599) ]

Back to Browse Entries

Spaceship Crash

by Wirtualnosc - 48 Hour Competition Entry

You have to escape from the blowing spaceship.
Hadn't really time to finish this properly, and I didn't want to include it as Jam entry, so... Hey, at least it works! ;)
Arrow keys - movement
Z/Shift/Space - jump
Z/Shift/Space/Enter - make selection (in main menu)
X/Escape - cancel selection (in main menu)

You can resize the window to get bigger screen.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#112Community3.10
#246Coolness2%
#251Audio2.15
#284Graphics2.57
#366Overall2.50
#378Theme2.43
#389Humor1.33
#425Fun1.93
#456Innovation1.79

Comments

bach says ...
Aug 23, 2011 @ 7:53am

Fun little platformer :)

Controls are a bit frustrating at times.. And some music would have definitely added to the atmosphere!

Aug 23, 2011 @ 3:59pm

Quite interesting. The not-insta-death-spikes however don't work quite.

Tommislav says ...
Aug 23, 2011 @ 9:38pm

First try was on normal, which was just insane (developer difficulty ;). Some variation would have made the game a lot more interesting.

PsySal says ...
Aug 24, 2011 @ 3:51am

Grr! I really wanted to keep playing this, but was in the end just too frustrated by the difficulty of the jumps. There seems to be a slight input lag, or something, so lots of times I felt like I pressed "jump" while still standing on the ground, but fell down anyhow. :(

I played it a few times with the falling blocks but it was just way too hard-- without them (on "Very Easy") it's much more manageable. I think I made it until about the 6th room or so! Good job, just wish the jumping was a bit more forgiving (maybe code in an "air step" where you can still jump even after a frame or two off the edge of a block.) Level design seems quite solid, too!

vipah says ...
Aug 24, 2011 @ 3:56am

Falling blocks a little too random and difficult to avoid by anything but sheer luck. Overall good job however.

Rudy says ...
Aug 26, 2011 @ 10:36am

Nice little platformer. Controls feel strange... I guess I expected to jump higher. Exactly the same but shaded tiles for background as foreground is not a very good idea. I like that there's no insta-death, but then again getting more health means less and less danger.

ExciteMike says ...
Aug 28, 2011 @ 10:24pm

Played on easy. You move so slow and the blocks fall so fast that it feels just random whether you are going to get hit :/ Too frustrating to go back and try again after failing to escape the first time.

mpc174 says ...
Aug 28, 2011 @ 10:50pm

Difficulty ramped up quickly. The falling bricks (set at normal) tended to be unavoidable and punishing. Nice little platformer.

Andrew says ...
Aug 29, 2011 @ 7:41am

There was no warning where blocks would fall and they fell too fast to be avoidable, and this was on normal. The difficulty of the jumps was a bit high as well but nothing outrageous :)

summaky says ...
Sep 4, 2011 @ 11:37am

Umph, some jumps are very frustrating... I also got bored in some rooms that I had to jump back and forth for keys. Some atmospheric music would help.

Jedi says ...
Sep 12, 2011 @ 10:34pm

It's a fun platformer but the jumps are too exacting and I found it unplayable on easy and above; your guy moves too slow and those blocks fall too fast.

It needed music. It should've started with the screen size at least doubled, if not tripled.

I beat the whole game without realizing it was a spaceship ;). Nice entry overall.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]