August 19th-22nd 2011 :: Theme: Escape
[ Summary | Compo Top 50 | Jam Top 50 | Top 25 Categories | View All (599) ]

Back to Browse Entries

Mindbane

by LegacyCrono - 48 Hour Competition Entry

Mindbane is a 2D action platform game. Manipulate physics and try to escape from the dangerous mind maze.
Developed with GameMaker Standard 8.1.

A post mortem is available here:
http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2011/08/25/mindbane-post-mortem/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#10Overall4.00
#14Fun3.77
#16Audio3.93
#38Coolness12%
#58Theme3.68
#61Community3.35
#96Innovation3.48
#109Graphics3.39
#198Humor2.07

Comments

Aug 22, 2011 @ 5:09pm

Wonderfully creative, with a great plot. The spriting was largely good (characters, mostly--the terrain was flat but did the trick for the time limit). Massive points for innovation.

stoz says ...
Aug 22, 2011 @ 8:18pm

I really like the concept, though the difficulty is extremely high right up front.

jplur says ...
Aug 23, 2011 @ 12:20am

Great intros and cutscenes, from the characters down to the text effects and timing. For a platformer, it had a lot of immersion!

Zed says ...
Aug 23, 2011 @ 12:32am

This is a ridiculously high quality game for 48 hours.

Redbone says ...
Aug 23, 2011 @ 12:55am

Pretty darn good for 48 hours.

ToxicLogic says ...
Aug 23, 2011 @ 5:28am

This game is epic! I was hooked from the very beginning, so didn't give up when it ended up being rather challenging. Play through to the end, everyone - it's worth it!

JohanAR says ...
Aug 23, 2011 @ 6:58am

Well written platformer! The intro level combined with the ghosts really works to convey the feeling that you're trapped somwhere you don't belong (which implies that you want to escape :D)

Jigxor says ...
Aug 23, 2011 @ 7:19am

Great game! It was really really hard, but I persevered and finished it. Having instant-respawn was what made it easy to keep playing, despite the challenges. Good decision!

The platform mechanic had quite a lot of depth with all the controls in the end. Nice level design too.

jonnopon3000 says ...
Aug 24, 2011 @ 1:17pm

I absolutely loved this game :D
The gameplay is very different - being able to float and hover is nothing new, but integrating a conditional double jump and "ability bar" was a nice touch. Well done. Probably the best game I've played yet...probably :P

Andrew says ...
Aug 24, 2011 @ 1:30pm

Amazing music, definitely one of the better soundtracks, the hover controls proved interesting, I got stuck somewhere but that's mostly my fault as I've never been great at dodging while falling.

Rudy says ...
Aug 24, 2011 @ 1:33pm

Good platformer idea, but too frustratingly hard.

ointment says ...
Aug 24, 2011 @ 2:09pm

A solid game with a neat mechanic.

I didn't think it was particularly hard. The only thing that caused frustration was the way you keep moving left or right while jumping, even after you let go of the key.

Shigor says ...
Aug 24, 2011 @ 3:21pm

Damn, I just don't have reflexes for this, or i'm doing something wrong, because I just can't get over the part where I'm supposed to use hovering to fall down and don't hit the spikes directly under the platform. It really annoys me, because I'd love to play more (music got me hooked :)

jonbro says ...
Aug 24, 2011 @ 6:24pm

holy crap, what a game.

Super punishing, but a really nice progression of difficulty as well. I liked / hated the blind jumps at the end.

The only two quibbles I have were the hitbox seemed about 3 pixels too big (that may have just been the difficulty though) and I couldn't figure out the difference between the down and up keys.

Sos says ...
Aug 24, 2011 @ 8:05pm

Awesome! I loved the cutscenes!

TellusE says ...
Aug 24, 2011 @ 10:37pm

Shrugging off the last vestiges of my testosterone I have to admit that I was almost teary-eyed when reading the various comments and the music kept reminding me of my best times at LAN parties during the late nineties.

In 48 hours you've managed to compile the struggle of so many desperate existences through clear graphical silhouettes, trance-inducing music and hauntingly telling platforming mechanics.

All that does sound lofty, but sir: I tip my hat to you.

8bitmuse says ...
Aug 25, 2011 @ 6:04am

Very nice, the pixel art looks great. I enjoyed playing around with the different mechanics, it was refreshing to see a spin put on something so ubiquitous as jumping. One small critique would be perhaps to lower the difficulty but I understand that that could have been an aesthetic choice. Overall a great game!

ratking says ...
Aug 25, 2011 @ 8:57am

Really, this is better than VVVVVV!

Folis says ...
Aug 25, 2011 @ 10:14am

This is one great game, with lots of atmosphere! You managed to make me play it three times: 60%, 100% and 0%, and normally I am not a big fan of platformers ;)

TurboDindon says ...
Aug 25, 2011 @ 10:50am

woah great gameplay ! :) hovering/floating/double jumping mechanics fit very well with each others, they provide a lot of control and skills to the player movements... nice !

recursor says ...
Aug 25, 2011 @ 8:59pm

Where are the cheat codes? Seriously though this game is pretty hard. I managed to get the 'bad' ending but that was as far as I got. Even with the difficulty level I enjoyed it. Nicely done.

wally2069 says ...
Aug 27, 2011 @ 2:16am

Awesome game. You may want to reduce the difficultly on future version though. Overall great work. Good checkpoints too.

Aug 27, 2011 @ 10:01am

The funny thing is, since it's a game, it makes perfect sense :-).

The intro is also quite great. Funny. To the point. Doesn't sacrifice playability.

Kayamon says ...
Aug 27, 2011 @ 11:12am

I gave up once I got to the invisible platforms, too damn bastard hard :-)

But well done though, this game rocked!

Six says ...
Aug 30, 2011 @ 9:30am

Very solid, though the sides of the hitting the spikes was perhaps a little too unforgiving. Good distribution of checkpoints though, those are what tend to make a damn hard platformer playable. Also nice job working in the interesting jumping mechanics while still keeping the controls easy and intuitive. I have to say as soon as I beat it and saw the 'Bad End' along with the 'x / 5' I jumped right back in as I knew exactly what I had missed (which is rare with bad vs good ends).

Only real complaints would be the spikes hitbox, maybe a want for a bit more variation in the tiles and a few spelling/grammar problems in the dialogue. Nice work.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]