August 19th-22nd 2011 :: Theme: Escape
[ Summary | Compo Top 50 | Jam Top 50 | Top 25 Categories | View All (599) ]

Back to Browse Entries

Moustache Chick

by joekinley - 48 Hour Competition Entry

Moustache chick is on her hunt of the mighty lady shaver. But somehow she got stuck in the mighty lava caverns of death.
Better help her to escape the ever filling lava floors and come out alive.

PS: Press P for getting some health as a cheat, if the game gets too hard

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#49Audio3.46
#98Community3.15
#116Humor2.50
#229Graphics2.81
#246Coolness2%
#280Theme2.85
#299Overall2.73
#310Innovation2.50
#391Fun2.12

Comments

Trancelucid says ...
Aug 23, 2011 @ 5:25am

I found the controls rather dodgy, but otherwise the game is neat. I really like the tune.

thristhart says ...
Aug 23, 2011 @ 3:17pm

Collision was weird too, there were several points where I was like "Oh there was NO way that lava should have hit me!" I really like your lava fill mechanic though.

Beerman says ...
Aug 23, 2011 @ 5:53pm

Controls felt *really* twitchy. Liked the little 'whee' when you jump :)

Aug 23, 2011 @ 8:51pm

The mechanics were pretty interesting, but oh gah, arrrrg, the controls, OW!

Jedi says ...
Aug 24, 2011 @ 7:24am

The music is AWESOME! The game looks really nice, too.

As everyone else has said, the controls hurt it. There's a real sense of, "I KNOW I jumped early enough and held jump down, why doesn't she make it!?"

If the platforms weren't at such exacting heights, it would be OK. There also seems to be many times when you require the player to jump on a block directly above the one she's standing on. Trying to execute that little maneuver killed the fun more than anything else for me.

Partly because it's frustratingly difficult but I think I also felt what you were requiring of me was unreasonable. I.e. moving in midair gives you more control in a game but it's just one of those aberrations from reality that make it fun. REQUIRING me to change direction midair, however, takes me out of the "reality," of the game and just makes it silly.

Rage-quitting aside, still a solid entry!

mlb says ...
Aug 24, 2011 @ 5:01pm

Refine the jump controls und the collision boxes and you have a great game there! :)

alexlarioza says ...
Aug 24, 2011 @ 10:43pm

While I love difficult platformers, I found a few of the jumps quite harsh. Not to mention the unpredictable lava things with their seemingly large hit boxes. Nonetheless, I loved the music and art style!

pekuja says ...
Aug 25, 2011 @ 7:03am

Well, there's a bunch of things that could be fixed to make this game better, like more predictable lava, more forgiving hitboxes, more realistic gravity for jumping. Also the "hit [a] for whip" thing confused me. I guess that doesn't work until later levels, which I never reached. I felt like hitting the lava was unavoidable a lot of the time due to the large hitboxes and the unpredictability of the lava. Also it would be nice if I could continue from the level I got to after dying. Having to play through the whole game again is way too severe a punishment for the player. Still, not a bad entry, but it could use some extra work.

Aug 27, 2011 @ 2:51pm

The premise and title are quite brilliant.

Shigor says ...
Aug 28, 2011 @ 10:57am

Another platformer which is just killed by the difficulty combined with clunky controls. Sometimes crazy jumping combined with strange collision with lava, which hits you even if you're sure it won't... In second level only way I found to get up was to have a collision with falling lava and jump from it ... Thank you for the cheat, but even with it just wasn't able to get over the vertical climbing in level three I think (I really wanted to see the whip).
Excellent music, nice graphics (and quite funny backstory / character)

angrygeometry says ...
Aug 28, 2011 @ 11:36pm

i am terrible at platformers. still, this was fun, if a little frustrating. the collision detection was a little strange but the music was cool and if i had, i dunno, BETTER GAMING SKILLS i'd probably have enjoyed it more. the lava was really nice though.

Six says ...
Aug 30, 2011 @ 8:52am

Most of it has already been said here, but I'd like the reiterate some stuff. The platforming physics could definitely be a lot better, along with the controls. The dripping, sliding and solidifying lava is a neat mechanic, but like pekuja said, the randomness makes it too, well, random. It would be nice for the lava to be deterministic, so that you can know if you stand in a certain spot you will be safe (for a while) and just have to time you next move right.

Pierrec says ...
Aug 31, 2011 @ 5:59pm

The falling mud is a great idea, but the controls are a bit akward

Sep 5, 2011 @ 8:02pm

Decent graphics, good sound, but the engine was bad. Allow resuming at a level with a score detriment or fix the bounding boxes, because I don't find it at all fun trying to get up that skinny level with all the falling lava when I keep hitting my head on my way out, then end up trapped on the left where all the falling lava hurts you. I entered that level with 14 health the third time, and watched it all drain as lava I was in no way contacting (and was in fact, supposed to be safe from) hurt me.

Sos says ...
Sep 9, 2011 @ 8:31am

That was fun :) I'm waiting for the post-compo version!

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]