August 19th-22nd 2011 :: Theme: Escape
[ Summary | Compo Top 50 | Jam Top 50 | Top 25 Categories | View All (599) ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Man Who Sold The World

by krangGAMES - 48 Hour Competition Entry

The Man Who Sold The World

A bit of a less-literal, more metaphorical interpretation of the theme. Help define the destiny of humanity...



At first I didn't think music was gonna make it, but then I managed to make sure the audio content was implemented bug-free with the extra 12 hours - you guys rock!

>> Disclaimer (Aug 23rd) - I did not use the extra 12 hours to generate new content or update existing content. I simply ensured the music was working as I didn't have time to test it beforehand. Rate this infringement as you will, but I kindly ask that if you demerit the game for it, please only discount the "Audio" rating, as the rest of the game was complete at submission time. <<





File is 8.8mb, may take awhile to load - there's no preloader, but I assure you - it IS loading! ^_^

Game built in Adobe Flash CS5.5 using AS3, Flash Professional IDE.

Character art and animations built in Adobe Photoshop CS5.

Audio constructed in Sony ACID Music Studio 8.0.

Any questions, contact me here or at nick@kranggames.com

Enjoy <3





I used the following external libraries and reference materials:

AS3 CASA Lib
http://casalib.org/

Troy Gilbert's Pixel-Perfect Collision Detection Class
http://troygilbert.com/2007/06/pixel-perfect-collision-detection-in-actionscript3/

Reference Picture of Cessna 208 (3-View)
http://www.aviastar.org/air/usa/cessna_208.php

Reference for Running Animation, 8-Frame Run Cycle by Indigo
http://z3.invisionfree.com/TeejCreations/ar/t99.htm

Reference for Climbing Animation (Crono from Chrono Trigger)
http://www.spriters-resource.com/snes/chronotrigger/crono.png

Reference for Swimming Animation
http://www.virtual-swim.com/3d_mv/top_btn/free/2006wc_200/2006wc_200_q.html

AS3 Sound Manager v1.4
http://evolve.reintroducing.com/2011/01/06/as3/as3-soundmanager-v1-4/

TweenMax by GreenSock
http://www.greensock.com/tweenmax/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#22Audio3.81
#81Overall3.42
#117Graphics3.34
#122Community3.00
#176Fun2.89
#183Coolness3%
#302Innovation2.53
#347Theme2.59
#349Humor1.48

Comments

Aug 22, 2011 @ 4:07pm

At the end I didn't make a choice, was that making a choice?

The character animation and art was well done, found myself wishing I could interact with the environment a tiny bit more, at least with some of the NPCs.

Solid results.

maxx says ...
Aug 22, 2011 @ 4:13pm

Awesome game! though not very related to the theme in my opinion. The game was very engaging and the music was pretty good. Congratulations, very good job!

dsv101 says ...
Aug 22, 2011 @ 8:22pm

I followed you through this build and i tell you what, this is just wonderful. None of the music gets annoying. However, some of the jumping does. But hey, great game :)

Devenger says ...
Aug 22, 2011 @ 8:26pm

You weren't meant to use the 12 hour extension to improve your game. I'm unsure how to rate this, given your claimed infringement. Perhaps you should change it to a Jam entry...

That aside, the game was quite lovely. Interesting to play a game of practically zero risk or challenge for a change. The environments, and moving across them, did have a beauty to it. On the other hand, I don't find the game's theme and choices resonate with me; I feel humanity is more than what can be boiled down to a single adjective, unless perhaps that adjective is 'varied'...

TaslemGuy says ...
Aug 22, 2011 @ 9:28pm

Very impressive game. Amazing animations, pretty graphics, and a thought-provoking story! Excellent!

BlackBulletIV says ...
Aug 23, 2011 @ 12:51am

Very nice game. The story line is interesting, the music is nice, especially the stuff that plays outside earth, and the platforming can be interesting as well.

I'm not quite sure how it relates escaping. Is it that there's no escape for the human race?

Also, how do you choose wisdom in the final stage?

Aug 23, 2011 @ 1:19am

Very nice! I like the little intro. "Go to Earth to find Love!"

Don't have to tell me twice. X)

Zed says ...
Aug 23, 2011 @ 2:06am

Very, very, VERY pretty. Atmospheric and lovely. Didn't see much 'challenge', but it was a nice experience.

Shigor says ...
Aug 23, 2011 @ 11:58am

Not going to rate it because of the 12 hours supposed to be safeguard against problems with upload, not for finishing the game (especially as music is one of the biggest +) - you should change this to jam entry.

But although the gameplay is very simple platformer you managed to make something interesting and captivating - story and music made it one of the best entries I've yet seen. But I kinda don't see the theme in here much.

LegacyCrono says ...
Aug 23, 2011 @ 5:12pm

Great atmosphere, the storytelling was really nice and the music was very good! It somewhat lacked on gameplay though. Some challenge would really improve the experience...

Gornova says ...
Aug 23, 2011 @ 7:39pm

I like it bur don't match the theme for me :(

refrag says ...
Aug 23, 2011 @ 10:50pm

Great work :) Loved the story. Loved the atmosphere. Controls were tight and the level design was good.

Cirrial says ...
Aug 24, 2011 @ 6:47pm

Very nice! Controls are excellent, music really adds, gameplay was simple but enjoyable with some solid platformer level design, and I find very little here to take fault with. The length of the game is about perfect. An amazing entry.

ExciteMike says ...
Aug 25, 2011 @ 12:59am

I liked the music! It could definitely have used something more going on gameplay-wise, since it is about as basic as a platformer gets, but that didn't stop it from being entertaining.

Petzi says ...
Aug 25, 2011 @ 1:24am

It's a pleasant and calming experience, but I think it relies too much on the story and not enough on the game-play. It's not very challenging, and it's very very linear. It's not really a good idea to make a game that revolves around a story for a 48-hour game, since games usually need to be short, so there's no room/time to elaborate. The graphics and the music were really pleasant, though. And you did manage to keep me playing through the whole thing, so good job. I think you should have made use of those nice platforming mechanics, though.

wally2069 says ...
Aug 25, 2011 @ 2:21am

Well that left me confused. I did knock down an audio point for the deadline editing, but honesty prevented it from being a flat out one.

The music and story carried the entire game. Good luck.

KevinWorkman says ...
Aug 25, 2011 @ 2:45am

I'd like to rate this, but I feel like I shouldn't after reading that you cheated with the 12 hour extension. That's a shame.

Rudy says ...
Aug 26, 2011 @ 3:25pm

Art is nice, if too simple. Animations are lively. Controls are tight. Music is great, but will do N/A. Some background is not immediately obvious it is background and not light-shaded foreground (even though all solid is black, brain wants to believe otherwise). Levels are a little too long, and some interactable objects would set the mood better.

Tom 7 says ...
Aug 27, 2011 @ 8:43pm

A familiar game mechanic but nice graphical style and lovely music, especially in the Arcology!

Tulrath says ...
Aug 30, 2011 @ 2:27am

I liked how additional gameplay mechanics were introduced (climbing), but would have liked to have seen more added on as you go. Music and story were nice.

ippa says ...
Aug 31, 2011 @ 1:43pm

Amazing ambient game. Music added a lot. Nice pixely animations.

The story engaged me, I wanted to see how it ended.

I think I picked the wrong color in the end though, I was going for love cause I thought it was the "right" answer to save the earth.. but I think I picked spirit :).

Are there different endings?

Chaoslab says ...
Sep 5, 2011 @ 10:38pm

Well rounded work. Enjoyed the aesthetic and music. Simple but effective game. :-)

tcstyle says ...
Sep 8, 2011 @ 6:39pm

Great atmosphere and soundtrack. The running around was tedious sometimes. I liked the end, so it was worth it.

marudziik says ...
Sep 8, 2011 @ 11:32pm

Fantastic work for a 48 hour entry. I absolutely love the music. I'd definitely would like to see more features, but only because I can't get enough of it, it's not like the game's lacking anything. Awesome.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]