August 19th-22nd 2011 :: Theme: Escape
[ Summary | Compo Top 50 | Jam Top 50 | Top 25 Categories | View All (599) ]

Back to Browse Entries

Beam Runner

by Geti - Jam Entry

Moved to jam because it's been updated kinda heavily content wise and I'd rather you look at that than what I had <24 hours ago.

Still no sound, hahah.

Made a lot of tweaks to the editor and UI in general. An about page might be nice later I guess.

Tutorial still isn't a tutorial, I got sidetracked making the editor more bearable and including instructions in-game because everyone ignores readmes. I'll add some instructions to the tutorial later on if I get time for some postcompo work.

Again:

Arrows To Move.
Down To Use Keys.

--------------- ORIGINAL NOTES ----------------

Going to call it a night. There isn't a level progression there as I've run out of time, but I'm pleased with what is there.

Arrows To Move.
Down To Use Keys.

ReadMe for everything else ;)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#8Fun(Jam)3.56
#11Graphics(Jam)4.13
#12Overall(Jam)3.53
#26Theme(Jam)3.28
#37Innovation(Jam)2.63
#37Humor(Jam)2.15
#60Audio(Jam)1.27
#196Community2.72
#311Coolness1%

Comments

VDOgamez says ...
Aug 21, 2011 @ 8:59pm

It's kind of fun, a neat concept, although the level design needs a bit of work (and obviously longer). I can skip most of the level sometimes by just jumping over stuff. Also, for some reason the new game button only plays the first three levels and the play button plays the next three. I was almost ready to quit before I tried the play button. Also, there are some major bugs when you load an invalid level (you get stuck and have to refresh) and a minor one when you open a door that a laser has already hit above (it doesn't extend). I also don't see the point of collectibles. Still, quite nice, and I like the style.

Aug 22, 2011 @ 5:18am

Yeah, I was sad at the length, but the engine is solid (which is more than I can say for what I scraped together) and the graphics are eye-catching. VDO and I seem to share an idea of what looks interesting.

ointment says ...
Aug 22, 2011 @ 8:52am

These are the kinds of games LD is about. Short but sweet. I could play like 50 levels of this, so I'm glad there's a level editor.

Geti says ...
Aug 22, 2011 @ 3:29pm

@Everyone: updated with content and a less shitty editor, haha. Cheers for the feedback.

VDO: the collectibles give you points.

ointment says ...
Aug 22, 2011 @ 3:34pm

Feels polished, an addictive execution of a straightforward concept. The level editor is a big plus since the game is so short.

battlecommand says ...
Aug 22, 2011 @ 6:48pm

very nice concept! love the feeling and graphics. sadly no sound!

offwhitefox says ...
Aug 23, 2011 @ 2:42am

Cool game, though it's pretty conventional. Also, pretty tiny :(

Spaceoff says ...
Aug 23, 2011 @ 5:30pm

Fun game and a very awesome graphic style that I can't get enough of. Decent gameplay, short but the editor makes up for it. Only criticism I can think of is perhaps the lack of any sort of reward for progression or score; levels are not played in a linear fashion and there's no ending (at least not that I encountered). Overall, all the flaws are made up for with the graphical style and smooth enough gameplay.

8bitmuse says ...
Aug 23, 2011 @ 8:31pm

I fell in love with your pixel art, just amazing (oddly reminded me of the nes castlevania). And the animation was very well done. I can see where you were heading with it and although it wasn't finished it was going in a solid direction. Only critiques would be that it was difficult for me to see a sense of continuity between the screens. Oftentimes it would feel disorienting to have the game cut from one screen to the next without any sense or what your goal or direction was. Beyond that I love it :D

RichMakeGame says ...
Aug 23, 2011 @ 9:37pm

on of the best art styles in the compo.. really friggin cool to look at. My only gripe is sometimes telling the difference in a hurry between mines and switches is tricky (and you really don't want to make that mistake!). I'd have made switches bright green or something

mikolalysenko says ...
Aug 24, 2011 @ 5:29am

I like the beams that come down, especially as they blow stuff up. Nice touch!

Angrycrow says ...
Aug 24, 2011 @ 9:58am

Real strong visual feedback. Made up for no audio i think.

Aug 24, 2011 @ 11:54pm

Nice one. I like the good-looking, consistent retro graphics, and the controls feel really nice and precise.

Zaron says ...
Aug 25, 2011 @ 8:41am

Fun. c: Fast-paced and an editor is a really nice touch given the time-frame. No real complaints here.

CrazyMLC says ...
Aug 25, 2011 @ 12:07pm

I love the graphics and the gameplay. There's so much you can do, dropping mines, destroying terminals with mines, etc. It's great, and I'd love to see some complex maps.

My only complaint would be the lack of music/sound effects, mainly because I'm a sucker for audio.

DrPetter says ...
Aug 26, 2011 @ 12:46pm

Daah! I made two levels and lost them both due to getting confused about the current editor state and hitting Q to go back to the menu. There should definitely be a confirm question there, or ideally store the edited level in memory so you can go back and edit it again from the menu. Not sure if the data string would paste well into a web page though, with that whitespace.

Very charming game though. I could easily sit around and make 20 levels if I trusted myself not to erase them before they were done. The editor could also benefit from better tile selection. Maybe hitting space to bring up a grid of all tiles so you can quickly click to select one.

Andrew says ...
Aug 29, 2011 @ 7:47am

The graphics are good, the gameplay is solid, and there's plenty of room to expand.

Chaoslab says ...
Aug 29, 2011 @ 1:49pm

Fun little game :-)

wonderwhy-er says ...
Aug 30, 2011 @ 1:47pm

Stylish graphics, kind of fun, and yeah, so short that leaves you wanting more :) A good sign :)

Rudy says ...
Aug 31, 2011 @ 8:50am

Nicely done. It could have a be a bit bigger/scaled size. Some clever level design as well. Art is cute, though some background would be nice.

uuav says ...
Sep 3, 2011 @ 9:16am

awesome tiny game, great gameplay, awesome tiny graphics, it really lacks of music to add tension in the game! great times playing this one

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]