About | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post
Construction1990’s Internet Montage? No!
Please excuse the site weirdness. Mike is fixing and making things.
Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014!

  • ??? Begins: in 8 days, 22 hours, 19 minutes, 24 seconds
  • October Ends: in 9 days, 22 hours, 31 minutes, 24 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 44 days, 23 hours, 19 minutes, 24 seconds
  • (FYI: Clock might be off) | Ludum Dare 31: Real World Gatherings (Now Open!)

    [ October Challenge 2014 | Resources | Submit/Edit | View All ]


    Ludum Dare 21

    August 19th-22nd 2011 :: Theme: Escape
    [ Summary | Compo Top 50 | Jam Top 50 | Top 25 Categories | View All (599) ]

    Back to Browse Entries

    Escape Cod - Tom 7 - 48 Hour Competition Entry

    Game made from scratch in 48h for Ludum Dare 21. All legit.

    This was a weird theme for me since I've been working on a game (off and on) for about 13 years called "Escape". You can play it at http://escape.spacebar.org/ but that is NOT the Ludum Dare entry. I wish. This game is called "Escape Cod" and it's kind of like recursive fish pinball.

    Play with the arrow keys and spacebar (you may need to click in the window first):

    http://escapecod.spacebar.org/compo.shtml

    Features and benefits:
    - Pleasant pastel title screen
    - Frantic pun-based gameplay
    - Sleeping with the starfishes
    - Three ultra-new tunes, one eponymous, with lyrics
    - Almost believable physics using real-style maths

    Win screen unspoilered by screenshots.

    Soundtrack: http://escapecod.spacebar.org/escape-cod.zip
    Timelapse w/cam: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ic_VnAkxCmc

    View Tom 7's journal. | View all entries by Tom 7

    Ratings

    Audio4.37
    #7Theme4.22
    #20Innovation4.06
    #24Humor3.48
    #28Overall3.75
    #36Graphics4.00
    #78Fun3.28
    #145Community2.94
    #246Coolness2%

    Comments

    DecsterB says ...
    Aug 22, 2011 @ 4:15am

    Just thought I'd say I really liked your game. Recursive fish pinball is a brilliant idea.

    madflame991 says ...
    Aug 22, 2011 @ 6:31am

    Nice song :)) and a very nice idea, but getting the ball out is terribly frustrating. It sticks to walls like it's made out of glue

    thevtm says ...
    Aug 22, 2011 @ 6:13pm

    I really liked it!!
    Brilliant idea!!

    Andrew says ...
    Aug 22, 2011 @ 6:59pm

    Getting the ball out is a bit random, I was struggling with the controls a bit. But the idea is great.

    tgijsola says ...
    Aug 23, 2011 @ 12:16am

    Your intro music touched my heart. Inappropriately.

    dramble says ...
    Aug 23, 2011 @ 1:55am

    The most fun I've had with a game where I play vomit!
    The purple spiralish fish were a bit unfair but a fine game overall.

    mes says ...
    Aug 23, 2011 @ 11:18am

    cool and wacky concept! a few of the fish were really frustrating, especially the yellow one, and the controls felt somewhat random.

    Aug 23, 2011 @ 5:27pm

    Good art, good music, interesting and unique gameplay too. I enjoyed this quite a bit.

    NiallM says ...
    Aug 23, 2011 @ 7:12pm

    This is a lovely wee game. The controls were a bit finicky, but I loved the idea, and the visuals and the music.

    thristhart says ...
    Aug 24, 2011 @ 4:19am

    I didn't feel like I really had much impact on whether I got out of the fish or not. I knew action was required, but it was basically "wait for fish to turn properly"

    Bloodyaugust says ...
    Aug 24, 2011 @ 6:21am

    I loved the music!!!

    RichMakeGame says ...
    Aug 25, 2011 @ 12:13am

    great concept, a little frustrating to play (i just wanted to reach into the screen and strangle the damn fish as it swims the wrong way).. great music. Overall despite the frustration very enjoyable to beat

    James Paige says ...
    Aug 25, 2011 @ 2:04am

    This is the best recursive fish pinball game I have ever played. I wished for a less random game mechanic, and I hated that damn purple angler, but I enjoyed this very much anyway. Loved the theme song!

    summaky says ...
    Aug 27, 2011 @ 8:28am

    Odd. At first I had to do nothing to escape, the ball would fall off due to gravity. In the cases I had to do anything, it was way harder than it looked :-)

    The music is awesome! And so is the general idea.

    Falleco says ...
    Aug 27, 2011 @ 9:19pm

    A really nice game @_@ amazing music!

    foobaz says ...
    Aug 28, 2011 @ 2:46am

    Great idea and great game. Although, I also felt like I didn't have enough control and had to hope and wait. Unless there was some way to influence the fish's direction by bumping in to the walls in some specific way that I haven't found (I finished it twice).

    Still overall very enjoyable.

    dogbomb says ...
    Aug 28, 2011 @ 5:23pm

    I've expressed much MUCH love for your games. I think it's your intro screens... I fall in love with them. I actually want to commission you to write me a song - they're THAT awesome.

    The game itself was fun as hell too. I liked the fish-eating-fish-increasing-levels thing, although I didn't QUITE get to grips with how I was exactly controlling what was going on... it was all a bit trial and error.

    Fantastic stuff though. You certainly know how to pack your games full of charm.

    Orz says ...
    Aug 28, 2011 @ 6:03pm

    Extremely twisted. This was one of my favorite games in the compo, by the way.

    LegacyCrono says ...
    Aug 29, 2011 @ 5:07am

    Confusing controls, but the concept was neat. Really polished. Also, fabulous intro song. :D Great job.

    Aug 29, 2011 @ 8:46am

    Neat idea! I love the spore-vibe.

    Shigor says ...
    Aug 30, 2011 @ 9:20pm

    Excellent audio and good use for theme, quite innovative ideas, but gameplay-wise it was kinda boring - I often escaped right from the start, on the other hand sometimes I've spent a lot inside the fish before I managed to get out, usually with more luck then skill. With some changes in controls and gameplay so it would be more enganging it could be very nice game.

    Rudy says ...
    Aug 31, 2011 @ 6:03pm

    Great idea and good take on the theme, but gameplay is too random and unbalanced. I end up smashing keys with no real effect on one fish and then roll out on my own on other. Art is cool music is cool (if a little non-underwatery)

    tcstyle says ...
    Aug 31, 2011 @ 7:54pm

    Great idea and soundtrack. but the controls are to fiddly.

    wally2069 says ...
    Aug 31, 2011 @ 11:39pm

    The fishes movements were pretty random and made it escaping more a matter of luck than skill. Also several times I was almost out only to have three fish rush up and eat the one I was in. Excellent concept and I think recursive fish pinball is pretty accurate.

    Martoon says ...
    Sep 9, 2011 @ 6:15pm

    This is my favorite LD 21 entry so far. I'd don't know if I'd say it's THE best recursive fish pinball game I've played (unlike James Paige), but it definitely ranks in the top three.

    I had a hard time making myself click past the intro screen to start playing. Once I did, I thought the concept was brilliant. I really hope you work on this a bit more to make the actual gameplay controls a little more playable (maybe have the player control the fish instead of the ball, having to simultaneously avoid the other fish and rotate to get the ball out?).

    I could see this game catching on as an internet meme.

    You must sign in to comment.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]