August 19th-22nd 2011 :: Theme: Escape
[ Summary | Compo Top 50 | Jam Top 50 | Top 25 Categories | View All (599) ]

Back to Browse Entries

Save the Miner!

by AClockWorkLemon - 48 Hour Competition Entry

Well, got there in the end. Spent more time working on the cave generation/lighting system than the actual gameplay, and you can tell. Was originally going to include some sfx, but i really dont have time to now :(
Ah well.

Anyway, take a look, and give a rating/comment! Hope you like it! :D

EDIT:
For those who are interested, the base algoritm for the lighting system is Recursive Shadowcasting. I ported the code at http://roguebasin.roguelikedevelopment.org/index.php/PythonShadowcastingImplementation to AS3. the fading and so on i added myself, check the source code if you are interested :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#131Graphics3.26
#222Community2.62
#225Overall2.93
#233Innovation2.81
#251Humor1.85
#275Fun2.56
#312Theme2.74
#345Audio1.20
#418Coolness0%

Comments

thevtm says ...
Aug 21, 2011 @ 6:41pm

Very nice!! As soon as I finish mine I'll see your source!! Always wondered how the light system works. :D

Aug 21, 2011 @ 10:42pm

Haha, thanks :)
The lighting system is based on this Python shadowcasting algorithm, which i then ported to AS3 and added the fading, etc.
http://roguebasin.roguelikedevelopment.org/index.php/PythonShadowcastingImplementation

I hope the source is helpful :)

dramble says ...
Aug 22, 2011 @ 5:53pm

Not so much escape as it is rescue or find.
Pretty sweet Monaco-esque sight.

tgijsola says ...
Aug 22, 2011 @ 8:30pm

Cool cave generation, very pretty lighting!

JoeDev_net says ...
Aug 22, 2011 @ 8:33pm

Nice lighting, I really liked how the tiles would fade out when they were no longer in the FOV, nice touch.

redwater says ...
Aug 22, 2011 @ 9:05pm

[Like] despite having no sound :( :D

kato9 says ...
Aug 22, 2011 @ 9:06pm

Very nice lighting effectds! kind of wish there were some O2 pickups or something, but maybe that would have made it too easy.

vipah says ...
Aug 23, 2011 @ 12:58am

Cool graphical effects. A little lacking in depth, but overall well done.

mes says ...
Aug 23, 2011 @ 7:13am

cool idea. the vehicle reminds me of starflight (old genesis game). two complaints: the first time i loaded it up i was stuck in a room that was completely blocked in. and i found myself always looking at the radar meter and not at what was around me. replacing the visual meter with a repeating sound that got louder or changed with proximity would solve this.

wonderwhy-er says ...
Aug 23, 2011 @ 3:32pm

Nice graphics and use of theme. Good work, sounds lack here very much, at lest "closeness" sounds effect is needed :)

Terra says ...
Aug 24, 2011 @ 12:30am

Just FYI, the website you've linked to(http://clockworkgames.comuv.com/) has been blocked by trend micro :(

pdyxs says ...
Aug 24, 2011 @ 10:01am

Really nice take on 'escape' to make a search and rescue game - well done!

Aug 24, 2011 @ 12:17pm

Terra ah god. bloody site host :/.
Ill see if i can get an alternate link up tomorrow

Hangedman says ...
Aug 24, 2011 @ 7:37pm

Cool, fun, functional, and a nice implementation of the lighting/cave generation. A little straightforward/ordinary, but still quite good

DrPetter says ...
Aug 26, 2011 @ 1:35pm

Nice. Might have been more fun if the vehicle control was a bit more dynamic, with acceleration of some kind to make it more involved than just pointing in the direction you want to go. Since you really just spend a lot of time navigating a cavern it makes sense to add a fun/challenge factor to the movement itself if possible. Well, I saved one and deserted another, so I guess I got what I could out of the game.

Aug 27, 2011 @ 5:00am

Thanks for the comments! @DrPetter interesting idea, i like it. @mes yeah, that happens very occasionally.

tcstyle says ...
Aug 27, 2011 @ 7:56pm

I like the concept of this game. But the level generation should be improved. I got stucked once right after the start.

Orz says ...
Aug 28, 2011 @ 5:04pm

It was a little frustrating because of the short field of view - I'd rather see the goal and race to get to it, rather than have it concealed and stumble around. Other than that, very simple and fun.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]