August 19th-22nd 2011 :: Theme: Escape
[ Summary | Compo Top 50 | Jam Top 50 | Top 25 Categories | View All (599) ]

Back to Browse Entries

Escausage

by jplur - 48 Hour Competition Entry

Help the sausages escape.

Tested to work with windows 7, vista, xp

Mac version coming later in the week, or grab the sourcecode and install python 2.6, pygame, and pymunk

*Note, if your computer is too slow, some levels may be impossible to beat before the timer runs out, in which case wait for the post compo version*

! Use both the arrow keys and wasd, they each control an end. Also 'r' will restart the level.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#6Humor4.03
#13Innovation4.16
#41Fun3.52
#76Overall3.45
#87Coolness6%
#163Graphics3.14
#225Audio2.28
#228Community2.58
#295Theme2.80

Comments

code_glitch says ...
Aug 22, 2011 @ 6:21pm

Fun game - I liked it a ton. Some parts can get a teeny frustrating if you know what I mean.

Meedoc says ...
Aug 22, 2011 @ 9:21pm

I love the avatar and the character control. It reminds me QWOP in a certain way.
It's hard to master and funny to play!

bitbof says ...
Aug 22, 2011 @ 9:29pm

this is so stupid I love it :D

Bloodyaugust says ...
Aug 22, 2011 @ 10:09pm

Funny, but overall just ended up being a mashing of the up and to the right keys. The engine also seemed like it was quite buggy.

Kinta says ...
Aug 23, 2011 @ 8:23am

I liked the concept very much and it was also fun to play. The physics are very basic, though and sometimes I ended up button mashing to get to the exit.
With a little extra work this could really become a good game. Keep it up! :)

Andrew says ...
Aug 23, 2011 @ 10:08am

The controls take some getting used to, and time tends to be a little short but it's pretty fun.

rawbits says ...
Aug 23, 2011 @ 10:54pm

I like them struggling around to get somewhere and suddenly they fly... :) Hot dogs! Nom nom nom...

Hangedman says ...
Aug 24, 2011 @ 7:15pm

Fun, very silly, but I found it often ended like a fight against the game rather than against the challenge the game posed, if you know what I mean. Still, a great contender, and something that deserves even more fleshing out.

tcstyle says ...
Aug 25, 2011 @ 6:29pm

Yay for pygame. Funniest game I've played so far!

pdyxs says ...
Aug 26, 2011 @ 6:33am

nice and fun, but the controls were often unpredictable, which made it a little frustrating.

Chaoslab says ...
Aug 29, 2011 @ 11:16am

Excellent work! I like original off the wall ideas and you pulled it off! :-)

Sep 1, 2011 @ 8:54am

This idea is great! It also gives off a great qwop-vibe.

Rudy says ...
Sep 1, 2011 @ 1:03pm

Flying sausages! Extra funny idea. Controls are very hard though, half the time I'm just randomly mashing up and right. I also didn't get you use both wasd and arrows at first.

Benjamin says ...
Sep 2, 2011 @ 2:37pm

incredible sausage physics !!! This game really need a slice-effect with sausage particles on the exit square collision. I also think that the multisausage is more fun with level like the hole than in the classic one-path level ( you always end up focusing only on one sausage at a time )

BlueShaman says ...
Sep 2, 2011 @ 4:22pm

Very funny and ridiculous. Sort of fun, but is was I think way too difficult for the amount of limited control you had.

ratking says ...
Sep 2, 2011 @ 8:46pm

If I weren't so full right now this game would have made me hungry. ;-) Nice game idea, but at some point too frustrating / uncontrollable so I ragequit.

uuav says ...
Sep 3, 2011 @ 9:21am

how this idea came to your mind ? really fun lol

pekuja says ...
Sep 11, 2011 @ 5:27pm

Well that's a weird concept. Other than that though, it's quite hard to control. Also, I was confused in the third level when it says "you didn't think you were alone, did you?" because I thought I was competing against the other sausages, and I spent some effort the first time trying to keep the others behind me...

It's probably not the point of the game, but I wish I had better control over the sausages. It doesn't need to be easy. I just need to feel like I have a handle on my... sausage.

wally2069 says ...
Sep 11, 2011 @ 10:46pm

This was one of the weirdest entries I played for the compo. The mechanics were a little odd to grasp. The premise was funny and well worth the play.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]