Ludum Dare 31
Theme:
Entire Game on One Screen

Judging ends in:
It’s time to Play and Rate Games!

PlayRate80Star

April 29th-May 2nd, 2011
Theme: It’s Dangerous to go Alone! Take this!

More Info: Ludum Dare 20 Has Begun! (Keynote), Theme Voting Results.

Back to Browse Entries

The Alone Sword

by PsySal - Competition Entry

- I did take an extra 15 mins past the deadline to work out a couple bugs, mainly with the title screen saving/loading but also an animation bug and some cut dialog.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#98Theme2.96
#112Graphics3.11
#150Overall2.89
#153Innovation2.89
#156Fun2.71
#156Coolness3%
#224Community2.00
#229Audio1.54
#231Humor1.88

Comments

Zillix says ...
May 2, 2011 @ 6:48am

Oh man, I love the aesthetic of this one

Almost says ...
May 2, 2011 @ 11:09pm

Saw blade just flew off the screen and doors are still closed. What do I do?

Almost says ...
May 2, 2011 @ 11:15pm

Nevermind, just reloaded the page and was able to fight him properly. The game pace is a bit slow but the aesthetic is cool.

erik says ...
May 3, 2011 @ 4:22am

Nice. Very stylish and fairly interesting. Slow controls were a bit frustrating.

TomK32 says ...
May 3, 2011 @ 9:58am

Totally dig the looks of it.

alexlarioza says ...
May 4, 2011 @ 12:04am

Loved the graphics, definitely unique. Had no idea what I was doing though...

PsySal says ...
May 4, 2011 @ 8:04am

Hey guys, I have put an important HINT as well as a spoilerific walkthrough that should help with judging. They are on the game page, linked to above...

SonnyBone says ...
May 4, 2011 @ 9:30pm

WTF AM I lol

It's gaming in squigglevision!

I loved the obvious Zelda map nods.

May 5, 2011 @ 4:02pm

Superb. A bit slow but that was the point, yes? :)

Congrats on submitting!

quickfingers says ...
May 9, 2011 @ 1:03am

great game, not as big a fan of the 1 bit gfx as others here, but that's just personal opinion, overall though was a good play

mwest says ...
May 21, 2011 @ 4:18pm

Wow that was wonderful! I rated the graphics highly, because they supported the idea of being in a dream very well for me - almost suggesting sound and form rather than spelling them out!

This really reminded of Neil Gaiman's The Sandman - also with perhaps a bit of a Cthulhu bent to it (though I think Sandman has that too if I recall correctly)?

Endurion says ...
May 21, 2011 @ 7:28pm

Lovely :)
Looks great and also plays good. The underwater movement needs getting used to but in the end it's good.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]