Now:
October Challenge 2014
Ends in:

Coming Soon:
Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

PST: 6 PM
*EST: 9 PM
UTC: 02:00

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.

Ludum Dare 31:
Ludum Deals
???
 
Recent:
MiniLD #XX

Ludum Dare 20

April 29th-May 2nd, 2011
Theme: It’s Dangerous to go Alone! Take this!

More Info: Ludum Dare 20 Has Begun! (Keynote), Theme Voting Results.

Back to Browse Entries

A fine day in the parking lot - Doktor Ace - Competition Entry

Made using Unity3D, Maya, Photoshop and a digital camera.

View Doktor Ace's journal. | View all entries by Doktor Ace

Ratings

Graphics4.71
#10Audio3.89
#23Overall3.65
#56Innovation3.46
#86Theme3.06
#99Fun3.08
#142Humor2.44
#197Community2.22
#243Coolness0%

Comments

Doktor Ace says ...
May 1, 2011 @ 10:21pm

With three and a half hours to spare!

Rolf says ...
May 1, 2011 @ 10:55pm

Nicely put together! Only criticism is that it's a little short.

Slapunas says ...
May 2, 2011 @ 12:15am

loved it, zombies sound great !

TellusE says ...
May 2, 2011 @ 2:47am

Love the graphical style. How the environment shifts with movement and the old Lucas-style character fits great into it.

SonnyBone says ...
May 2, 2011 @ 3:58am

OOOOOOH this is rad! I love the 2d/3d style and the characters give me a HOTEL DUSK vibe, which is really awesome. Sounds were really awesome as well. The text boxes stick out like a sore thumb, though. They don't really fit the rest of the game. This was the first game I played for LD20, btw.

Winterblood says ...
May 2, 2011 @ 5:31am

Great graphical style, and simple responsive control scheme. Like the silhouetted zombies, really hard to see! I kept ending up in pitch darkness though (sometimes flickering on/off). Felt like a bug because i certainly wasn't able to escape or accomplish anything once it went dark. So I never quite found the last food.

Radiatoryang says ...
May 2, 2011 @ 7:41am

AWESOME

fishbrain says ...
May 2, 2011 @ 9:05am

awesome graphics and great atmos!

jonbro says ...
May 2, 2011 @ 10:50am

I love the graphical style! so glad to see photographs + 3d + rotoscoping. Hella dope. I had some difficulty seeing what was going on though, it got really dark.

Pierrec says ...
May 2, 2011 @ 11:49am

How did you get these graphics? It's beautiful!
I wrote a short review (in french) about the game : http://oujevipo.fr/5-minutes/a-fine-day-in-the-parking-lot

Forser says ...
May 2, 2011 @ 12:04pm

For some reason, after entering the room and leaving one of the room, the game got all black.. I can move around, shot and hearing the sound but all black.

Jhelle says ...
May 2, 2011 @ 2:27pm

Graphics are really great they convey this oppressed feeling you only see in those 80ies zombie flicks. And the combination of both 2d and 3d gives a really unique atmosphere. Good job!

May 2, 2011 @ 3:03pm

Beautiful, totally reminds me of the older adventure games!

Audio's suitably creepy, and a great atmosphere established.

I couldn't interact, even on reload. Not sure why. Also, could push the first zombie through the scene to the next and then he vanished.

elbowroom says ...
May 2, 2011 @ 9:16pm

Great graphics! nice sound effects. good vibe.
The gameplay challange could use a boost.
You have a very good game atmosphere going there.

constantsun says ...
May 2, 2011 @ 11:27pm

Wow, it was pretty scary. I got to the point where I needed one more food, and then couldn't figure out what to do.

erik says ...
May 3, 2011 @ 12:24am

Super cool visuals. The slow reaction time of the character was a bit frustrating, but it added to the tension of the game. Well done.

mpc174 says ...
May 3, 2011 @ 4:48pm

I love the blend of 2D rotoscope in a 3D environment. The atmosphere was great. The gameplay was simple enough. Can't think of any negatives!

Elpizo says ...
May 4, 2011 @ 2:27am

Most interesting graphics I've seen in the whole competition, and the little bit of humor actually had me burst out laughing. It's amazing what you find funny when you're about to crap your pants. The atmosphere is outstanding! Very well done.

hamster_mk_4 says ...
May 4, 2011 @ 2:44am

Your combination of digital camera and 3d was brilliant. I hope you make a longer game in this style.

alexlarioza says ...
May 5, 2011 @ 5:22am

Loved the style. How did you accomplish that with Unity?

superflat says ...
May 5, 2011 @ 3:49pm

Fantastic visual treatment. I found it crashed frequently when entering new rooms (Mac Pro, Leopard, Safari.) I was just faced with a black screen each time. It seemed random too as sometimes door worked and others they crashed the game. Third time it crashed I decided not to retry sadly. :(

May 6, 2011 @ 3:57am

Glorious visual style. A somewhat pertinent question: Have you ever seen any of Andromeda Software Development's demoscene productions?

joekinley says ...
May 6, 2011 @ 9:27pm

Yay timelapse. I love em, I rate em well. But no single other entry in the blog? Really? Not even a "I'm in" or something? Well..

Nice game. Short but nice. I loved the light effects and the sounds. Also the little story was nice. Great work on maya

pythong says ...
May 7, 2011 @ 12:52pm

i'm getting an error: THe content was stopped because a fatal content error has been detected

randomnine says ...
May 10, 2011 @ 2:45pm

Fantastic art, good atmosphere. The guy's dialogue is very artificial and tutorial-like though. I think it'd be nice if it had a bit more character, like he's a real person reacting to what's going on, and he didn't talk directly to the camera.

Again, wonderful graphics.

mwest says ...
May 13, 2011 @ 9:44pm

Wow, excellent - well done!

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]