Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

October Challenge 2014
Ending Soon!

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.

What is Ludum Dare?
Rules / Guide

Ludum Dare 20

April 29th-May 2nd, 2011
Theme: It’s Dangerous to go Alone! Take this!

More Info: Ludum Dare 20 Has Begun! (Keynote), Theme Voting Results.

Back to Browse Entries

It's Dangerous: The Escort Quest - nitrik - Competition Entry

To play, unzip the folder and launch the web page "play_game.html".

I had a lot of fun - this being my first Ludum Dare, I definitely didn't have time for everything I thought I would (like a background). Still, I'm happy with what I managed to complete. Enjoy!

View nitrik's journal. | View all entries by nitrik

Ratings

#23Innovation3.83
#49Fun3.44
#51Overall3.44
#69Theme3.22
#119Coolness5%
#124Humor2.56
#180Graphics2.72
#249Audio1.40
#259Community1.75

Comments

nitrik says ...
May 2, 2011 @ 1:49am

Forgot to mention above, the game is played using the mouse (just in case it's not obvious).

fueelin says ...
May 2, 2011 @ 6:27am

Overall I really liked it! I thought the main mechanic was very interesting and was used in some pretty cool ways. Unfortunately, I found the controls to be frustratingly inconsistent. In some parts (like the room with 3 bouncing red things that you have to trap in various parts), I couldn't get the fairy to place/remove blocks nearly responsively enough. But other than that little complaint I really liked the game! My favorite so far.

Xedfire says ...
May 2, 2011 @ 6:03pm

NICE

ladron says ...
May 2, 2011 @ 8:15pm

Very clever idea, and it worked really well too! I got to the bit near the end with the three bouncing red things, but couldn't get past.

Auto-scrolling to follow the hero would be nice - perhaps being overridden if you mouse to the edges to look ahead.

Nice job!

nitrik says ...
May 2, 2011 @ 10:55pm

Thanks! @fueelin: I agree, for some reason I decided to make the blocks toggle when you release the mouse button, as opposed to when you press it. Seemed like a good idea at 1am :)

mwest says ...
May 3, 2011 @ 5:58pm

Took me a while to figure out that I need to scroll manually and I got stuck at the first 2 bouncing red blocks :(... The slow speed at which the character moves is a bit annoying when you try the same puzzle 10 times...

Other than that, good idea and well done!

May 4, 2011 @ 4:02pm

Very well done, very innovative!

I was rather disappointed there wasn't more, so that's a good thing.

Great work, highly recommend you polish this further.

eli says ...
May 5, 2011 @ 8:24pm

Love this game mechanic! Another win for NPC-games!
Some of the puzzles were very clever!
The fact that I could figure them out probably means that the difficulty could be raised a bit :D

I thought there was a huge scrolling bug until I realized that the mouse controlled it. Afterwards, it was fine.

The dialog added a lot.

Good work!!

Draknek says ...
May 11, 2011 @ 3:56pm

Not sure why it's a download when it runs in a browser. Next time it'd be worth finding someone that can host it for you if you don't have a website yourself.

I opened it up in the background then closed it because I wasn't sure if there was an opening I'd missed. Now the guy is just running in a black void: he jumps off the right edge of a platform and when he hits the bottom he respawns to repeat it forever.

Restarting doesn't get me anywhere: he's just stuck like this...

May 12, 2011 @ 11:05am

Aren't those Mega-Man animations?

nitrik says ...
May 13, 2011 @ 3:17am

@Draknek: hmm, I thought I fixed that bug...I think you'll have to re-download the game if you want to play it.

@matthias: yep, good eye! Although they're not the identical sprites, I used them as reference material when drawing my own.

Endurion says ...
May 13, 2011 @ 6:41am

Surprisingly good game :)
I expected a platformer of some kind on first glance. I also like the ensuing dialog throughout the game. Good one!

tzachs says ...
May 13, 2011 @ 10:07am

Nice, innovative and clever!
I very much enjoyed the in-game dialogs,
It would be nice if you could control the speed of the hero somehow, as I found myself waiting for him a lot.
Also, the controls felt a bit clunky. For example, in the last part I knew that I had to remove the block from underneath the hero as he walks on it, but it still took me like seven times until I managed it...

You must sign in to comment.

[cache: storing page]