About | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post
Construction1990’s Internet Montage? No!
Please excuse the site weirdness. Mike is fixing and making things.
Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014!

  • ??? Begins: in 10 days, 15 hours, 38 minutes, 40 seconds
  • October Ends: in 11 days, 15 hours, 50 minutes, 40 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 46 days, 16 hours, 38 minutes, 40 seconds
  • (FYI: Clock might be off) | Ludum Dare 31: Real World Gatherings (Now Open!)

    [ October Challenge 2014 | Resources | Submit/Edit | View All ]


    Ludum Dare 20

    April 29th-May 2nd, 2011
    Theme: It’s Dangerous to go Alone! Take this!

    More Info: Ludum Dare 20 Has Begun! (Keynote), Theme Voting Results.

    Back to Browse Entries

    EscapeBot - ahnimal - Competition Entry

    A game about a robot escaping the facility where it was first created. Shoot your way through defenses in randomly generated levels, and try to get the highest score. This game contains random levels, so please play it at least twice.

    View ahnimal's journal. | View all entries by ahnimal

    Ratings

    #131Community2.73
    #139Audio2.43
    #168Fun2.62
    #177Coolness2%
    #190Graphics2.67
    #202Overall2.52
    #207Innovation2.48
    #210Theme2.29
    #265Humor1.64

    Comments

    Fifth says ...
    May 3, 2011 @ 5:52pm

    Decent, but kinda frustrating.
    I didn't really like the floaty movement, or that it looked like you could almost jump up 4 tiles, but could never actually make it.

    May 3, 2011 @ 10:22pm

    Fun but a little slidy it seemed especially when trying to jump or do the wall jump.
    Still very fun though :)

    Milo says ...
    May 3, 2011 @ 10:49pm

    Pretty fun, although I definitely agree with Fifth.

    randomnine says ...
    May 4, 2011 @ 11:36am

    Not bad. Trying to jump up through 1-block-wide gaps is quite frustrating, though - I'd suggest making the character a bit narrower so it's possible. Also frustrating: unskippable adverts every time you die?

    May 5, 2011 @ 3:18pm

    Decent platforming, nice visual style.

    May 5, 2011 @ 10:13pm

    Congrats on finishing your first LD! I agree with Fifth mostly, and I also found the game pretty difficult. I didn't manage to get to the end. Visuals get the work done, sounds are adequate, and apart from the floaty controls, pretty fun overall.

    tusongtupa says ...
    May 6, 2011 @ 7:24am

    I liked the slidy movement.

    Knighty says ...
    May 7, 2011 @ 1:05am

    It was a little hard to aim, since it shoots slightly above where my cursor is. I think there's a little too many of those batteries considering how slow energy goes down, I don't even know what happens when energy reaches zero.

    localcoder says ...
    May 8, 2011 @ 6:35am

    The level generation seems pretty good, you have to work to get all of the batteries and the different positions of the enemies end up creating some variety.

    I would like to have some kind of progress meter or time limit or something to help me know how far I have gone and how far I have to go.

    mwest says ...
    May 22, 2011 @ 10:42am

    Nice game, well done!

    Found it a bit hard and it got monotonous a bit fast... a way to restore health would've been nice as well as a bit more variety in enemies.

    You must sign in to comment.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]