April 29th-May 2nd, 2011
Theme: It’s Dangerous to go Alone! Take this!

More Info: Ludum Dare 20 Has Begun! (Keynote), Theme Voting Results.

Back to Browse Entries

hollow

by jsmars - Competition Entry

Here is a small game I made for my first LD, sadly I only had about 5 hours to work on it, would love to have done a lot more, will probably update it soon :)

JAM NOTE:
Please check out the Jam version of the game as it has all the features I didn't have time to finish for the compo release and much better controls and music.

If the game crashes when you start it you need XNA 4 Redist (included in the rar). If it still doesn't work you need .Net Framework 4.0, which you can get here: http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/en/details.aspx?FamilyID=9cfb2d51-5ff4-4491-b0e5-b386f32c0992&displaylang=en

HIGHSCORES:
Ulrik 4000m
Mathias L 3500m
BurnZeZ 2500m
Gopher 2000m

INVERTED HIGHSCORE:
Pierrec -1500m

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#21Humor3.61
#34Coolness14%
#59Innovation3.44
#93Overall3.17
#108Fun3.00
#137Audio2.44
#142Community2.67
#153Theme2.67
#160Graphics2.83

Comments

Xedfire says ...
May 2, 2011 @ 8:08am

Unforgettable... :D just couldn't stop myself from carrying on! The story is so funny - References from other games are just so humorous. Got to 500 overall :) (yes, so I did hear those thoughts!)

Zillix says ...
May 2, 2011 @ 6:43pm

Well done. Got to about 800. Great storytelling!

BurnZeZ says ...
May 2, 2011 @ 9:10pm

My review of hollow.

In hollow, you play Gary Oak in what appears to be a 2-D mixture of Mr. Resetti and Minecraft. Like in Half-life, your goal is to get to the surface. Also like in Half-life, every other turn you take is a DEAD END. The randomly generated level is out to get you and your children every second of the entire time you're playing this game. And oh no, this game isn't one that you play and are done with, no sir-ee. This is a game that you play for the REST OF YOUR LIFE. This game is a masterfully designed and created game. When you consider the 72 hour limitations, this game used every single minute of it for the creation of epicness.

All in all, this game gets an 8.5/10
You can only hope that he goes further with this game past the jam.

mpc174 says ...
May 3, 2011 @ 2:24pm

Compo version: Interesting how the narrative would unfold as you ascended, an incentive to keep dragging yourself higher. Not much to do otherwise and gets old (my entry suffers in a similar way, come to think of it). Controls are hard to get used to. Had to install too many programs to run it. Impressive that you made it in five hours.

Jam version: Much better controls thanks to the mouse cursor. The indestructible blocks provide some variety, but they slow down the narrative to the point where it would be harder to follow.

May 3, 2011 @ 7:43pm

Damn, looks cool and all the comments really make me want to play that... But no dice, I'm on Linux, and games based on XNA4 don't play along well with wine. Bummer :( But good luck !!

jsmars says ...
May 3, 2011 @ 10:49pm

Damn, too bad! if you have a chance to use a windows pc sometime it would be great if you could try it :)

dsv101 says ...
May 4, 2011 @ 2:06am

dammi, i went down like real far, and then i realized i must go up. lol

Cosr says ...
May 4, 2011 @ 8:32am

The jumping seems a bit awkward sometimes. For example, if I'm walking sideways into a wall and press jump, I would normally expect to jump straight up, but it doesn't alway happen here.
I liked the dialog, though.

randomnine says ...
May 6, 2011 @ 1:13pm

On the compo version: Fun toy, but it could use pre-existing empty spaces or undiggable rocks on the way up or something to keep it interesting.

Only practical way I found of climbing at any speed was digging upwards and building directly underneath me. Part of the issue is that the digging is so square and the jump so short, there's often no way to jump up a tunnel you just cut diagonally.

Enjoyable script regardless.

jsmars says ...
May 6, 2011 @ 1:49pm

Yeah the reason for only diggable space in the compo version is mainly because I was coding at the last minute, the game was meant to have solids, like the jam version

May 6, 2011 @ 3:43pm

I lack the hardware to run this. :(

elbowroom says ...
May 8, 2011 @ 8:44pm

Very addictive gameplay.
Is there anything beyond 2000?

eli says ...
May 8, 2011 @ 8:54pm

The references to other games were so-so, but the whole semi-internal dialog trying to decide if it is a joke or not, whether or not to go back down, "is there a surface?", etc. ... those were the killers.

I thought I continued higher than others .. then I saw the high scores here on the compo page :D

jsmars says ...
May 8, 2011 @ 10:29pm

Hehe, thanks! Let's just say that there are still things that nobody has reported in finding :)

Pierrec says ...
May 10, 2011 @ 11:05am

-1500. I think it's a kind of new reccord ^^. A bit disapointed there was nothing down there though...maybe I wasn't deep enough. The window is still open, I'll keep on later.

I've also reviewed Hollow on my french blog. There : http://oujevipo.fr/30-minutes-et/hollow

jsmars says ...
May 10, 2011 @ 9:35pm

Haha awesome Pierrec, I'm so sorry! I have some stuff down there but I don't think it's in that build actually, will have to update it soon :)

And about the story, I had no idea about that anime. To be honest I just made it up as I went along :)

May 12, 2011 @ 6:57am

Well, that was cool. I like how the game starts right away, with the title just hanging there.

Jan 15, 2012 @ 12:40am

I feel so dumb for posting this, but how the freaking H do you download it?

jsmars says ...
Dec 12, 2012 @ 3:18am

Sorry I broke the links for a while, they are back up if anyone still wants to try it.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]