Now:
October Challenge 2014
Ends in:

Coming Soon:
Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

PST: 6 PM
*EST: 9 PM
UTC: 02:00

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.

Ludum Dare 31:
Ludum Deals
???
 
Recent:
MiniLD #XX

Ludum Dare 20

April 29th-May 2nd, 2011
Theme: It’s Dangerous to go Alone! Take this!

More Info: Ludum Dare 20 Has Begun! (Keynote), Theme Voting Results.

Back to Browse Entries

Overcoming danger with trees - Desmont - Competition Entry

My first LD game. Far from perfect, but it's playable.

View Desmont's journal. | View all entries by Desmont

Ratings

#80Innovation3.30
#86Coolness7%
#91Fun3.11
#104Theme2.93
#105Overall3.12
#138Community2.69
#139Humor2.45
#148Graphics2.89
#164Audio2.27

Comments

increpare says ...
May 2, 2011 @ 9:02am

getting really heavy input lag in this game (in firefox, flash player 10.2.153.1 ), can't really play it

Zutty says ...
May 2, 2011 @ 12:19pm

Works fine for me. Awesome idea. Time travel! LOL. Some of the jumps are frustrating, but overall I enjoyed it.

Desmont says ...
May 2, 2011 @ 12:23pm

I'm unable reproduce this behavior. What version of Firefox were you using? Debug or Release version of Flash plugin? What OS?
I prepared an alternative build, where the quality/scaling settings are changed: http://desmont.exroot.org/flash/post_ld20/ - let me know if this one works better.

zachstronaut says ...
May 3, 2011 @ 9:17pm

I really like this, nice work! I played all the way through. I was really pleased by what happened with the time warp. If I was going to nitpick I'd say your final level was a step backwards because it didn't use time warp or introduce a new mechanic or puzzle.

Desmont says ...
May 4, 2011 @ 4:12am

I agree, for the last level to work, there should me an additional game mechanic (switches or doors) - not just relaying on precise jumps.

May 4, 2011 @ 8:52pm

I'm a winrar!

I loved this, excellent work and great combination of features.

ThatSnail says ...
May 5, 2011 @ 1:06am

Ohh cake. Took me a second to figure out the controls. I like the time-traveling mechanic.

amassingham says ...
May 6, 2011 @ 4:17am

Some frustrating jumps, but a nicely put together game. Time travel was a nice touch.

qrunchmonkey says ...
May 6, 2011 @ 4:34am

You don't see enough unidirectional timetravel to the future. Clever mechanic.

Winterblood says ...
May 6, 2011 @ 12:04pm

Really fun mechanics - SFX a little grating, but graphics nice and bright! Good job.

pythong says ...
May 6, 2011 @ 9:18pm

the cake is a lie! i'm a winrar!
you've put a lot of effort into creating the two screens with the old guys. but it would have been nicer to see that effort put into more levels. as the others say, the jumps were kinda annoying, but once you get to know how to jump, everything's fine. it's jsut that: once you learn it, the game is over o.O??????
don't forget the music next time ;)!

Jacob says ...
May 8, 2011 @ 2:33am

Treees!

Endurion says ...
May 8, 2011 @ 5:59am

I'm a Winrar!
Works fine, good idea!
I'm a fan of puzzle platformers, with a few more gimmicks this could be really good.

elbowroom says ...
May 8, 2011 @ 5:24pm

Nice game, good fun.

mwest says ...
May 15, 2011 @ 12:49pm

Awesome game with a really creative mechanic! Excellent for a first time entry, well done and keep it up!

Some of the jumps were a tad hard, but I guess without them it would've been a bit too short...

Nyaa says ...
May 22, 2011 @ 11:21am

Very much like the tree growing mechanic :3

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]