Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

Ludum Dare 20

April 29th-May 2nd, 2011
Theme: It’s Dangerous to go Alone! Take this!

More Info: Ludum Dare 20 Has Begun! (Keynote), Theme Voting Results.

Back to Browse Entries

Innocence - LegacyCrono - Competition Entry

"Innocence" is a shoot-'em-up with online highscores.
There's only three levels... I thought I'd have time to make more, but making the art was troublesome.

Move with arrow keys.
Shoot with Z or Space keys.

Obs: there's no preloader, so it might take some time to show the title screen. :P

View LegacyCrono's journal. | View all entries by LegacyCrono

Ratings

#25Coolness20%
#30Audio3.51
#84Graphics3.33
#89Community3.00
#119Fun2.98
#127Overall3.00
#267Innovation1.90
#269Humor1.61
#269Theme1.67

Comments

localcoder says ...
May 2, 2011 @ 8:22am

I liked the graphics, music, and especially the hints of a story.

But I couldn't survive for more than a few seconds! maybe people who are used to playing shmups will perform better, but I found this much too hard.

ratking says ...
May 2, 2011 @ 10:10am

Haha, yes, very hard. Could not play more than a few seconds, either. ;)
Nice nonetheless.

Jhelle says ...
May 2, 2011 @ 1:29pm

Challenging, fun, pretty patterns and nice music (first stage only :( ). Good job!

stigrv says ...
May 2, 2011 @ 4:32pm

This was truly bullet hell. Still a pretty good game. Loved the music and graphics.

Winterblood says ...
May 2, 2011 @ 11:44pm

It's pretty hardcore from the off, I could barely get past the first wave. Very polished gameplay though, and elegant art style!

Gopher says ...
May 3, 2011 @ 3:47am

would've tried more times if the opening text didn't last longer than my first 10 lives... XD I suck at bullet hell games though. Very pretty, very nice :)

BurnZeZ says ...
May 3, 2011 @ 4:22am

Couldn't play due to massive lag. Unfortunate. :(

zachstronaut says ...
May 3, 2011 @ 9:10pm

Holy crap, that's hard... or I suck. =) Wish that I didn't have to sit through the story intro when I restart.

May 4, 2011 @ 3:32am

Hard. Good, but hard.

Cosr says ...
May 5, 2011 @ 7:58am

It's fun and the music is nice; just kinda grooves in the background.
I found it a little difficult to tell where exactly the hit box on the player is, which is maybe important in this kind of game.

Kynrael says ...
May 5, 2011 @ 3:17pm

Hardcore ! But fun :)

qrunchmonkey says ...
May 6, 2011 @ 4:12am

Holy crap that bullet storm starts fast.

TellusE says ...
May 6, 2011 @ 3:51pm

Bullet hell, and quite well tweaked at that. I found that on the second boss and the circular firing patterns with a single hole was impossible to dodge from the left side of the screen when it reset back to the right - the player simply doesn't move quick enough, methinks :-X

The music had an excellent way of amplifying the hectic action on-screen, keeping up the adrenaline. Likewise, the graphics were smooth and pretty, perfectly accentuating what they were and how they could be hit.

However, I couldn't help but feel that the game was completely devoid of anything related to the theme :-/

nilstastic says ...
May 8, 2011 @ 2:50pm

Nice graphics, to bad the game was so god damn hard i could only survive to the second wave (where there were some nice effects). =)

elbowroom says ...
May 9, 2011 @ 2:55am

I enjoy this a lot and I'm not a big fan of the genre so you must have done something right as I feel this could appeal to a wide audiance.

Draknek says ...
May 11, 2011 @ 3:31pm

If I hold down the shoot button it only fires three shots at a time, but if I mash it I can shoot constantly. Is this intentional?

Having to replay the start every time just gets too frustrating to want to continue. I probably would have played for much longer if I'd had a hefty score penalty whenever I died but was immediately thrown back into the action.

Endurion says ...
May 12, 2011 @ 4:42pm

Not my type of game.
Means I don't get anywhere ;)

mwest says ...
May 14, 2011 @ 9:31pm

Too hard for me, but fairly pretty and sounds good!

hamster_mk_4 says ...
May 15, 2011 @ 11:50pm

That is a pretty catchy tune. Bullet hell games aren't my thing, but this was quite enjoyable.

Knighty says ...
May 17, 2011 @ 5:47am

Pretty good. Seems pretty Touhou-ish, especially with the point items. The sound it makes when you shoot, and that you had to tap Z instead just holding it, got a bit annoying after a while. Every once in a while I would get some lag where the controls became unresponsive for a second, which can be deadly in a game like this. Also don't see how this relates to the theme.

Jacob says ...
May 18, 2011 @ 4:37am

Too difficult for a shooter nub like me, but looks great and is pretty satisfying (the minute of gameplay I can survive at least!)

erik says ...
May 23, 2011 @ 12:04am

Crazy hard and unforgiving. And the wait at the start for the action to begin gets a bit frustrating after the 5th time. But there are some stylistic touches that are really nice.

ACodeGerm says ...
May 23, 2011 @ 9:22am

I feel like this isn't getting enough love.

The real genius here is the point/health system(losing at least 10K each time you're hit) and the highscore table.

Bullet hell games are hard to tweak for a wide audience, but the synergy between those two features really put this game over the top. Great stuff!

jonbro says ...
May 23, 2011 @ 2:44pm

MAN THAT WAS HARD! I struggle with difficulty balancing myself, but I wonder if the idea from nmccoy would help with this, waking up first thing in the morning and playing it to see if you can get through it.

Also a few shmup touches, if there was a tiny bit of acceleration that applied to your ship I think that would help the feel a ton..

lingmops says ...
May 23, 2011 @ 6:52pm

Oh god it's so HAAAARRRD!!

lingmops says ...
May 23, 2011 @ 6:55pm

Also, my housemate has been singing the music, so I guess it's officially catchy ;)

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]