April 29th-May 2nd, 2011
Theme: It’s Dangerous to go Alone! Take this!

More Info: Ludum Dare 20 Has Begun! (Keynote), Theme Voting Results.

Back to Browse Entries

CatTroller

by Rockdtben - Competition Entry

In CatTroller your mission is to get to Ludum Dare #20. You will start off the game by seeing a cat and the cat will give you the CatTroller. Then you begin your quest to fight the Rat Menace who is trying to stop you from finishing your project. Defeat him and you will have finished your LD on time and in a great fashion!

Movement - Arrows
Jump - Z
Attack - X

Timelapse is up!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#39Theme3.55
#44Humor3.20
#67Fun3.36
#70Innovation3.36
#112Overall3.09
#153Audio2.36
#156Community2.56
#196Graphics2.64
#243Coolness0%

Comments

May 4, 2011 @ 4:30pm

Cat-attack!

Pretty fun, I managed to kill the end boss even though I was dead.

Great work!

erik says ...
May 4, 2011 @ 5:11pm

That was fun. I liked throwing the cats, and the giant chain of cats at the end was great. Also, this is the first "take this cat" themed game I've encountered. It would be nice if the enemies moved more randomly and were less aggressive. Also, you might want to consider finding a way to upload this as a Java applet or Java Web Start program or something like that. Not a lot of people are going to know what to do with a Jar file inside a rar, and you will get less ratings and reviews because of this.

Rockdtben says ...
May 4, 2011 @ 7:58pm

Good advice erik. I will look into this and when I'm done I'll add the Web link.

rgbDreamer says ...
May 5, 2011 @ 9:49am

Very original. As soon as I had enough cats, I stopped throwing them and killed everything with my tail, which is bad because throwing cats is more fun. A longer level that let you appreciate having just a few cats before giving you a ton would be good.

Draknek says ...
May 8, 2011 @ 3:03pm

I get a "CRC failed" error when trying to extract the files from the rar: looks like the file is corrupt, maybe try re-uploading?

I'd second the suggestion to improve the packaging situation.

May 12, 2011 @ 11:21am

Here's herding cats, ain't that adorable :-)

ExciteMike says ...
May 12, 2011 @ 3:14pm

I just get stuck at a black screen when I try to run this. :(

Endurion says ...
May 13, 2011 @ 6:50am

Neat :)
I love the cat line behind me, which also works very nice as auto-attack. However the boss did me in when I tried to cat-tail him.

mwest says ...
May 21, 2011 @ 9:25pm

Quite a nice effort - well done!

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]