About | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post
Construction1990’s Internet Montage? No!
Please excuse the site weirdness. Mike is fixing and making things.
Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014!

  • ??? Begins: in 10 days, 15 hours, 38 minutes, 27 seconds
  • October Ends: in 11 days, 15 hours, 50 minutes, 27 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 46 days, 16 hours, 38 minutes, 27 seconds
  • (FYI: Clock might be off) | Ludum Dare 31: Real World Gatherings (Now Open!)

    [ October Challenge 2014 | Resources | Submit/Edit | View All ]


    Ludum Dare 20

    April 29th-May 2nd, 2011
    Theme: It’s Dangerous to go Alone! Take this!

    More Info: Ludum Dare 20 Has Begun! (Keynote), Theme Voting Results.

    Back to Browse Entries

    p.i.g - Zillix - Competition Entry

    p.i.g is my first linear puzzle game!

    It's a puzzle platformer with portals. The portals act like tunnels: the player places one end of some blocks, and another portal opens at the end of the blocks.

    UPDATE: I added an enhanced version!
    It features original music from the composer for endeavor, 3 new levels with a new mechanic, a level select screen, a portal-funneling mechanic, and lots of bugfixes.

    CONTROLS:

    A and D to move
    W to jump
    Mouse to aim and shoot portals
    R to restart a level
    Q to return to the main menu

    Your character is automatically aligned with the tile grid if you aren't moving left or right. It's much stronger if a portal if a portal is nearby below you. You can use this to make landing in portals easier =D



    Tools:

    Flixel 2.43
    FlashDevelop
    GraphicsGale
    sfxr
    mappy

    View Zillix's journal. | View all entries by Zillix

    Ratings

    Fun4.15
    #10Overall3.85
    #31Innovation3.71
    #57Humor3.00
    #77Graphics3.38
    #86Coolness7%
    #94Audio2.82
    #138Theme2.74
    #192Community2.26

    Comments

    Willywonka says ...
    May 2, 2011 @ 1:15am

    I really enjoyed this game ;)

    oldsatchmo says ...
    May 2, 2011 @ 2:46am

    This is incredible. I would love to see this mechanic fleshed out into a full game.

    Although, maybe I should just focus on figuring out the puzzles you've already made . . .

    jsmars says ...
    May 2, 2011 @ 9:00am

    really neat mechanic, would love to have more levels!

    rubapi says ...
    May 2, 2011 @ 3:40pm

    Great game!

    TomK32 says ...
    May 2, 2011 @ 4:47pm

    Doesn't really fit the theme but I still like the idea very much.

    ladron says ...
    May 2, 2011 @ 5:40pm

    Great twist on the portal theme. Obviously I would have liked more content, but I think you've got a nice framework to build on here.

    Milo says ...
    May 2, 2011 @ 8:47pm

    The instructions were impressively smooth. The game, overall, was very polished and very innovative. The audio contributed to the game, but ambient music would have added more. This game was really impressive, and I thoroughly enjoyed it.

    Zillix says ...
    May 2, 2011 @ 9:13pm

    Thanks for all the positive feedback! I had a lot of fun making this game. I'm working on an enhanced version with a few extra levels, and maybe someday will flesh out the idea further. I'm also having a friend write some music for it (the same person who did the music for endeavor). Thanks for playing it!

    athanazio says ...
    May 3, 2011 @ 2:09am

    very good !!

    athanazio says ...
    May 3, 2011 @ 2:09am

    where is my android version ?? :)

    shawnrussow says ...
    May 3, 2011 @ 4:17am

    Very nice. recommended by your brother. got stuck once, http://i55.tinypic.com/21njx2o.png, and had to restart. A checkpoint system with the ability to return to the most recent checkpoint would be nice. It does seem like you kind of already had the idea planned, and just twisted it to fit the theme, but most games in this compo are like that anyway.

    Good luck to you!
    ~Brotide

    Fifth says ...
    May 3, 2011 @ 4:28pm

    Clever.
    I got stuck in a wall once, but I guess it happens.
    Anyway, an enjoyable mechanic, though it's a little apparent you were hoping for a different theme, here.

    Frib says ...
    May 3, 2011 @ 9:18pm

    Very nice game. The momentum bits were a bit annoying sometimes when you didn't line up properly, but still it was a lot of fun to play through. Great game, well done.

    ExciteMike says ...
    May 4, 2011 @ 4:07pm

    Amazing! The portals could be more forgiving, though. It gets a bit frustrating trying to line it up right, even with the auto-correct you have. Instead maybe you could have him go through the portal anyway even if he is off by a bit? Anyway, really cool game and fun puzzles!

    Hamumu says ...
    May 4, 2011 @ 4:15pm

    This was awesome, a totally complete high class experience. What I fricking hated were the momentum puzzles - conceptually, I really liked them, but the auto-aligning always tried to align me to the wrong tile. Not that it was wrong, I was, but it still led to dozens of attempts for even basic puzzles. Maybe instead of auto-align, it should have "scoop you into a portal if you're close". But I persevered, because it was so interesting, and then came the next kind of challenge, and it got even more interesting! That was after I thought it would've ended, being an LD game. It's 5 stars.

    elbowroom says ...
    May 6, 2011 @ 10:30am

    Pure awesome, great game, very polished.. good puzzles, just the right size. Simply amazing work.

    *spoiler*:
    I love the way the portals allow you to super jump.:)

    iisjreg says ...
    May 6, 2011 @ 2:45pm

    5 million stars!
    Absolutely brilliant.
    I completely bypassed most of the window levels lol.

    May 6, 2011 @ 6:27pm

    Wow, what a gem. I love these games that are like, 'it's over... no it's NOT.'

    Great work, but I'm gonna need a walkthrough to clear it. :)

    TellusE says ...
    May 6, 2011 @ 9:34pm

    Excellent piece of work, sir!

    You twisted and extended the portal mechanics to the point that my face started to hurt. Excellent puzzles for such a short timeframe.

    Endurion says ...
    May 7, 2011 @ 8:16am

    Really good :)
    Interesting approach to the portal theme. I almost stopped playing at the end of stage 1. Glad I didn't. However I got stuck inside a wall in the house stage.
    Keep enhancing this, it's a really good mechanic!

    Mikhail Rudoy says ...
    May 7, 2011 @ 8:50pm

    I am EXTREMELY impressed. I wouldn't have been surprised to find this as a full fledged (including time commitment) project on kongregate.

    Mikhail Rudoy says ...
    May 7, 2011 @ 9:55pm

    I discovered a bug in one of the bonus levels... Despite shooting something which should open the portal, the game insisted that it was an impossible move. :\ But the game is still awesome.

    May 8, 2011 @ 7:33pm

    The "it's over"-screen is as brilliant as it is dangerous. There are probably some people who quit the game at that point.

    erik says ...
    May 22, 2011 @ 10:20pm

    Really solid. Very well done. The interface would be slightly nicer if the line showing where you are aiming was above the tiles instead of underneath. Perhaps highlighting the tile you will hit in real time would be good. Also, making the portals more forgiving when you are moving at high speeds would probably make things easier without compromising the challenge of the puzzles.

    Tom 7 says ...
    May 26, 2011 @ 4:09am

    Good game! Surprisingly hard!! Some of the puzzles were a bit too tight to be enjoyable, since part of puzzling for me is trying to figure out clever ways to defeat it, not just finding my way through a very rigid maze. But a very good entry.

    You must sign in to comment.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]