Now:
October Challenge 2014
Ends in:

Coming Soon:
Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

PST: 6 PM
*EST: 9 PM
UTC: 02:00

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.

Ludum Dare 31:
Ludum Deals
???
 
Recent:
MiniLD #XX

Ludum Dare 20

April 29th-May 2nd, 2011
Theme: It’s Dangerous to go Alone! Take this!

More Info: Ludum Dare 20 Has Begun! (Keynote), Theme Voting Results.

Back to Browse Entries

The Legend of Mulida - Nora Shishi - Competition Entry

Save the princess weathering the storm!

"Mulida" is a coined word I made mixing "Muri da" (means it's impossible in Japanese) and "Zelda".

The Japanese title is "Mulida no Densetsu".

I couldn't make the opening demo. It would be funny and one of the main features in this game. That was a shame.

I was also inspired by the Royal Wedding during the LD48 weekend.

By the way I recorded my own voice to make the damage sound. It was so embarrassing. XD

If you are a game news blogger could you mention the URL below instead because I can't touch this program anymore after the competition time.

http://noragames.com/flash/mulida.php

People can play the newest veriosn there. :-)

I enjoyed taking part in this LD anyway. Thank you so much! ;-)

[Flixel v2.43]

View Nora Shishi's journal. | View all entries by Nora Shishi

Ratings

#63Audio3.15
#77Graphics3.38
#108Fun3.00
#127Overall3.00
#136Innovation3.03
#148Humor2.43
#200Theme2.38
#243Coolness0%
#248Community1.81

Comments

Manuel777 says ...
May 2, 2011 @ 8:29am

Frustrating, but nice! :)

increpare says ...
May 2, 2011 @ 11:14am

haard but cool :)

quickfingers says ...
May 2, 2011 @ 3:44pm

cool. very tough but a good game

pgil says ...
May 2, 2011 @ 5:58pm

I get a weird issue with the controls. Usually the walking speed is really slow--but for some reason, when I have a youtube video playing in another tab, the game works the way it should. Maybe it's something to do with how Flash checks the mouse potition?

Anyway, it was fun when I got it to work.

eli says ...
May 3, 2011 @ 6:02am

I loved the simple music - the atmosphere is perfect.
Cool damage sound =)

Draknek says ...
May 3, 2011 @ 9:03pm

Pretty frustrating with falling off-screen being insta-kill.

Fairly solid apart from that though.

May 4, 2011 @ 3:20am

Really accessible and nice level design.

DrPetter says ...
May 5, 2011 @ 10:22am

I actually got pretty far before I realized there was more than a button for controls, thinking he would auto-run to the right. I got all the way to the Z-turn actually. In some ways it's easier when you don't stop and turn all the time. Presentation is neat, idea is funny, movement could have been more smooth. I would have liked a longer range of gradual speed control, so I could hover the mouse relatively close to the guy and walk slowly, or go further away to run. That way it would be more intuitive and fluid to do air control, land on platforms and dodge swords. Either that, or normal keyboard controls which are easier to "pulse" for fine adjustments. The furthest I got in the end was "NORAGA".

AndrewBC says ...
May 5, 2011 @ 3:57pm

Tough, but awesome!

superflat says ...
May 5, 2011 @ 7:58pm

のらさん。。。すごいよ。これ本当に楽しくて面白いです!

I had a lot of fun playing with it. The controls are nice if a little bit strange - - not sure if you need to be able to go backwards (I usually got hurt if I tried.) The way the swords accelerate into the screen is a really nice touch to what could have been fairly random without it. Also liked the sounds and title screen.

I saw ortoslon's video of him playing - the guy is a machine! I have no idea how he managed it haha.

elbowroom says ...
May 6, 2011 @ 12:38pm

I think a keyboard control option would have been helpful..
The way the swords enter the screen randomly.. with the slow response I get when I move the mouse around can make the gameplay less responsive for casual players.. maybe there should be a novice and expert option? interesting game. Starts off too difficult to my taste.
I love the graphics though.

alexlarioza says ...
May 10, 2011 @ 12:10am

There have been quite a few games with mouse-only controls this LD. Never the less, nice zelda take. =]

mwest says ...
May 21, 2011 @ 6:59pm

Found the mouse-only controls to be a bit of a frustrating gimmick so I didn't really enjoy this :(...

Good looking and sounding entry though, well done!

PJ Pretorius says ...
May 22, 2011 @ 10:09am

Fun little game, was quite a challenge.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]