Ludum Dare 31
Theme:
Entire Game on One Screen

Judging ends in:
It’s time to Play and Rate Games!

PlayRate80Star

April 29th-May 2nd, 2011
Theme: It’s Dangerous to go Alone! Take this!

More Info: Ludum Dare 20 Has Begun! (Keynote), Theme Voting Results.

Back to Browse Entries

Elidia

by brandoncash - Competition Entry

Use your mouse to guide the ship. Items will appear to help you stay alive.

Try to stay alive as long as possible!

You're going to want your speakers on for this one. You can use the + or - keys to adjust volume in game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#20Audio3.65
#87Fun3.18
#95Humor2.80
#95Overall3.15
#192Innovation2.62
#203Community2.18
#204Coolness1%
#208Theme2.32
#227Graphics2.35

Comments

DeadlyJoe says ...
May 2, 2011 @ 4:28am

Very simple, but quite challenging. The quippy female voice adds some depth to it. Great job. :)

Jacob says ...
May 2, 2011 @ 5:44am

Nice VO, difficult as heck. I had trouble figuring out it was an avoider game for a while as the white circle is not too telling.
Solid though!

Zillix says ...
May 2, 2011 @ 6:36am

Loved the voice! The mouse seemed to lag a bit, but that just might be my experience.

zlash says ...
May 2, 2011 @ 2:45pm

Simple and fun.
The voiceovers were great.

May 3, 2011 @ 12:07pm

As others said, the voice was pretty cool ! The game itself was quite hard, too. But nice nonetheless !

Rikkard says ...
May 3, 2011 @ 2:22pm

Oh wow, when I played before I must not have had sound on. I love the voice acting. Game itself is simple and fun. Excellent first game!

Hamumu says ...
May 3, 2011 @ 9:11pm

The collision is downright dirty! You can get smacked for being glared at by enemies. My other complaint is the guys appearing out of nowhere - would be better if they flew on from offscreen, so you weren't constantly worried that one would pop right by you. Otherwise it was cool, and different. I wish I could've stocked up powerups instead of being penalized for not using them.

May 3, 2011 @ 11:47pm

Nice minimal approach!

The enemies should spawn on the edge and come in, or at least shimmer or something before materializing, lots of cheap deaths.

57 my record!

Winterblood says ...
May 4, 2011 @ 3:12pm

Collision is on a hair trigger, but some fun powerups.

Danik says ...
May 9, 2011 @ 8:15pm

I thought of two things that could be improved.
Firstly, the distance for collision is too short and unforgiving. You die before you feel like you got hit, which was frustrating.
Secondly, the enemies seem to spawn anywhere, sometimes right in front of you at speed, leading to an instant death. Maybe better to spawn them off screen.
Other than that, nice simple game. I like the voice instructions and commentary.

Frib says ...
May 10, 2011 @ 12:27am

Like the others said, the collision detection is a bit dodgy. Other than that, circling the four corners makes it relatively easy (except for the random spawns). Good job though.

alexlarioza says ...
May 10, 2011 @ 10:31pm

There were some obvious portal influences here. ;] I really enjoyed it! The females voice was probably the best part.

Couple things I didn't like: enemies spawning in the middle of the arena, enemies spawning on top of you when the game starts, and the lack of more enemies.

ACodeGerm says ...
May 16, 2011 @ 2:49am

The voice made it!

Nice twist on the move "mouse to dodge stuff" genre.

thristhart says ...
May 16, 2011 @ 8:19pm

My best time was 145.

natpat says ...
May 17, 2011 @ 11:03am

Pretty fun - the upgrades were nice, and the voice gave it an excellent touch :)

idanmiller says ...
May 17, 2011 @ 11:33am

The game is fun to play!

What bothered me most was that the collision detection is not accurate. It's so much fun to go right by some triangles, but since the collision occurs in a bit of a distance, sometimes you die unexpectedly.

Loved all the different weapons :)

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]