Ludum Dare 31
Theme:
Entire Game on One Screen

Judging ends in:
It’s time to Play and Rate Games!

PlayRate80Star

April 29th-May 2nd, 2011
Theme: It’s Dangerous to go Alone! Take this!

More Info: Ludum Dare 20 Has Begun! (Keynote), Theme Voting Results.

Back to Browse Entries

Unknown Planet

by Stalker_23b - Competition Entry

Survival shooter on unknown planet with alien monsters and quest element.

Tools used:
-Unity
-3ds max
-Photoshop
-Bfxr
-Audacity
-Free voice synth online

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#4Graphics4.43
#4Community4.00
#9Overall3.86
#33Fun3.55
#34Audio3.45
#83Theme3.09
#119Coolness5%
#183Humor2.17
#192Innovation2.62

Comments

Stalker_23b says ...
May 2, 2011 @ 12:08am

Timelapse
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uESk8_Av0-s

huhwhozat says ...
May 2, 2011 @ 4:41am

Pretty tough first time out - died with the AR fighting the big red guys - but the production quality strikes me as excellent. I'm interested to know where you found the voice synth?

Stalker_23b says ...
May 2, 2011 @ 10:39am

Thanks!
Voice Synth _with effects_ is here:
http://www.cepstral.com/demos/

quickfingers says ...
May 2, 2011 @ 3:33pm

Wow, one of the best! it felt great

mintman says ...
May 2, 2011 @ 11:33pm

Great work! Very nice graphics: the filters and eerie lighting are a nice touch, and the animations are pretty solid. Sound is solid. I like the gameplay idea.
On the other hand, the game can get kind of frustrating. It felt I was walking too slowly, and that I had to be very precise with my aim. The game could have benefited from some music. Some more downtime so I'm not constantly shooting (unless it's like, the final run back to the ship) would be cool too.
Even with the flaws, it is the best game I've played so far.

Stalker_23b says ...
May 3, 2011 @ 8:35am

Thank you! Actually, enemies don't use animations, they move in physics ragdoll mode. And they can't go faster, because physics will look strange. Thats why player is moving so slow - to be on par with enemies)

And yes, gameplay suffer from constant shooting and is repetetive. I just spent too much time on making enemies and visuals, and late to add some gameplay variation, sadly.

tonic says ...
May 3, 2011 @ 3:02pm

I almost didn't realize the 1st voice transcript box was also a button, and thought that the controls were broken! Nice fx + animation. The game is quite hard. :)

KoryWazHere says ...
May 4, 2011 @ 12:44pm

Games a bit hard but that's probably good as there's not much to it, so it's a nice challenge =)

Lovely game

May 5, 2011 @ 3:16pm

Really liked the voice synth, and enemy motion was pretty creepy.

The controls threw me off a bit but once I got a handle on them it was fun to explore.

Good work on submitting a 3D game, I know how hard it is to put one together in such a short time.

qrunchmonkey says ...
May 6, 2011 @ 3:22am

Seems like the lighting isn't working right on my setup (running Win XP under Parallels VM on an iMac) - the player's flashlight looks nothing like the screenshots.

Gameplay was fun...right up until those flying squid things started murdering me all over the place.

Endurion says ...
May 7, 2011 @ 6:24am

Really good :)
Getting overwhelmed is too easy (probably me getting greedy). A bit more variation would be nice. Right now you're basically running backwards, firing and trying to collect minerals.

Danik says ...
May 7, 2011 @ 10:23pm

Got swarmed when I had about 49 minerals 5 times over, cursing. Super frustrating, but that just means the game is engaging. :)
And maybe a bit hard... 70% of the bullets seem to miss the target.
But beautiful graphics, good sound and nice gameplay!

Cirrial says ...
May 8, 2011 @ 3:16pm

Couldn't get it to run on my system, textures flickering and the screen flickering to black a lot. Looks amazing from the video, though.

Stalker_23b says ...
May 8, 2011 @ 8:06pm

Thank you all for your comments!

Yes, the game is way too hard, good lesson for me. It is so because i have fear of game being too easy ) And i have so little time to actually play the game and balance it...

d0sboots says ...
Jul 17, 2011 @ 6:09am

This game is actually reasonably doable, once you know the right strategy.

Initially I was blazing away, killing everything in sight. I'd always get overwhelmed right before getting the mini-gun, around 40-45 minerals.

But then I began to develop my "farm bugs" strategy. The little bug-aliens are only slightly faster than you, and they move in a very predictable way. It's easy to move around them in gradual circles without getting hit, and it only gets easy when there are a lot of them. (They get in each other's way.) If you use only accurate weapons (basically, not the shotgun,) and kill everything that *isn't* a bug, eventually bugs will spawn to fill in the gaps. You spend most of the game not shooting, leading your collection around. And it's easy to park the swarm on the rocks by your ship, if you need to get more health.

For fun, I killed my swarm at 100 minerals to see what what happen. I got overwhelmed in seconds. I don't think this is winnable any other way. :|

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]