About | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post
Construction1990’s Internet Montage? No!
Please excuse the site weirdness. Mike is fixing and making things.
Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014!

  • ??? Begins: in 8 days, 14 hours, 15 minutes, 55 seconds
  • October Ends: in 9 days, 14 hours, 27 minutes, 55 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 44 days, 15 hours, 15 minutes, 55 seconds
  • (FYI: Clock might be off) | Ludum Dare 31: Real World Gatherings (Now Open!)

    [ October Challenge 2014 | Resources | Submit/Edit | View All ]


    Ludum Dare 20

    April 29th-May 2nd, 2011
    Theme: It’s Dangerous to go Alone! Take this!

    More Info: Ludum Dare 20 Has Begun! (Keynote), Theme Voting Results.

    Back to Browse Entries

    Resurgon Futuron - DrPetter - Competition Entry

    Control your ship with the arrow keys. Collect blue particles and avoid empty areas (don't visit the same spot twice!)

    Unfortunately I wasted time and didn't manage to complete all images for the intro sequence. Maybe I'll add some content for the jam, or later.

    View DrPetter's journal. | View all entries by DrPetter

    Ratings

    Innovation4.35
    #29Fun3.61
    #30Graphics3.87
    #37Overall3.52
    #67Coolness9%
    #75Community3.13
    #170Theme2.57
    #231Audio1.53
    #248Humor1.80

    Comments

    Danik says ...
    May 2, 2011 @ 4:16pm

    Interesting game.

    The controls were good and the circles helped a lot for knowing when you were leaving the sphere.

    A little hard to get a grip on the perspective, it "flipped" on me a few times and it felt like the controls got inverted. :P

    erik says ...
    May 3, 2011 @ 1:43am

    Very cool graphics. It's fun to fly around, but because it can be hard to understand your position, dying can be a bit frustrating.

    Gopher says ...
    May 3, 2011 @ 8:05am

    I want to love this but I was having major depth perception issues with it, hard to tell really where you are or where you're going. Looks and feels great tho, and very original concept

    Johnicholas says ...
    May 3, 2011 @ 12:14pm

    This works for "Build the level you play, too."

    mwest says ...
    May 3, 2011 @ 6:39pm

    Fun flying mechanic, but I also had some difficulty seeing where I'm going, taking away any sense of control / strategy... Very nice graphics!

    Flyboy says ...
    May 4, 2011 @ 12:29am

    I liked this game. The graphics are very cool, I love the circles when leaving the sphere. The controls were a tad undwieldy, and I think the camera being closer to the ship might have helped.

    Gobo says ...
    May 4, 2011 @ 2:55am

    Excellent game, so fun.

    randomnine says ...
    May 4, 2011 @ 10:42am

    Fun game. Controls and camera are very tight - it feels good.

    Depth perception is a problem. I recommend lighting up particles near the ship, as if they were illuminated by the ship's thrusters, and likewise having some kind of shadow on the surface which indicates how close you are to it.

    The game encourages tedious, safe strategies because the levels are so demanding (you need to collect a very high percentage of the blue particles; maybe reduce this) and unforgiving (you die very easily, and can lose a minute or two's worth of effort). All levels except level 2 are vulnerable to a single degenerate strategy - repeatedly flying parallel lines (in level 4, down the vertical axis, and in levels 3 and 4, looping around outside the sphere until a path is safe and free). Level 2 was far more fun because it was shorter (so risks were more acceptable) and forced you to really engage with the controls.

    May 4, 2011 @ 5:43pm

    This was so pretty and mesmerizing.

    The screenshot doesn't really do it justice. Must be played to be appreciated!

    Thanks for making this.

    May 5, 2011 @ 6:48pm

    Ohh, someonemade an artsy-fartsy game^^ (not serious. we need more of those)

    It's quite beautiful in its simplicity.

    eli says ...
    May 6, 2011 @ 12:19pm

    Beautiful and mesmerizer graphics! Spot on. The best part was being able to leave intricate designs behind the jet.

    Despite many tries, I couldn't even pass the first level. (And I just spent three years doing spherical integrals [not that that means anything].) I don't think I can add anything that Randomnine hasn't already said (good analysis, that).

    Would have been nice to be able to see the other levels. I hope you make an enhanced version incorporating some of the suggestions here.

    TellusE says ...
    May 6, 2011 @ 1:38pm

    Very impressive product. Small file size, large gameplay value.

    I agree with the general notion that it's very difficult to place yourself within the sphere. Notably I think it's because of a lack of actual depth in the game view. Adding something akin to a minimap to show how deep you're into the sphere would suffice, I think.

    Excellent :)

    elbowroom says ...
    May 7, 2011 @ 8:21am

    Hi :)
    I loved it.
    It reminded me of Descent on the PC.
    The graphics are very nice like this.. however I think it might help if the camera was *a lot* closer to the vehicle..
    I am pretty addicted to this.
    *spoiler*
    .
    .
    .
    I completed two stages.. then got killed by the ionization trail or whatever it's called...

    DrPetter says ...
    May 9, 2011 @ 1:00pm

    Thanks for the comments. Initially I had envisioned a static view of the whole sphere in the center of the screen, sort of placed on a table with a tiny ship flying through it. Turned out too difficult to judge and control the path with completely detached camera like that though, so I made it trailing. Keeping the distance somewhat large was my way of maintaining a bit of that first idea. If I pull it in closer it will probably be easier to play, but maybe less of a unique experience. Attempted a "shadow" projected onto the closest point of the sphere, but it will rotate and lead your position which makes it quite confusing. It would probably have to be limited to some more static direction, like "down", but that has a number of other issues attached. It's not simple and elegant. A map would be distracting as it divides your attention, and it's hard to do in 3D without the same problems as the main gameplay view. We'll see if I get around to doing a polished version with more content and less tedium.

    leandro says ...
    May 11, 2011 @ 5:42pm

    It's a really cool game! but I agree with the other users in the Depth perseption stuff..

    Also, I actually kinda liked the work in progress graphics better than the final ones. In the youtube video I could understand the depth pretty well. I think that the purple line trail was easier to understand than de red dots trail. Plus the more separated and bigger stars in the video helped to know where you were placed. Or at least that's the sensation the youtube video gave me.

    But seriously, really cool!

    You must sign in to comment.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]