December 17th-20th, 2010
Theme: Discovery

More Info: /ludum-dare-19-has-begun/

Back to Browse Entries

Hey, Person!

by barigorokarl - Competition Entry

This is a Browser only entry, all you need is a html5 capable browser.
Move by wasd.
All people talk to you when you're near them.
If you stay to long you have to listen and their story unfolds.
Decide, which story you want to follow through.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#17Innovation3.81
#23Coolness19%
#28Theme3.86
#37Humor3.00
#77Community3.19
#114Overall2.86
#175Fun2.29
#186Graphics2.33
#197Audio1.00

Comments

Ryan says ...
Dec 20, 2010 @ 5:31am

I got accused of being him reborn again. XD
Nice character style. The look of the rooms got kind of repetitive after a while.

increpare says ...
Dec 20, 2010 @ 9:37am

It was a bit disorienting, and there was some slight lack of cohesion to the experience for me - all the conversations blended together and I ended up shuffling about randomly waiting for the next line to appear if the person mentioned wasn't in an adjacent room. Which wasn't a bit deal. The BIG tile-based movement felt funky to me (seemed by design, rather than a bug).

barigorokarl says ...
Dec 20, 2010 @ 11:22am

Ryan: Yay! That "Grandpa was WHAT?" thing was excactly what I was aiming for, thanks! :-)

increpare: yeah, it's a little bit unfinished I know, at least it works. Buildind the engine from scratch in javascript took a lot of time. ;-)

thanks for reviewing!

And the grocery-story IS really confusing, I had something different in mind and couldn't finish it properly.

ladron says ...
Dec 20, 2010 @ 11:07pm

Interesting, strange little game. I found the fact that I was constantly running into people with the dialog pop-ups a bit distracting.

Endurion says ...
Dec 21, 2010 @ 10:29am

Yay, Chtulhu FTW :)
Other than that, the blending conversations when you keep moving are majorly confusing.

HTML5 is the java of the '10s. :P

badlydrawnrod says ...
Dec 21, 2010 @ 3:55pm

Biggest problem I encountered was the implementation of the dialog boxes, as they kept blocking the scene. Liked the idea - nice to see something a bit different.

Sos says ...
Dec 21, 2010 @ 8:33pm

*pant* I *pant* AM *pant* YOUR *pant* FATHER *pant pant pant*

stevejohnson says ...
Dec 22, 2010 @ 5:32am

I wish I had been able to avoid talking to someone whenever I moved. Other than that, I really loved the format and with a bit of polish I could play this for quite a long time.

Hamumu says ...
Dec 22, 2010 @ 4:17pm

Was it running too fast? I had to like super-tap to zip past someone without accidentally getting their story piece, I couldn't actually look where I was going or I would get caught. It didn't seem like that was the intent. And yeah, the huge movement and huge dialogs covering things was problematic. I also got what must be a technical problem, in that "ask X for more info", but you could get it from other people. I don't know, I'm so confused. Especially over the cursed heritage I earned. And I'm not sure how it's my heritage... it told me what he was like, but doesn't say anything about what that makes me. Does it? Again, so confused!

jolle says ...
Dec 22, 2010 @ 4:30pm

Interesting piece of storytelling. I investigated all the stories, I think.

barigorokarl says ...
Dec 22, 2010 @ 10:08pm

After this comments I'm sure I WILL polish this game. I think you're all right, the layout of the screen and the dialog boxes are very confusing.
It would be nice to see the map and the names of the persons standing around.
Other than that I would like to keep that "you have to talk to everyone, if you're not fast enough to run away".
But I'll try to resolve that another way, maybe the people will come towards you if you step onto a square and if they are near enough they will talk ;-)

mjau says ...
Dec 23, 2010 @ 6:09pm

Interesting idea, but the implementation could be better .. the speech pops up so fast you have to REALLY run for it to not "get caught", you can't see much of where you're going if you're going upwards (that huge speech box blocks a lot), and you don't really have any idea what someone will say before they say it. That's last bit is part of the discovery, of course, but it might be nice with some hints about what you were going to hear, like the person's general opinion about the grandfather, or having several snippets of text that you could walk out on at any time (maybe even walk away mid-sentence), and then later continue from there with someone else -- you kinda have part of that with the multiple persons telling the story thing, but the way you did that feels really disjointed, since the next part is told by a seemingly random person for no apparent reason. It felt artificial. Actually the entire story I got felt pretty disjointed, and this only amplified that, I guess. I think just having several choices of which person to go to next for a particular story would improve things, along with giving various people a bit of personality so you'd have some vague idea of the direction a particular person's tale was going to take (though you might get surprised, of course).

sirGustav says ...
Jan 10, 2011 @ 10:57pm

I found the full-room-move and the constant chatter of nearby people to be irritating. It might have been me but people seemed to say the same thing to me after I left and came back, I would rather have a talk-to button instead of auto-talk-to button if that makes any sense.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]