December 17th-20th, 2010
Theme: Discovery

More Info: /ludum-dare-19-has-begun/

Back to Browse Entries

1958 BNL

by ExciteMike - Competition Entry

Controls are just the mouse position and clicking, other than that, discover how it works on your own!

UPDATE: The game itself has not been changed, but I added a link directly to the swf for playing it at larger sizes if you want.

Declarations:
- Made use of the Stego AS3 game framework. (https://bitbucket.org/excitemike/stego)
- Music made with a slightly modified version of the Autotracker script by GreaseMonkey. (See http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2010/12/14/for-those-of-you-who-cant-make-music/) I also used some of the samples from that post.
- Sound effects were made with SFXR
- Used the Tuffy font by Thatcher Ulrich
- Used http://excitemike.com/levelmash/ for level ideas

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#13Innovation3.87
#23Community3.84
#28Fun3.56
#30Overall3.59
#31Audio3.44
#54Coolness10%
#75Theme3.36
#93Humor2.45
#111Graphics2.92

Comments

Zelgad says ...
Dec 20, 2010 @ 1:42am

awesome idea, liked the gameplay alot. You could have made some harder parts tho. But the general idea is good and works nicely with the simple controls. The ending "discovery" was nice too.

Dec 20, 2010 @ 3:07am

Cool! Really nice how you combined the wall jump mechanic with the puzzle mechanic. Unfortunately I got stuck after a while (it was just too hard - a place where you need to jump quite high and avoid all red bars). It was also a bit annoying when I clicked outside the window. Maybe keyboard controls could resolve this.

monk says ...
Dec 20, 2010 @ 3:26am

This game was awesome. The mechanic was used very cleverly and the puzzles impressive. I imagine more could follow! :)

I played it all through the way through :) Definitely a very neat and complete feeling puzzle platformer. I guess my only critique would be that I didn't like the music that much. :P

stevejohnson says ...
Dec 20, 2010 @ 4:49am

Interesting idea. Tough to control and a little monotonous after a short time (two criticisms I would also level against my own game).

Furyhunter says ...
Dec 20, 2010 @ 5:20am

The music. It's amazing.

toadfrogs says ...
Dec 20, 2010 @ 10:30am

The audio was great, but about the gameplay is a bit repetitive...

toadfrogs says ...
Dec 20, 2010 @ 10:30am

The audio and graphics were great, but about the gameplay is a bit repetitive...

Draknek says ...
Dec 20, 2010 @ 11:57am

Kept clicking offscreen but not much that can be done about that. (Although, maybe embed the SWF with whole-screen width, with the game centred in that?)

Anything requiring clicking just after going to a new screen is tricky because the mouse needs to be in a totally different place.

TheGrieve says ...
Dec 20, 2010 @ 4:01pm

Quality stuff, annoying in all the right ways. Bit more polish, and slightly refined controls and I would fork out a few quid for the extended version :)

increpare says ...
Dec 20, 2010 @ 5:08pm

Control styles were pretty hard for me - I think the single-screen setup didn't work well for me - I kept on clicking outside of the control area (or wanting to). The cost of failure for some of the bits was really too high for me (lots of backtracking necessitated in my playthrough as I failed over and over again). I explored a fair bit, though. Frustrating :(

but, you know, not bad at all :)

ThatSnail says ...
Dec 20, 2010 @ 7:25pm

Such a neat concept. Found the secret room but didn't know what to do with it.

And lulz at the ending. Portal throwback anyone?

Very nice job.

alexlarioza says ...
Dec 20, 2010 @ 10:35pm

Wonderful. =] I love the game play.

arielsan says ...
Dec 21, 2010 @ 4:45pm

I love the music :D
Game mechanics are interesting, a bit frustrating some times, but great game indeed.
Nice timelapse!!

plams says ...
Dec 21, 2010 @ 6:06pm

Interesting gameplay! As with any maze-y game, I'd really like something to help me keep track of where I've been and where I'm going. The last game where I thought that drawing maps with pencil and paper was fun was Hacker II :-) (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hacker_2)

refrag says ...
Dec 21, 2010 @ 10:01pm

I like where you were going with this, but the controls killed it for me. I also had troubles with clicking outside the game window. I really wanted to keep going! But the controls made it too frustrating/difficult :(

Dec 22, 2010 @ 4:51pm

Full marks for combining several great mechanics and producing something this polished in 48.

Bravo!

KoryWazHere says ...
Dec 23, 2010 @ 1:04pm

Well, that was strange ;P

elbowroom says ...
Dec 29, 2010 @ 12:26am

Very interesting mechanics and excellent level architecture that bring out the shine in this gem.
One of the best games in this competition imho

I enjoyed every minute of it.
It was very well polished and tested.

Thanks for the fun experience.

Endurion says ...
Dec 29, 2010 @ 6:48am

Great game!
So there is cake after all :)
Very nice mechanic, nifty puzzles not borderline frustrating and good length. Only niggle is that clicking outside the window is annoying.

id0001 says ...
Dec 31, 2010 @ 9:59am

Great gameplay, it was pretty hard though to get those rainbow pieces.

hdon says ...
Jan 3, 2011 @ 7:25am

I really enjoyed your game :)

The ending was especially rewarding! "RAINBOW MODE" and the knowledge that I could suddenly go through all the barriers was a lot of fun, and then there was CAKE

Gornova says ...
Jan 7, 2011 @ 5:10pm

Good game, gameplay is simple and intuitive, is annoying that some part of the level are just jumping around doing nothing because my last move was hit a wall :(

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]