December 17th-20th, 2010
Theme: Discovery

More Info: /ludum-dare-19-has-begun/

Back to Browse Entries

Light Source

by flashkick - Competition Entry

Objective:
Reach the exit to win.

Instructions:
Use the ARROW keys or WASD keys to move.
Use Z or SPACE to brighten up the room.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#42Innovation3.52
#56Theme3.52
#98Overall2.96
#102Audio2.55
#105Coolness5%
#130Fun2.65
#137Graphics2.70
#161Humor1.83
#212Community1.50

Comments

FireSlash says ...
Dec 20, 2010 @ 4:04am

Has a lot of potential... resetting back to the beginning when you hit a wall is pretty harsh though.

acidninja says ...
Dec 20, 2010 @ 4:22am

It's a frustrator for sure, but that's OK with me. Everyone needs to rage a little from time to time.

Sos says ...
Dec 20, 2010 @ 8:52pm

Hard. I love crashing against the wall tho.

Tom 7 says ...
Dec 21, 2010 @ 5:29am

Hah, I was assigned to rate your game. First thing I noticed: It uses my font "Action Jackson" on the title screen! :)

This is a good concept for a game. I like the effect of firing the flash bulb, and it was instantly recognizable what to do. The maze is actually pretty hard, defeating my instincts about where the exit would be, several times.
I won! After practicing the early part of the maze, I was able to navigate between the batteries with only maybe 2 flashes each. Definitely room for a 'hard' mode.

Dec 21, 2010 @ 9:47pm

Nice, finished it pretty fast, after some frustration, but just the right amount of challenge. Could have use levels with a steady progression in difficulty. But overall a very nice way to spend a couple of minutes.

Fififox says ...
Dec 21, 2010 @ 10:55pm

The concept is really interesting, the graphics look oldschool, overall a good game, although it's really hard to succeed... I cannot access your "journal", so put n/a in "community".

Dec 22, 2010 @ 1:08am

Overall, just great! The light stays on just long enough to make it entirely possible to get to the next battery. Not sure what teh goal was, apart from exploring deeper and deeper into the maze. Is there an exist? Powerups other than batteries? Who knows. Great work! I'd love each battery to be a "save point".

kurtwaldowski says ...
Dec 22, 2010 @ 6:39am

Wow really neat concept. I liked it a lot! It was amazing to me how hard it was to mentally note where the boundaries were just seconds after they disappeared! Sometimes I would creep around and activate a flash bulb and see myself just a few pixels away from death xD

Squax says ...
Dec 22, 2010 @ 12:34pm

Nice! Hard, but nice! Would be cool if you had some sort of checkpoint system in place, to make death less painful. But that's just me being whiny cause I died a lot ^^

Starspell says ...
Dec 22, 2010 @ 4:36pm

More instructions would be nice i.e. that the burners replenish your light source.

The audio was really annoying and the controls are very flaky. You keep on moving after releasing the button and that combined with strange level design means that you hits walls which you knew were there. I expect this was supposed to be a grid like game put the levels and movement really don' reflect that.

As a game concept I think it's a nice idea however I don't think this execution is right. I also second everyone else saying that the last burner/battery you get to should be your next spawn point - especially since you don't know which way is the correct direction.

Dec 23, 2010 @ 12:14am

Nice concept, and quite hard to.
God job

wizbane says ...
Dec 23, 2010 @ 9:33pm

I'd change the wall collision, or at least make them look dangerous, like spikes etc. And the controls could be less slippery, If you improved those couple things and added a bit more gradual difficulty curve, I think you'd have a real solid game!

Endurion says ...
Dec 31, 2010 @ 3:10pm

Pretty neat game, albeit damn unforgiving.
Resetting to the start is pretty frustrating, esp. with the rather floaty control. Still managed to beat it.
One or two checkpoints would help along nicely.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]