December 17th-20th, 2010
Theme: Discovery

More Info: /ludum-dare-19-has-begun/

Back to Browse Entries

It's A Frickin' CAVE

by Hempuli - Competition Entry

It's A Frickin' CAVE was my silly attempt at making an action-based roguelikeish thing in the 20+ hours I had after I scrapped my previous entry. It works pretty well but gets boring fast and is possibly hard to control.

I hope you enjoy!

Controls:
S - attack/use
D - pick up
A - change the item at hand

Remember to click the screen before playing to set the focus!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#15Fun3.80
#15Graphics3.89
#28Overall3.60
#32Community3.76
#60Humor2.77
#75Audio2.79
#89Theme3.26
#89Coolness6%
#144Innovation2.54

Comments

hsmith says ...
Dec 20, 2010 @ 1:12am

this might be my favorite =x

Noel says ...
Dec 20, 2010 @ 3:20am

haha, this is pretty awesome. Really liking this!

ACodeGerm says ...
Dec 20, 2010 @ 4:36am

Awesome little roguelike. The little fog of war turns this from good to great!

Everything fits really well together, fully realized little idea. Loved your timelapse as well. Can't believe you got this done after restarting in the middle. Guess I'll have to look at MMF :P

wizbane says ...
Dec 20, 2010 @ 6:49am

Excellent job, especially after a reboot! I'm thinking the collision with front facing walls could be a little closer, but other than that, you've got a really slick game.

increpare says ...
Dec 20, 2010 @ 11:41am

First time I play, I spawn in a wall. IN A WALL.

Twice, out of my first three games.

then i got about okay, got a welding mask. wasn't sure what it did. And I got killed by a rangeeeed monster nasty dude.

Hempuli says ...
Dec 20, 2010 @ 3:21pm

Hmm, that's unfortunate, but I must say that it has been only twice or thrice that has happened to me. I'll look into it in case I release a post-compo version.

Dec 20, 2010 @ 8:52pm

Zombies, Skeletons, Creepers... I've never played anything like it!!

Anyways, great game. I didn't get very far, but it was really fun, at least what I tried. The controls were really unique, it was good! I liked all the different types of potions. Sometimes winning was based on luck, but it was still fun, lots of variety.

(If you want to do me a favor, review my game http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-19/?action=rate&uid=3484 ) Thanks!

ladron says ...
Dec 21, 2010 @ 1:18am

Nice, well-executed game. Good job.

Dec 21, 2010 @ 6:12am

Ugh... push-back. But then I encountered a creeper and I was all-forgiving.

Excellent execution, thank you for making this. :)

Benjamin says ...
Dec 21, 2010 @ 10:21am

I have seen some monsters outside the dungeon, but the game is very nice ans extremly fun to play. The action part is well tuned, feel like playing SNES Zelda :)

jagttt says ...
Dec 21, 2010 @ 3:31pm

The game gets funky when you get the mask. I like the art and the slashing effects very much. Can we have the source please?

Hempuli says ...
Dec 21, 2010 @ 6:21pm

whoops! I forgot to re-add it! Doing that right away!

ThatSnail says ...
Dec 21, 2010 @ 7:39pm

Lololol is that a creeper?? :D

Very good presentation, graphics, and gameplay. Impressive how you did this after starting over once.

Sos says ...
Dec 21, 2010 @ 9:06pm

This reminds me of gauntlet! cool!

devinmoore says ...
Dec 22, 2010 @ 4:07pm

The movement seems smooth until the light source adjusts, and then the stuttering effect is out of sync. If it either moved a space at a time or smoothly, I'm sure it would look fine.

Starspell says ...
Dec 22, 2010 @ 7:25pm

I like this game a lot. It would be more atmospheric with music however and I would have liked (instead of invincibility at the beginning) to just not have enemies spawned near me at the beginning.

The player sprite is really well made and the enemies have a good variety to them.

plams says ...
Dec 22, 2010 @ 7:55pm

Very nice little dungeon crawler :) I think I found a cursed welding mask.

Hempuli says ...
Dec 22, 2010 @ 11:23pm

devinmoore and Starspell, I agree with your points. Shall edit the game thusly in future.

Dec 23, 2010 @ 5:42am

Epic job, there is only one thing that can be said:
CREEEPPEERRRRR!!!!

ethankennerly says ...
Dec 23, 2010 @ 9:12pm

I like the attack sounds and the black corner tiles and brown palette, and the red fill when I die. But I died quickly, before I got cool toys to play with. I wasn't sure at first what determines when I get hit. I thought my timing was pretty good, but I must be missing some cue.

Endurion says ...
Dec 24, 2010 @ 3:28pm

Very well done!
Some parts are down to luck (the ghost is nasty when you're in a dead end with one HP left).
The most annoying thing is the jerking light circle, please please make it move smooth.

dertom says ...
Dec 25, 2010 @ 12:59pm

Great roguelike,...good job!

Hempuli says ...
Dec 25, 2010 @ 1:03pm

Fixed the light circle and removed the ghost altogether.
In case someone cares, you can play the in-progress updated version anytime at www.hempuli.com/rogue2.html

drZool says ...
Dec 26, 2010 @ 8:57am

The inventory controls were a bit odd, but I think the game is good. A bit like Gauntlet.

LegacyCrono says ...
Dec 26, 2010 @ 4:56pm

Good game! The bugs makes it almost unplayable, though.

Hempuli says ...
Dec 27, 2010 @ 8:35pm

I'm not totally sure what bugs you're referring to in this case, apart from the occasional inside-walls spawning.

sfernald says ...
Dec 30, 2010 @ 5:45pm

cute game. I really like the character graphics and animations. You are an expert with working effectively with some amounts of pixels.

Also impressed that you generated the game levels. That keeps it fresh.

Combat is fun and I love drawing the enemies into the spikes.

Even though it is a familiar genre, you made clever innovations to keep it fresh.

hdon says ...
Dec 31, 2010 @ 9:19am

There are a couple of bugs but other than that it's okay.

LD needs a bug tracker for the compo entries!

hdon says ...
Jan 1, 2011 @ 12:53am

The helmet of numbness' blur effect makes the game VERY SLOW. At first I thought it was meant to be this way, but then I saw my CPU usage spike when I got it

hyperlogic says ...
Jan 1, 2011 @ 2:13am

Very fun, I enjoyed playing it

philomory says ...
Jan 6, 2011 @ 1:28am

A cute little game, though the difficulty seems a bit off in the beginning; also, on first play it performs well (though it degrades a bit as you explore more), but it really takes a dive when I start a new game, I have to refresh the page each time I die to keep it playable. Of course, that's not really the game's fault, I have only 5+ year old computers to play it on.

Anyway, good game. I didn't really discover anything, but maybe I didn't get deep enough.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]