December 17th-20th, 2010
Theme: Discovery

More Info: /ludum-dare-19-has-begun/

Back to Browse Entries

Terra Nova

by BadgerPriest - Competition Entry

I interpreted the theme of Discovery as exploration and created a game based on Captain Robert Scott's failed Antarctic expedition. The objective is to reach the South Pole, and, more importantly, to return to your ship safely. I have to credit Oregon Trail for giving me some inspiration, though I added a navigational element to it.

Up/down keys move and left/right keys turn. Other controls are described in the game.

Tools used: Flash MX 2004 (old-school, I know), Paint.NET, Audacity, Finale Notepad, SFXR, GXSCC, and several public-domain photos and MIDI files.

My highest score so far is 1095.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#8Theme4.20
#31Coolness17%
#63Audio2.94
#66Innovation3.25
#74Humor2.63
#89Overall3.00
#94Fun2.85
#224Graphics1.85
#232Community1.11

Comments

r4m0n says ...
Dec 20, 2010 @ 5:57am

Great idea! Else than the random scurvy deaths, it was pretty fun to play it :-)

pythong says ...
Dec 20, 2010 @ 11:31am

Gameplay was fine. Though I reached the South Pole first, I stopped playing when I was told to get back - 4 men died already - and i guess the last would have died, too :/ (300+ rations left). The controls were kinda strange and unnatural because you used something like polar coordinates? It would be great if you could polish your drawing skills for the future ;)

Also, the intro was too long. I got annoyed at some point and just clicked it away

bmfs says ...
Dec 20, 2010 @ 4:36pm

nice, funny, stopped playing when I was told I had to get back to the ship... me I my other mate that survived :P

stevejohnson says ...
Dec 20, 2010 @ 4:59pm

It took me a while to figure out the funky control scheme. It's like you're rotating the entire world, not your party...

TheGrieve says ...
Dec 20, 2010 @ 5:14pm

Liked it quite a bit, some polish and a bit of explanation on the crazy rotation it'd be great. Definitely felt lost for a good bit of the game, especially on the return journey, but that's the point :D

Starspell says ...
Dec 20, 2010 @ 5:55pm

I enjoyed it quite a lot. Bit of a horrific moment when I got to the pole and realised exactly why you needed the markers.

Needless to say we all died... a lot. The controls are a little strange. Why does pressing Up move you Right on the screen?

However I really liked this and I'm sure it took awhile to get it to this point. Well done!

devinmoore says ...
Dec 22, 2010 @ 4:13pm

The concept is great. The graphics help the concept. However, the controls are confusing and hidden... I'd rather just see them listed out so I don't have to keep looking. using the arrows to turn or move is novel but confusing as hell with no landmarks.

plams says ...
Dec 22, 2010 @ 6:58pm

Nice idea, but interface needs improvement.

Endurion says ...
Dec 29, 2010 @ 1:10pm

Yay, 760 points. 3 men survived, but got beaten by Amundsen. Really gripping game, esp. when someone dies.
The controls are somewhat weird but usable.

Devenger says ...
Dec 30, 2010 @ 1:55am

Didn't realise the importance of markers the first time. Didn't survive the first time. Used markers liberally the second time. Got three men back the second time. Take that, history! (Bet they wished they'd had multiple tries at staying alive, poor real-life team.)

Cool idea, reasonably well executed. A shame about the controls (I got to grips with them okay eventually, but it was confusing for a good while). Wonder if you'd been better off making the controls mouse-based, rather than the up-is-right strangeness and the numerous letters to remember. Regardless, good fun, thanks for this. Well done.

Mirroar says ...
Jan 8, 2011 @ 2:24pm

543 Score, I was down to 3 people before I remembered I could rest to heal people's injuries. D'Oh

Simple yet fun, great work for the 48h timeframe.

BadgerPriest says ...
Jan 11, 2011 @ 6:21am

I'm gathering all the reviews for Terra Nova on this page, so here's edg3's review:
http://realdev.co.za/22-dec-2010/ludum-dare-19-reviews-21-30

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]