December 17th-20th, 2010
Theme: Discovery

More Info: /ludum-dare-19-has-begun/

Back to Browse Entries

Pickup

by ranklar - Competition Entry

Hello, here is the first game I have ever made, for your enjoyment! It is called Pickup.
The object is to discover how to pickup a woman. Please make sure you have your sense of
humor turned on, and the following installed!

.Net Framwork 4
http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/netframework/aa569263

XNA Framework Redistributable 4.0
http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/en/details.aspx?FamilyID=a88c6dec-aeae-42cd-a108-d35c013c3b97&displaylang=en

Pickup Game Files
http://www.totalreview.com/Pickup.zip

Pickup Source Files
http://www.totalreview.com/PickupSource.zip

Please let me know if you have any problems, and let me know what you think,
I had a LOT of laughs making this, my thanks to MrPhil for dragging me into Ludum Dare!

Ranklar


Gameplay: Hit spacebar to get past the splashscreen, after that it is all mouse pointing and clicking. 5 options to pickup your selected girl: Ask a question, tell her a joke, tell her a story, flirt, or try to kiss her. There is an end to the game, the growing or shrinking heart should give you an idea as to how your doing.

SPOILER ALERT *** SPOILER ALERT ***
*** SPOILER ALERT *** SPOILER ALERT ***
Hint for those having a tough time (for Amanda only)
Amanda - Joke, Inquire, Flirt, Story, Kiss

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness31%
#24Humor3.33
#138Audio2.00
#179Community2.00
#197Theme2.29
#201Innovation2.00
#212Fun1.83
#217Overall2.00
#222Graphics1.86

Comments

Hempuli says ...
Dec 20, 2010 @ 6:24pm

It crashes as soon as I try to launch it, even un-zipped. I have 32-bit windows 7. :(
Great take on the theme, however!

ranklar says ...
Dec 20, 2010 @ 9:37pm

Doh! Sorry to hear that, did you download and install the .net framework and XNA runtime distribution?

ranklar says ...
Dec 21, 2010 @ 2:54am

anyone able to play?

Devenger says ...
Dec 21, 2010 @ 3:45am

Game worked fine for me. Not sure it fits the theme, since there was no discovery for me - I already knew I don't know how to chat up girls [/jokeattempt]. On a serious note, I couldn't really discern the required sequences, except that doing the same thing twice in a row never worked. There really isn't much actual 'game', it's just clicking buttons and listening to strangely creepy voice recordings. The volume on the sound clips was very low and a bit inconsistent.

I did really badly, then I ended up with some handsome looking fella called Emilio. I'm treating this as a win, even though I have a feeling it isn't meant to be. :D

dmennenoh says ...
Dec 21, 2010 @ 5:55pm

Can't play this - it complains that I don't have a good enough video card...

dmennenoh says ...
Dec 24, 2010 @ 2:03pm

That was on my work machine that is pretty high-end. Here at home on my dev machine it just crashes soon as I try to launch it. What did you use to make this - most of the games made with this system - that show like a Sega Dreamcast controller as the icon don't work at all for me on anything I can try it on... seems not the best framework/solution...

dertom says ...
Dec 24, 2010 @ 3:52pm

hehe,...It worked for me after switching from my i5-graphics to the dedicated graphicsadapter. For sure you have something like shaderlevel 3 set as required!? Just a guess! The game it self was very unique.. ;D

Endurion says ...
Dec 25, 2010 @ 5:34pm

After installing the XNA Framework it bails out with "Cannot find suitable 3d adapter". This doesn't really look like it should be using any shaders (at least not HiDef).
My wife says it's better that way :D

thristhart says ...
Dec 26, 2010 @ 3:35pm

Simple pattern recognition but with women who sound like they're being forced to talk to you! Just like my love life. :D (Also, did you take all of those pictures within the 48 hours? Because I'm wondering how you managed to get Susan's picture the number one image result for "firefox shirt" already!)

ranklar says ...
Dec 27, 2010 @ 2:06am

I obtained all recordings and pictures during the 48 hours, "Susan" is a friend on facebook(all of them are friends actually, one is even my wife). It was challenging, but surprisingly not as hard as I thought... a little begging, and an email of sayings(sometimes instructions on how to record) and they were willing.

I had hoped to get much better interaction coded, so that various sayings were used (not just same ones over and over), but time killed me before I could get it done. I had a vision of a back story for each woman, that you could obtain through "wingman" tactics, or some such thing. I spent most of my time fighting with the XNA framework, just because I had never used it and this was my first time building a game. So... yeah, but I hope you liked some of the recordings, they made me laugh. I had also wished I could have made some animation on their mouths when talking, but I was not able to get poser working on female models in the time allotted.

Sorry to all for the installation problems, I used XNA, and the icon you see if the default xbox 360 controller icon. I did not intentionally use any graphics 3d settings. Obviously, I am only using simple 2d sprites. I really think a web based solution is the best, and I will investigate that for next LD competition. And thanks to all those who have downloaded and installed the XNA framework (and .net) to try my game, I do appreciate the extra effort involved, and hopefully you got a good laugh for the day!

ranklar says ...
Dec 27, 2010 @ 4:10am

Although I did just get the last recordings done about 40 minutes before the time ended :) I was sweating a little about that.

badlydrawnrod says ...
Dec 30, 2010 @ 6:33pm

Wouldn't run as it required a better graphics card than I have on my review laptop. Sorry.

Tom 7 says ...
Jan 1, 2011 @ 1:29am

Crashes for me on startup. :(
By the way, the images are supposed to be captured during the 48 hours, for the compo.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]