About | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post
Construction1990’s Internet Montage? No!
Please excuse the site weirdness. Mike is fixing and making things.
Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014!

  • ??? Begins: in 9 days, 23 hours, 20 minutes, 41 seconds
  • October Ends: in 10 days, 23 hours, 32 minutes, 41 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 46 days, 0 hours, 20 minutes, 41 seconds
  • (FYI: Clock might be off) | Ludum Dare 31: Real World Gatherings (Now Open!)

    [ October Challenge 2014 | Resources | Submit/Edit | View All ]


    Ludum Dare 19

    December 17th-20th, 2010
    Theme: Discovery

    More Info: /ludum-dare-19-has-begun/

    Back to Browse Entries

    Chaotic Spread - r4m0n - Competition Entry

    Controls: WASD/Arrow Keys, Mouse for the buttons and Hyperdrive screen.

    View r4m0n's journal. | View all entries by r4m0n

    Ratings

    #49Coolness11%
    #101Community2.90
    #118Audio2.39
    #118Theme3.05
    #156Humor1.86
    #160Innovation2.42
    #170Overall2.50
    #219Graphics1.95
    #220Fun1.74

    Comments

    stevejohnson says ...
    Dec 20, 2010 @ 4:24pm

    Nice physics. :-P

    I like the collaborative/competitive thing, but you don't need my email address.

    r4m0n says ...
    Dec 20, 2010 @ 8:19pm

    Yeah, actually I don't, it's acting more as a login than something else... But if I add the "I lost my password" button, then I'll need it :-)

    increpare says ...
    Dec 20, 2010 @ 9:25pm

    Interesting, though naming systems isn't something that I find gives me much pleasure (unlike the bacteria naming game of a previous ld). The tech seems interesting (email registration gratuitous, though).

    alexlarioza says ...
    Dec 20, 2010 @ 9:46pm

    What you have here is a great idea, but its not complete. The systems were far to sparse. Allowing the stars to scroll would also do wonders. My biggest issue is the email requirement.

    ranklar says ...
    Dec 21, 2010 @ 12:33am

    Sorry, email requirement REALLY upsets me. I have to deal with that enough in the world... not from submissions? Uh, no thanks.

    r4m0n says ...
    Dec 21, 2010 @ 5:19am

    if you guys REALLY have problems with using something that you are very unlikely to forget, and can be used to reset your password in an online game, then just use anything that looks like an email, or make something up with www.mailinator.com

    r4m0n says ...
    Dec 21, 2010 @ 5:23am

    sorry if I may sound a little rude, but most submissions here are in compiled, machine code. Any of those submissions can have embedded on it a new virus your anti-virus can't pick up yet, or worse, just have malignant code from the submitter. and with all that, you guys are all afraid of using an email address here? Come on...

    xra says ...
    Dec 21, 2010 @ 6:42am

    this is a great idea :) I'd look into making just the controls themselves feel fun to play with if you continue with it, the transition from hyperspace is awesome.

    ShineSyndrome says ...
    Dec 22, 2010 @ 12:44pm

    You've heard it already, but this really didn't require an email address + password. LD48 submission will get what? 300 users at most probably playing through the game long enough to judge it. the login system is simply unnecessary. Furthermore the fact that you are withholding server side code is very suspicious. I do hope you at least have a salt + hash system in place.

    r4m0n says ...
    Dec 22, 2010 @ 8:58pm

    I'm not withholding anything, I included the server-side code in the source package. And the password is hashed to MD5 client side, so it never leaves your machine.

    Moops says ...
    Dec 23, 2010 @ 12:21am

    I don't understand the registration thing, why do we need to do it?

    Endurion says ...
    Dec 23, 2010 @ 6:06am

    Nice idea, but actually not that much you can do.
    email was probably not the best idea. Also, I only once got a planet as explorer, but in a new system I could name I could not explore them?

    r4m0n says ...
    Dec 23, 2010 @ 6:50pm

    @Endurion you probably found a multiple-star system, they usually have very few planets... And yeah, the plan was to have a lot more stuff to do in it, mining planets, building starbases... but time ran out, so maybe next time :-)

    whitetigle says ...
    Dec 28, 2010 @ 10:17am

    register ? Why not using just a login ? With more than 200 games to test, it seems a huge wall ! So if I have time I will try your game but I put it on my "later-list". Sorry about hat. I understand your point; It's not difficult to do but I d'ont have much time and wnat to go straight to the game.
    BTW, the same rule applies to games posted on low perf web sites. I just don't want to load zillion flash ads before actually testing the game.

    r4m0n says ...
    Dec 30, 2010 @ 7:19am

    Uh... The register button will just change screen to the registration screen, which will ask you your name as well as email and password... Then you are into the game already. It would take you all of 10 seconds if you are a slow typist to get into the game. If you can't dedicate a few minutes to each game you are reviewing, then don't review.

    joekinley says ...
    Jan 2, 2011 @ 9:10pm

    At least you have a timelapse. But this is actually the first one i saw that is really boring. The whole two-screen-setup let's you see actually nearly nothing. And nearly a whole minute you were sleeping.

    The game is kinda boring too. I can't do anything just fly around and name planets? And what is it with the login screen? I don't get that part.

    At least there is something to discover.
    Overall, sorry, no likey.

    badlydrawnrod says ...
    Jan 3, 2011 @ 2:00pm

    Not supplying an email address, regardless of the arguments. Privacy is like plutonium. Once it is out there you can't get it back.

    bmcgames says ...
    Jan 8, 2011 @ 9:20pm

    I like the concept of discovering and naming systems, not to mention a functioning leaderboard. Some minor tweaks like a scrolling starfield would make this shine!

    You must sign in to comment.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]