About | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post
Construction1990’s Internet Montage? No!
Please excuse the site weirdness. Mike is fixing and making things.
Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014!

  • ??? Begins: in 7 days, 22 hours, 13 minutes, 35 seconds
  • October Ends: in 8 days, 22 hours, 25 minutes, 35 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 43 days, 23 hours, 13 minutes, 35 seconds
  • (FYI: Clock might be off) | Ludum Dare 31: Real World Gatherings (Now Open!)

    [ October Challenge 2014 | Resources | Submit/Edit | View All ]


    Ludum Dare 19

    December 17th-20th, 2010
    Theme: Discovery

    More Info: /ludum-dare-19-has-begun/

    Back to Browse Entries

    DirectionsTranscend - Devenger - Competition Entry

    Directions Transcend is a game about an 'X' key trying to find direction, and later meaning. New control keys are discovered each level, but you must select at the start of each level a small subset of your keys to use to navigate the boostarrow-filled minefield. As such, the game can require quite a bit of thought.

    X to restart level, P to pause, H for a short hint (no promises it'll help with the trickier levels), Shift-Enter to skip level if you're desperate. Otherwise, all other controls available to you are always shown on screen.

    NOTE: Level 6 (the level after you unlock '[R]everse') is somewhat too difficult. Use Shift-Enter to skip it if you can't find the solution - it's a shame people aren't seeing the final few levels because they are getting stuck.

    Flash game, so should run on everything. No audio I'm afraid, didn't have time. You'll need the latest Flash Player probably. Source code also available, the mess that it is; latest version of FlashDevelop and Flex 4.x will make compiling it fairly painless.

    View Devenger's journal. | View all entries by Devenger

    Ratings

    Coolness32%
    #15Innovation3.83
    #76Overall3.17
    #80Fun2.97
    #136Humor2.00
    #136Community2.60
    #161Theme2.77
    #197Audio1.00
    #201Graphics2.20

    Comments

    toadfrogs says ...
    Dec 20, 2010 @ 10:41am

    The game's very hard for me...

    Devenger says ...
    Dec 20, 2010 @ 3:46pm

    Yes, the game is challenging. But do persevere. Each level is designed to require you reason a little about what keys you'll need, and how fast you need to approach obstacles. If you really have to, do skip levels - you may find some of the later levels easier. And the game does have an ______END.

    stevejohnson says ...
    Dec 20, 2010 @ 7:44pm

    Cool idea! I liked the difficulty level. Graphics were so-so and it could really have used some audio.

    ladron says ...
    Dec 20, 2010 @ 8:21pm

    Nice idea, but I agree that it gets too hard too fast. Then again, plenty of gamers thrive on frustration - I'm just not one of them :-)

    Gornova says ...
    Dec 20, 2010 @ 9:11pm

    Good game :D nice concept and good puzzles :D
    I agree, could be difficult soon, but player don't have so much possibilities, you can always try it all :D

    ranklar says ...
    Dec 21, 2010 @ 3:44am

    My favorite game played so far! I like the challenge, and the idea you can skip the level if you get too frustrated. PERFECT! I like that you can pick what directions you want to use on the level, it is a very nice design. Challenges you to think and to perform. Love it mate, you got this one done very well. Next time add some audio! ;)

    wizbane says ...
    Dec 21, 2010 @ 5:34am

    Interesting idea.. but it can be very slow at times, and frustrating when you can't recover from slight errors.

    Endurion says ...
    Dec 21, 2010 @ 8:20am

    Phew, it's tought. The first stage with three keys did me in. The curve on the right is killing me.
    The idea itself is great though! More stages, easier difficulty and you have a winner.

    Draknek says ...
    Dec 21, 2010 @ 5:17pm

    The control scheme is so floaty that when I die it doesn't feel like it's my fault: it feels like the game is just annoying.

    Obviously these controls are intentional and central to the level design, but this makes it not fun for me: it's not quite the same (good) kind of frustration that some games pull off really well.

    Devenger says ...
    Dec 21, 2010 @ 7:24pm

    I think perhaps there's a problem of visual representation. When I try to polish this game up for release elsewhere, I'll look into making it clearer what the directional keys really mean - they are a slow nudge, like a rocket on a heavy thing trying to speed it up or slow it down.

    (Clearly this game represents my feeling that we've all been spoiled by having sharp, responsive controls and should return to battling with the inertia in Lunar Lander. :P)

    plams says ...
    Dec 21, 2010 @ 7:51pm

    *bounce* -> "ooh, I discovered reverse!"; very nice integration of theme, gameplay and story altogether. I wish it was more challenging though - not in a way where you need insane precision, but in a cerebral way.. perhaps if the X discovered Braid-style time travel... :-)

    alexlarioza says ...
    Dec 22, 2010 @ 12:37am

    Oh my, this was very frustrating but very cool and original idea.

    Dec 22, 2010 @ 1:04pm

    This is really neat. :)

    A bit frustrating, but very original.

    Benjamin says ...
    Dec 22, 2010 @ 10:13pm

    I like the idea, and I agree with previous posters for difficulty. I really intend to explore all the game ( I was wondering how many key you will use ) But I failed on the level where you have to use [R]everse. Dont know If it was a brain or skill problem...

    jolle says ...
    Dec 25, 2010 @ 6:47pm

    Too hard for me as well. Played it a fair bit though, it's a pretty good game if you have the patience for it.

    asfdfdfd says ...
    Jan 2, 2011 @ 6:13pm

    It's really hard!

    dertom says ...
    Jan 4, 2011 @ 12:51pm

    Wow,that game rocked! And I found it not too hard! It was hard enough to be challenging! Very very good job! I liked the C-C-C-C-C-C-Detonation ;D

    ExciteMike says ...
    Jan 5, 2011 @ 1:00am

    What a shame. The game ran out of levels.

    This was very very cool.

    jovoc says ...
    Jan 9, 2011 @ 1:26am

    I like the idea, but it's pretty tough. I don't like having to choose two keys, it would be better if that was handled in the level design. Controls need a lot of tuning, especially since the gameplay is so focused on the controls. Nice work, overall.

    Tom 7 says ...
    Jan 9, 2011 @ 11:34pm

    Nice! Some of the levels were pretty hard. Clever idea, and loved the ending.

    Ninja Dodo says ...
    Jan 10, 2011 @ 9:53am

    Interesting idea, well-executed. I got as far as the Reverse level so I don't know how much more there is, but especially considering the time frame, there's a lot there.

    The hint system is a nice touch.

    You must sign in to comment.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]