December 17th-20th, 2010
Theme: Discovery

More Info: /ludum-dare-19-has-begun/

Back to Browse Entries

In the Darkness I Shall Fall

by sfernald - Competition Entry

In the Darkness I Shall Fall

Can you roll along the ledges in the darkness and reach the goal before falling? It's like Marble Madness in the dark, with lots of ledges. With the music I created, I think it has a bit of a zen feel to it though. Relaxing, actually.

There are five levels. I tried to make each a little more difficult than the last. I think the fifth level is pretty tough.

There are no differences between hard and easy difficulty. I was going to implement a clock, but then decided that maybe players should enjoy the discovery of the level unfolding and not feel rushed.

Use arrow keys or WASD or gamepad to control marble. Space bar or button 2 on gamepad to jump.

Windows version released first. I recommend you play it full screen at 1024x768 so the intro screen looks correct, but you can choose whatever option you want.

Unity makes this kind of game a breeze. Can't believe how easy it was. On a scale from 1 to 10, with a 8 being writing a game in C with SDL, Unity is about a 2.

Source is provided. Have at it.

*** Just added a web version on Kongregate. I have fixed the problem with the jerkiness in the web edition. Please don't review for this compo on the version submitted to Kongregate as I have published some fixes and tweeks to levels on there. The windows version is the one to review.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#62Community3.33
#69Audio2.88
#121Theme3.00
#133Fun2.63
#150Coolness2%
#157Graphics2.50
#166Innovation2.38
#167Overall2.53
#168Humor1.80

Comments

7Soul says ...
Dec 20, 2010 @ 4:38am

The game is asking for a folder "InTheDarknessIShallFall_Data"

sfernald says ...
Dec 20, 2010 @ 5:21am

Ok, thanks for that info. Learning about Unity deployment ;) I have recreated the zip file with the Data directory. I tested it in an isolated folder so I think it should work now.

r4m0n says ...
Dec 21, 2010 @ 3:49am

Interesting puzzle, very fun to play. As you are using Unity, go ahead and make a Web version of it too, or at least publish a MacOS version of it too.

stevejohnson says ...
Dec 22, 2010 @ 6:00am

Very simplistic, and the ball looked a bit jerky. Looks nice, though. And I do like the audio.

joekinley says ...
Dec 23, 2010 @ 8:00pm

Can't really rate this one, because although it states to have a web version, there is no unity webplayer available for linux.

Endurion says ...
Dec 25, 2010 @ 8:05pm

While the basic idea is simple and easy to grasp, something about the implementation bugs me.

The reaction on falling down and finishing a stage is too slow. I can keep rolling on the bottom for a few seconds before being reset. Also, the second stage is quite jerky, due to this I never manage the first jump.

joekinley says ...
Dec 27, 2010 @ 9:17am

Nice community involvement. I like that a lot. Sadly there is no timelapse video.

Can't really vote for humor nor fun, because it does not seem to have any humor. Also the fun is surely good I think, but I just could not manage to get past the second level. It is just not happening for me. Though it could be fun I guess. I'm just too dumb for it.

Nice point on theme. Although there is not too much to discover, I discovered once again to be not patient enough with though games.

Overall a nice little game.

Dec 30, 2010 @ 5:26pm

It seems the web version is on kongregate and it's quite unclear whether you've modified it post-compo or not (as you've mentioned in the comments on kongregate that you may add more levels to it).

I'd like to play and rate the downloadable version, but unfortunately I'm using OS X most of the time...

sfernald says ...
Jan 4, 2011 @ 5:36am

I just fixed a couple bugs, no new levels, so it is close enough to rate if the kongregate version is all you have access to. The only thing it really fixes is the jerkiness you will notice if you don't have a fast computer.

Just maybe mark it down a little from where that version is and you will be safe.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]