December 17th-20th, 2010
Theme: Discovery

More Info: /ludum-dare-19-has-begun/

Back to Browse Entries

...You Are A Duck!

by KoryWazHere - Competition Entry

Discover the world as a duck on roller blades... Collect coins. Dodge baddies. Escape with your pants on if you dare!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#31Coolness17%
#42Community3.63
#51Humor2.90
#129Graphics2.75
#147Fun2.52
#166Audio1.56
#185Overall2.37
#195Innovation2.09
#234Theme1.67

Comments

hsmith says ...
Dec 19, 2010 @ 11:50pm

best opening line ever!

Zelgad says ...
Dec 20, 2010 @ 1:43am

Heh, what a weird idea...too bad jumping doesnt work properly.

stevejohnson says ...
Dec 20, 2010 @ 3:40am

Unplayable because the collision detection doesn't work well enough. And jumping is just odd. The help label is too small for me to be able to pay attention to it. I didn't notice it for five minutes. There was no sound. Can't really see how this relates to the theme.

Epskampie says ...
Dec 20, 2010 @ 4:39am

Nice effort, but physics are totally broken, jumping only works 1/10 of the time, and i can wallclimb by mashing into one while pressing space repeatedly. :)
Like the idea and look though.

wizbane says ...
Dec 20, 2010 @ 4:47am

jumping doesn't work for me. I think it could be more challenging if the movement was a bit more slippery.

KoryWazHere says ...
Dec 20, 2010 @ 12:11pm

Yep, I really need to sort out my collision detection, currently you are just a collider - I don't do any checks apart from to shut off jump when you're in the air but that's broken too ;P

You should have played it when I was using a mesh collider for the ground. Yikes! That was a real mess, plenty of falling through the mesh.

As this was my first time at LD I wasn't really worried about making a great game. So long as I made "a game". It was more an excuse to learn Unity. Which I feel I made a good start on.

So basically the discovery was my own =D

KoryWazHere says ...
Dec 20, 2010 @ 12:13pm

I actually had it so jumping on the blocks heads killed them and they vanished but it only worked from the editor. Once I built the game they no longer dissapear. I'll need to look into that.

KoryWazHere says ...
Dec 20, 2010 @ 12:14pm

...Assuming blocks have heads...

Squax says ...
Dec 20, 2010 @ 2:27pm

haha good stuff, is there a game over goal state? I can't seem to trigger it after collecting all the coins (unless I missed one)

Babylonian says ...
Dec 20, 2010 @ 4:08pm

I got 32 coins. That was all of 'em, right?

KoryWazHere says ...
Dec 20, 2010 @ 5:06pm

Hey yep 32, winner!

increpare says ...
Dec 20, 2010 @ 7:44pm

quack

Dec 20, 2010 @ 8:12pm

Good game, I have discovered that I am a duck on roller skates!Lol.

What is that "community" rating when I rate this game? I rated it N/A since I dont know what it is.

Dslayer27 says ...
Dec 20, 2010 @ 9:25pm

Well, it was interesting, couldn't really jump though.

arielsan says ...
Dec 21, 2010 @ 3:11am

The movement felt like driving a car :P, the game looks like a basic unity game and I don't see the theme relation.

Devenger says ...
Dec 21, 2010 @ 6:37pm

Brilliant concept, but only fun because of how broken it is :D Definitely the collisions and movement are what needs sharpening the most.

Sos says ...
Dec 22, 2010 @ 12:35am

I am a duck on a skates that jumps on boxheads HELL YEAH!!!

John Axon says ...
Dec 22, 2010 @ 5:49am

Nice first game! I liked seeing the rest of the stage in the distance; it added a sense of exploration which fit the theme nicely. Personally, if there were just a few sound effects in this game, I would feel much more engaged and motivated to play more. Jumping and collisions aside, some sfx would be nice. Nice work!

refrag says ...
Dec 22, 2010 @ 5:55am

No YOU are a duck! Cute concept :) Great job learning Unity and taking part in Ludum Dare!

Starspell says ...
Dec 22, 2010 @ 7:19pm

Ok so you are a duck... ++
You made it in 3D... ++
Discovery? ummm....

XD I liked that game it was cute and it actually ran on my piece of crap laptop which is unusual. However I really couldn't get it to do what I wanted. I don't know whether it was because it was lagging on my end but I could never get the duck lined up how I wanted.

dertom says ...
Dec 25, 2010 @ 12:08am

Hehe,...quakquak! Good one...

Endurion says ...
Dec 25, 2010 @ 5:41pm

You win for the initial discovery.
The basic game is marred by a few bugs. You can jump in midair (when falling), you have to move with the platforms.
Also, boxes usually don't have heads ;)

philomory says ...
Dec 29, 2010 @ 9:49am

No, *you're* a duck!

Cute, though it was laggy on my machine, which rapidly made the platforming elements impossible. Nonetheless, it was fun to roll around as a roller-skate duck in the easy areas.

badlydrawnrod says ...
Jan 3, 2011 @ 7:30pm

Amusing.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]