December 17th-20th, 2010
Theme: Discovery

More Info: /ludum-dare-19-has-begun/

Back to Browse Entries

Purgatory Area

by toadfrogs - Competition Entry

Update: The game has now 15 levels and some few improvements...

A short, mouse-only platform game. You're in a purgatory which you will discover different things. Made in one day for Ludum Dare 19 with the theme of Discovery.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#23Audio3.67
#73Innovation3.18
#87Overall3.06
#89Coolness6%
#91Community3.00
#114Graphics2.88
#159Fun2.47
#161Humor1.83
#207Theme2.19

Comments

CoveBit says ...
Dec 18, 2010 @ 3:39pm

You shuld have worked better on it. you got a day more to make it better. 3/5

alexlarioza says ...
Dec 18, 2010 @ 3:41pm

I agree with CoveBit, you still have another day! Go, go, go!

toadfrogs says ...
Dec 18, 2010 @ 11:31pm

The game's updated, included the source code.

wizbane says ...
Dec 21, 2010 @ 6:20am

I'm not really sure how it relates to the theme, and the only thing that's challenging is the awkward mouse controls. The audio is pretty good, though.

Endurion says ...
Dec 21, 2010 @ 10:06am

Nice game, but the control via mouse is purgatory allright ;)
It does set if off from other similar games though.

Devenger says ...
Dec 21, 2010 @ 2:50pm

Quite fun, though maybe I just enjoy awkward control schemes. Use of sound was very good - very nice audio touch at the end.

kurtwaldowski says ...
Dec 22, 2010 @ 6:18am

Interesting. The controls were very weird at first, but i like the new approach. I found it quite interesting that I had to remaster a basic movement in gaming.

badlydrawnrod says ...
Dec 30, 2010 @ 7:02pm

Good idea but the controls are a hindrance.

Squax says ...
Jan 2, 2011 @ 5:47pm

Interesting control choice, and excellent use of audio.

Martoon says ...
Jan 6, 2011 @ 4:37pm

I like this! The control scheme is novel and really interesting, and fun to master (IMO). Not revolutionary in its interpretation of the theme, but technically fits it with the invisible platforms. Nice minimalistic graphics. Audio is great.

My only complaint is that I'd like it much better if it were two keys instead of two mouse buttons. It's a two button game (and a fun one), but having the buttons on the mouse doesn't add anything other than making you click on the player before each level.

For pure fun value, this is my favorite of the games I've rated so far.

alexlarioza says ...
Jan 9, 2011 @ 11:06pm

Cool little game, but I found the control scheme to be a bit frustrating.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]